Search
Account
Help

Ashburn, VA Change Location

Thor Motor Coach Axis RV Reviews by Owners

Average Review Rating

Have you owned one of these? Write a review! Search Thor Motor Coach Axis RVs For Sale

Voted Most Helpful Review 2017 Thor Motor Coach Axis 25.5

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We looked for a long time before buying our Axis 25.5. I wanted an RV that both myself and my Husband felt comfortable driving. After reading the problems some new owners had we did a complete operational walk through. Inside and Out and I requested the dealer have all tanks and systems full and ready to be tested before I left the lot. We only had 1 issue that needed repair, the night shade. Dealer had it repaired and we drove her home. Great experience. I agree that some finishes are not top of the line but I knew what I was paying for and am happy with purchase.
- , Florida

Did you find this useful?

Voted Most Helpful Review 2017 Thor Motor Coach Axis 25.3

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Might try and get the lemon law that imposed I've had battery issues with this ever since I've had it. Lost the house batteries 4 times. The last time was just before I left for Florida. drove down to Florida the dashcam burned-out it seems like the dash is so hot that the camera overheated. The screen went black never came back on. Looks good quality is poor
- , Illinois

Did you find this useful?

Oct 27, 2017 2017 Thor Motor Coach Axis 25.2

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
purchased new off showroom floor with defective batteries, yet was told no warranty? First trip in vehicle a/c did not function? Dealer which sold vehicle withheld sales tax money even though I am in different state and run dealers tag on vehicle. Refuses to give back sales tax funds. Would I purchase another NO! not after the way we have been treated by Thor and dealer.
- , Kansas

Did you find this useful?

Jul 02, 2017 2017 Thor Motor Coach Axis 24.5

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This rv is just the right size . We bought this rv to take trips out west without pulling another vehicle. Easy to drive and very comfortable. With the rear and side cameras you can see everything around you. As we go from one site to another we have never had trouble with parking. Since we bought there have been no problems to be addressed with the rv. A good rv for the price!
- , Georgia

Did you find this useful?

Dec 04, 2016 2017 Thor Motor Coach Axis 24.1

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Bought the 2017 Thor Axis 24.1 and like they say "you get what you pay for" it so true with the Thor Axis RUV. Starting with the fiber glass body to the TV's and radio. Nothing but the cheapest quality of material they could find. Even though I gave it low scores, I bought it and updating everything I can to make it more livable. We love the shorter class A bus look. Also had a new steering stabilizer but I believe they install one for a class C on our Class A.
- , North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

Apr 24, 2018 2017 Thor Motor Coach Axis 24.1

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Tankless waterheater is awful and quality of unit is not great; made rather cheaply. Thor warranty is okay but not great either. Dealer where purchased is awful; Horizon RV center in LaGrange NC. Once you leave the lot you are on your own, better buy in a larger dealership. And if you buy an extended warranty, watch out if you want to cancel; they don't want to refund your money; apparently Horizon has the money not the warranty company and they don't like to part with it!!!! Buyer beware....
- , North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

Mar 22, 2017 2016 Thor Motor Coach Axis 25.2

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
It is a lemon. Everyday something go wrong. The bathroom (which is so small-poor choice on my part) faucets leak and the water flows under the wall into the hallway near the couch. Yesterday the kitchen faucets began leaking and soon there was a stream of water out into the little hall space in front of the couch. The cupboards and doors do not stay closed so we use buggy cords through several handles to keep them closed. Working to attach the hose to the outgoing black water tank is incredibly hard. The location and placement could be improved.
- , Michigan

Did you find this useful?

Feb 14, 2018 2016 Thor Motor Coach Axis 25.2

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Purchased from dealer. Worst dealer for service, called when coach batteries were dead, no follow up call from them. Lucky I was still in my yard. Live 5 hrs, 1 way from dealer. They wanted us to drive to their dealership to inspect first. Verify then make appointment for repairs. Told Thor policy... called Thor who said that was dealer policy not theirs... problems with battery draining, had to purchase battery trickle charger for cabin battery. Entry door sticks. Highly recommend buying extended warranty when buying any motor home.. been looking at other coaches, they all have issues. I will stay with my 2016 25.2 Axis, only because because I have to much invested to buy another one. Still early I only have 5000 miles on it. Wish it had leveling jacks and more storage. Average 10mpg pulling 2017 Honda HR-V, manual transmission so we can flat tow. While early I don’t regret buying this coach .... “. YET. “.... purchased cover from ADCO who went to dealer and hand measured my Axis for custom fit.... I have had good response from Thor when needing answered to questions.
- , Oregon

Did you find this useful?

May 02, 2017 2016 Thor Motor Coach Axis 24.1

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
THIS RV IS THE BEST THING GOING IN TRAVEL. SUPER EASY TO DRIVE. QUIET. MANEUVERABLE. EXCELLENT SIZE. EVERYWHERE WE STOP...PEOPLE APPROACH US AND ASK US WHAT KIND OF RV IS IT...THEY OFTEN STATE THAT THEY ARE SOOOO TIRED OF THEIR BIG RV - THEY WANT SOMETHING SMALLER. THIS IS IT. SMALLER THAN THE BIG RV - BUT - ALL THE FEATURES AND LUXURY AND STORAGE! THIS RV IS THE IS THE ONLY ONE BUY!
- , Washington

Did you find this useful?

Jul 13, 2017 2016 Thor Motor Coach Axis 24.1

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We bought our Axis new January 2016. We find the floorplan perfect for the 2 of us. The shower is a bit small, but manageable..with the dual bathroom doors opening to create a good size bathroom. W.e have made a few minor modifications to our personal preference.
We are very happy with our Axis
- , Kansas

Did you find this useful?

Jul 28, 2015 2015 Thor Motor Coach Axis 24.1

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
I have been in camping with RV's for more than 50 years and currently have a 5th wheel and this Axis unit, so I do have some experience with RV's. I purchased this unit in September 2014 and to date have not been able to utilize this unit as designed. I have and currently have so many things go wrong or are wrong that I could not recommend not only this unit but any unit manufactured by Thor. I have not gotten what might be considered help from Thor to correct issues. The latest issues are once again with the awning and since having leaking windows is causing de-lamination of a inside wall. I have filed under NY's lemon law to have the unit returned and get all monies that I have spent returned. I cannot and will not recommend this unit or any other unit manufactured by Thor.
- , New York

Did you find this useful?

Jul 30, 2015 2015 Thor Motor Coach Axis 24.1

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
I have owned many RV's and have a fair amount of knowledge of the quality and differences between Coaches. I've owned this Coach for approx 8 months and found it to be a good Coach for the money. Being a Class A gas RV on only a 1 ton chassis and only 25' long was a big selling point for me. I've owned a couple larger A's (we are all about downsizing now) and many C and B's this same size and they didn't handle as well and surely didn't have the storage capabilities of this Coach. My wife and I really enjoy the actual living space.....you don't feel cramped as compared to a C class of similar size with a dinette. Having the power upper bed in the cab area was ideal for my grandson without having to open up the sleeper sofa or having the common leak issues of a bulky cab-over in a Class C. It lacks counter space in the bathroom but hasn't been a huge issue. Very comfortable rear bedroom area with me being close to 6'.

As in any new Coach a couple issues needed to be addressed and I took care of them without the need to return to the Dealer. I am a realist and know you get what you pay for and for this Coach being priced under $90K has proven to be an excellent overall choice. There are some people out there that will spend the same amount of $$ and think their going to get the quality of a Prevost. (It's not going to happen.)

I would rate this RV in the high 8's to low 9's on a 1 to 10 scale for an overall rating with all things considered. Happy camping.
- , Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

May 17, 2018 2015 Thor Motor Coach Axis 24.1

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
The quality and workmanship of this unit is beyond disappointing and Thor does not care. Our retirement trip included 12 stops into repair shops for major repairs. So much for a dream trip that I don't get a second chance yo do. So far the fridge, stove, hot water heater (3 times) , windshield washers and pump, missing wheel alignment parts required repair or replacement. The kitchen faucet leaked with the cheap counter soaking up water and warping. I had to replace the entire counter, sink and faucet. Mouldings around the wheels are cheap plastic, two of which came off because the screws ang glue are insufficient to hold. In construction there was no care in installing the wallpaper (lots of creases) or cutting moldings around the front windows (quarter inch gaps). Thor takes cheap and lack in pride of their quality and support to a whole new level. Their customer service staff seems to be highly trained in apoligizing but don't have the authority to do anything about it. I have asked several times to speak with someone in authority and am told someone would call but nobody has. There are many other defects I could list including rattling, tiny nails rather than sctews that do not hold pressed sawdust strips in place, cheap plastic dash and sink, and the list goes on. But bottom line I would recommend buying anything other than a Thor product because you most likely will not get a quality product or satisfactory support.
- , Alberta

Did you find this useful?

Mar 11, 2015 2015 Thor Motor Coach Axis 24.1

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
So far this RV is a nice unit for the money. I added hydraulic levelers, 1800 watt inverter, sat. dish. For only 25 foot it has alot of room to move around inside. Great for short weekend trips. There are a some things that could use some improvement like the dash area, no place to put all your papers, registration, sun glasses,etc. Need glove compartment. No spare tire. The two table holders behind the sofa rattle when you are going down the road. Jammed plastic door wedges between them to stop the rattling. Bathroom is very small, But you don't need to spend much time in there. They should replace the plastic sinks with stainless steel. Side curtains in the drivers area blow out the window if you happen to open your side windows.I have had several RVs and each one has its faults,this one drives nice and easy to park,and plenty of horsepower and fair gas mileage.
- , Indiana

Did you find this useful?

Sep 01, 2016 2014 Thor Motor Coach Axis 24.1

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
We had one of the first few of the Axis motorhomes that were built. The design is basically good. The bathroom door was the worst part of the design. The main problem with the coach is poor construction and design implementation. The problems with this coach went on & on. There's not enough space in this review to list them. Some were cosmetic and others had to do with basic coach construction.(i.e. front dash dropped 3 inches. Could not reach parking brake release. Front windshield was not installed properly. Had to be re-installed 2 times) Thor approved all the warranty work, but the problems kept coming. We dumped the coach for a big loss after 6 months. Never again on a Thor.
- , Texas

Did you find this useful?

May 19, 2018 2014 Thor Motor Coach Axis 24.1

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
It is interesting to see these reviews and compare them to the reviews on the Thor site where almost every single review has a 5 star rating. One cannot put a review on the Thor site directly so one can only assume Thor puts only positive reviews on their site with first names only. I think this RVT.com site is unbiased and more trustworthy given people are willing to put their first and last names on. Please see my review on this site. There are even more defects and cheap features(awning lights and awning itself) than I mentioned already. The quality has not improved. I went to look at another Thor here near Edmonton and two moldings fell off while we were just looking at a brand new Class C Plus. One was on the step to the back bed where one steps several times a day and another on a corner of a wall. These are (held) in place with small finishing (brad) nails rather than screws which would be helpful for a unit that travels and experiences vibrations. Thor does not improve the quality of their units based on customer feedback nor does it seem to care about quality. My advice: look at Pleasureway, Liesure Travel, Roadtrek, Jayco, Coachman and avoid Thor unless you want a brand new fixer upper.
- , Alberta

Did you find this useful?

RVT Premium
2X FASTERNO BANNER ADS ONLY $0.99 More