Search
Account
Help

Ashburn, VA Change Location

Safari RV Reviews by Owners (21)

Average Review Rating

Have you owned one of these? Write a review! Search Safari RVs For Sale

Voted Most Helpful Review 2005 Safari Trek Pathmaker

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
The Safari Trek is a unique vehicle. The Electro-Majic bed provides liveability space equal to coaches 35' or more. The quality of the coach is excellent as is the floor plan that we have. This is our second Trek. We put 100,00 miles on the first one and then bought another (same floor plan). Unfortunately, Safari, owned by Monaco, is no longer making this model.
- Robert Tomfohrde, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

Voted Most Helpful Review 2005 Safari Cheetah 40SRT

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
We've traveled around the country for 3 years and never once had a major problem. The reliability and performance of this coach has surpassed all of my expectations. It's not an RV for family use, it's laid out specifically for two people that want to live in it for several months or full-time. It has a very large bedroom and it's been a pleasure living in it full time for 3 years.
- John, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

Jul 05, 2015 2004 Safari Trek 29RBD

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
The quality is excellent and it tows our toad easily. Since it is only 29' it is easy to maneuver and is short enough to fit in most any campsite. It has an 8.1 Chevy Vortec engine so it is easy to find a shop to work on it when needed. We have noticed that some of the new motorhomes are featuring beds that drop down from the ceiling as ours does. This is a great way to have more living space and not have the extra 7' or 8' added in length to the motorhome to accommodate a bedroom. We are enjoying our Safari Trek.
- Mike Magee, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

Jun 05, 2017 2004 Safari Trek 29RBD

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Excellent drive length,good storage compartments,liked the queen bed storage up in the ceiling which made the safari really unique feature. The open space in the kitchen with the bright daylight shining in. The surround sound of music,the electric windshield shades when driving in sunlight is a excellent plus for the long drives. The workhorse chassis gives the unit a very stable ride, hard to find a dislike about the Safari
after owning other units. Thanks



- Tim Gillespie, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

Mar 06, 2018 2003 Safari Cheetah 3742

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
My wife and I have thoroughly enjoyed our 2003 Cheetah. But I came across an odd issue. The head lights are terrible. The lights are part of a light pod that include the turning lights from a Chev.Blazer. When installed on a Blazer they wrap around the corner, more than the Cheetah. So this creates a severe case of cross eyes when mounted flat on the Cheetah. In order to have the lights point straight ahead the inside lip of the pod would need to be brought out 3". Obviously not practical. As a solution I was able to find a rectangular truck light that I built flush in the fiberglass beside the originals. Works a lot better. Monaco were not aware or had any complaints...... oddly enough?
- Dev, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

Sep 17, 2015 2003 Safari Cheetah 3733

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
My wife and I have owned a Safari Cheetah 3733 for awhile now and absolutely love it. we are full timers down in Florida and it feels more like a home than a RV. we bought it using rvt.com in the beginning of June and cannot wait to winter it in sunny Florida!
- Richard Johnston, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

Nov 07, 2014 2002 Safari Zanzibar 3896

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
I HAVE HAD THIS SAFARI OVER 8 YEARS HAVE USED IT IN EXTREME WHETHER CONDITIONS, IN AZ. CO. UT. FOR WORK AND PLAY, ALL SYSTEMS WORKED VERY WELL, AC UNITS WORKED FLAWLESS IN TUCSON AND PHONIX, AT 115 DEGREES, HEAT WAS GOOD IN COLORADO AT 0 DEGREES. LIVED IN THE MOTOR HOME FOR 7 YEARS, IT IS VERY CLEAN, WOOD WORK IS ALMOST FLAWLESS CONDITION. CARPET IS FLAWLESS. AND ALL SYSTEMS WORK AS THEY SHOULD AND HAVE BEEN MAINTAINED, THIS MOTOR HOME DID NOT REQUIRE VERY MANY REPAIRS, THEY DON'T MAKE THEM THIS WAY ANY MORE....
- William French, California

Did you find this useful?

Jun 03, 2016 2001 Safari Zanzibar 3896

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
This is a great motor home. 330 hp cat motor 6 speed Alison Transmision. Only 13,175 miles on motor. Onan 7.5 diesel generator with a 160 hr. Runs and drives great.
Beautiful inside with two slides very comfortable for two to live in will sleep four.
- Mike, California

Did you find this useful?

May 29, 2017 2001 Safari Cheetah 3796

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We lived and traveled full time in our Safari Cheetah motor home from June 2002 to November 2016.

What we liked best about it was its livability,so roomy with its 2 slideouts, and very well planned cabinetry and floor layout. We did make numerous upgrades to make it even more comfortable. And we love the powerful CAT 300 HP engine that has no difficulty towing up mountain highways and roads. Going down, the PAC brake provided added security to Brake Buddy. We also liked that even with the slideouts fully in, only one small kitchen pantry cabinet was not reachable, but everything else remained accessible. What we liked least about it was that before we had a good stabilization system installed, the "velvet ride" wasn't quite as smooth as we liked. However, after we had work done on it, it is as solid a ride as you could wish for.

It's a shame that Safari went out of business. We highly recommend this coach for either full timing, part timing, or shorter trips, for traveling in comfort and style.
- Tanja Wood, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

Mar 07, 2018 2001 Safari Serengeti 3706

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
WE WERE FIRST TIME BUYERS , WHEN WE GOT THE SAFARI.
WE LOVE THE DIESEL IN THE BACK...IT MADE FOR A QUIET RIDE DOWN THE ROAD..LOVE THE CUMMINS FOR LOTS OF POWER , AND THERE ARE MANY DEALERS THAT CARRY SAFARI PARTS. WE HAVE DONE MOST REPAIRS OURSELVES.
- leslie davis, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

Jul 14, 2018 2000 Safari Panther 4006

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Owning this rig has been a joy. The quality of materials and the craftsmanship put into it shows why this high end rig has endured the test of time. The Magnum chassis design by Safari land it's 8 air bag suspension makes highway driving of this rig a breeze. The Cat C-12 engine with 425hp and over 1500# of torque allows you to accelerate quickly, pull a load over the Rockies, and not even struggle. I've averaged 9gpm and up to 12gph on the flat with a tailwind. It has been a good choice for us.
- Mary Ann, Washington

Did you find this useful?

Jan 05, 2017 2000 Safari Zanzibar 38

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Livability was OUTSTANDING for us after we added the custom cabinets and Flex steel seats and bed. The quality of cabinets and fit and finish was OUTSTANDING as well. Floor plan was ideal for our lifestyle and the privacy provided with the center bath plan plus the 3 leaf table was also OUTSTANDING for the years of our ownership. It was the perfect fit for our family. The coach drove and towed like a dream. Plenty of power to tow anything from our Honda Civic to a Chrysler Town & Country minion to a full size Jeep Grand Cherokee. Support from Safari and Monaco was always OUTSTANDING.
- RONALD MARLOW, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

Jul 12, 2017 2000 Safari Trek 2430

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
The Safari TREK 2430 isn't for everyone as the heart of the coach is the electric queen size bed that lowers down from the ceiling at night when you need it. This feature allows the model 2430 to be only 25' long, yet offer the living space of a 36' motorhome. How? By not dragging around a bedroom off the back of the coach! At night, the entire main salon becomes the bedroom once privacy shades are drawn. The coach offers a huge kitchen with a 6' countertop, a large bathroom with tub/shower, big closets, and a large salon with sleeper sofa, chairs and a occasional table. There is even a nice dining table for two opposite the kitchen. The quality of the build is excellent as the TREK was built on the same line as the big Safari diesel pushers with the same quality components, solid Alder hardwood cabinets, one piece fiberglass roof, aircraft aluminum skin, Diamont full-body paint (think Mercedez Benz), all on the Chevy Workhorse medium duty chassis with a 14800 pound GVW powered by a 7.3L Vortec V8 fuel injected engine. The chassis has a 5500 pound receiver for towing.

Like my Daddy taught me, every dog has it's fleas, and the TREK is no exception. The short wheelbase of the coach means that it is very reactive to the wheel and the driver must learn to relax at the wheel and not oversteer lest you zig zag your way down the road. Also, the spring suspension can be a bit bouncy on a rough road or going over a speed bump.But the biggest complaint especially from older TREK owners is that someone is crawling over their partner at night to get out of the bed to use the potty. Also, if you have a guest on the sleeper sofa, they are right under the main bed similar to bunk beds.

Having said all that, if you can accept these inconveniences the TREK is an amazing coach. It is short, easy to drive, easy to park, can go into ANY National or State campground, is built with quality and smart engineering. It is a joy to spend time in and perfect for a couple with their furry companion. Full Disclosure: Not only am I a current TREK Owner, I was also the Factory Rep. for three years for the TREK way back in 96'-99'. I have no affiliation now. My comments and observations are my own, but also based on literally hundreds of conversations at shows and rallies talking to RV owners. Bottomline: The TREK is a great RV with a legendary following. If you can find one that has been loved over the years and well maintained, buy it. You won't be disappointed!
- Joe Bruzda, Washington

Did you find this useful?

Jun 14, 2017 2000 Safari Trek 2420 P-30

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Trek folks like quality and convenience. The efficiency of space gives better handling and an open feel in a small coach. The owners bond together when they see other like no other R.V. group, including antique bus collectors. Bus folks might just wave and honk, Trek folks will follow you to the next rest stop.
They are not for everybody or all situations, but I've known some full timers. Builder out of business but I had to rate the warranty anyway.
- dick hodge, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

May 18, 2016 1999 Safari Zanzibar 3876

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
The one mystery in placing the ad was the "pending approval". Did not know up front that it was part of the process. Unfortunately I spent quiet a bit of time trying to get the ad placed not knowing someone had to "approve" it.
- Keith Bentjen, California

Did you find this useful?

Nov 27, 2017 1999 Safari Trek 2830

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We really like the Safari TREK. The 28ft length is perfect. it is easy to drive and maneuver. Would highly recommend. It is fully equipped for all of your necessities. Totally have enjoyed our travels in it.
- Owen,

Did you find this useful?

Jan 17, 2016 1998 Safari Ivory M-4006

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
We bought this RV to make family trips and spend the Summers in and did so successfully for over 2 years. We are going to spend this summer closer to home.
This RV is a gem! Very High Quality built motorhome with and engine and chassis that has the majority of its life left to go. It drives very smooth with plenty of power to tow a trailer or dingy vehicle.

Would be perfect for a couple wanting to see the country or a small family who wanted to spend some quality time together with the world right outside the windows!
The shower/tub is one of the largest you'll find in an RV.

The roof and structure is solid with no leaks.


The systems are very functional with only a few minor things that are quirky:
The fuel gauge is inoperable.
There is a valve that would need to be replaced in order to install a washer/dryer.
Dash air does not cool, but the two roof air units keep the whole coach very cold.
The black water release valve can leak when tank is full.


- Wes, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

Jan 15, 2016 1998 Safari Trek 2830

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
We found this unit to be very livable. At one time we belonged to a TREK group and about half of them were full timing in TREK's The short wheel base made it very easy to drive and park. Being the low end of a high end manufacturer it has a lot of bells and whistles that you would not expect in a unit of this size. The 454 engine was great on gas mileage (10 mpg at 50 mph towing) If you have a heavy foot you will not do this well. The kitchen and bath are both bigger and better than most RV's that are a lot bigger. We had this unit from Fairbanks to Key West and Mexico to Maine and enjoyed every mile.
- Bob Bradshaw, Florida

Did you find this useful?

Aug 01, 2018 1997 Safari Serengeti 4050SEQ

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Very easy to drive & back up. Performs like a commercial bus being very stable and quiet on good roads. Excellent braking. A breeze to hook up when docked. The two rooftop A/C units and onboard heater make living in any climate very enjoyable. The galley dishwasher makes meal clean up a dream. The Master bed queen sized Tempurpedic Mattress provides a superior nights sleep. The super efficient floor plan makes life aboard really happy. All bugs have been works out of this rig and would highly recommend it to any couple wishing to use it to enjoy coast to coast travel or settle somewhere and use it as a tiny home. When stepping aboard our rig it feels like a land yacht or an exceptional tiny home on wheels.
- Robert Claman, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

Aug 01, 2018 1997 Safari Serengeti 4050 SEQ Shower

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Exceptional tiny home feel with ability to drive it anywhere roads are good. BF Goodrich Velvet Ride makes driving easy and comfortable. Pass through floor plan prevents trapping in the bathroom area. Master bed very easy to walk around. Non-smoking, no pets, upgraded interior floors & galley. Cedar lined closets. Upgraded electronics.
Low miles & only one prior owner.
- Robert Claman, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

Nov 19, 2014 1996 Safari Continental

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
- Rev. Bill Chambers, Arizona

Did you find this useful?