Search
Account
Help

Ashburn, VA Change Location

Open Range RV Reviews by Owners (17)

Average Review Rating

Have you owned one of these? Write a review! Search Open Range RVs For Sale

Voted Most Helpful Review 2017 Open Range 3X 427BHS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We bought this RV for the floor plan. After 3 weeks into purchasing it we noticed soft flooring near the main entrance door. We have taken it into a service dealer who said the black tank is leaking into the floor. They also found another problem with the walls. To fix the RV it has to go back to the factory. They can not take it until February! When you spend 80k on a camper you want to be able to use it. We have contacted the warranty department with no return call yet! Never again open range!
- CA, Florida

Did you find this useful?

Voted Most Helpful Review 2016 Open Range Mesa Ridge 337RLS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Love my RV ,floor plan is perfect,lots of storage room,nice features,pulls well,well constructed,comfortable,all appliances work well,few initial minor problems which were corrected by dealer,so far me and the mrs are very happy with the RV..we have had several and this one has bee overall the best...
- regis szczesny, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

Jul 08, 2016 2016 Open Range Light 274RLS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Very good company. Support and warranty are the best. Floor plan is spacious and quality construction is evident. I have owned other RV\'s and this unit is right up there with the best. Since I live close to the factory I took it back there for replacement of a Fantastic fan replacement. They replaced it as well as a couple of other small items I wasn\'t even aware of that needed attention. All under warranty. No hassle.
- Tom, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

Jun 14, 2016 2015 Open Range Mesa Ridge MF345RLS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
This RV was purchased new for several reasons. it is our second Open Range product. The quality in both units was excellent and factory support very good as well. This unit is larger than the first Open Range and having become snowbirds for the winter we found it very easy to live in for extended periods of time (4 months). Auto-level works great and I would not purchase another unit without auto-level. Our only reason for selling is the need for a Toy Hauler to carry our H.D. trike. Would consider another Open Range IF it was a toy hauler.
- Robert Lussow , Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

Jul 24, 2017 2015 Open Range 3X 397FBS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Very disappointed with my purchase. Would advise everyone to look at other brands!. I've had numerous problems with my trailer. I'm not the average rv'er, I travel the mid U S and live in mine 16 days a month. Most repairs were covered by the two year warranty and my dealer was good enough to order parts then I could bring the trailer by for installation (if not the trailer would have been in shop more than on road). This is a list of repairs and the cost to overcome the repairs.
1. Slide out poured 5 half gallon buckets of water within first week I owned the trailer. Lucky we were in it.
2. 2 slide out gearboxes. 2 friends to help push slides in and out.
3.TV power supply burned out. Purchased a new TV ($425.00) to replace while waiting on tv to be replaced.
4. Refrigerator motherboard went out. The inside liner is cracking. 2 months to repair. Liner still cracked. Cost small refrigator and ice chest to replace while being repaired. ($500.00)
5. Entry door keypad dry cracked. No cost had keys
6. The automatic leveling has been looked at many times still does not work properly all the time.
7. Batteries have been replaced the warranty did not cover that.($175.00)
8. 4 of the recess ceiling lights have gone out. They replaced 3, I replaced 1. Cost $19.00 per light.
9. TV antenna does not work very well. Have been within 20 miles of major cities with no reception. Not repaired
10. One of the sewer slides is sticking like it is linked.
11.They sold me a trailer that only had 3 20 gallon propane tanks instead of 4. Purchase another propane tank. ($60.00) When I asked they said rvia wouldn't allow it.
12. The kitchen pantry that holds the slide out shelves fame has broken were the shelves will not slide. Est cost is $350.00 to hire carpenter to rebuild fame work.
Now if you figure the cost of dragging trailer back and forth to dealer I figure that I will have over $1000.00 in fuel and wear and tear in truck. That doesn't includ the 1 hour drive back and forth of my time.
I just hope that a few people will read this review and take highland ridge/open range off their list of RV's.

- Bryan Brown, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

Jun 18, 2017 2015 Open Range Open Range 349RLS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Our final RV before going off the road. Regret selling as it was our dream 5th wheel....3rd one and the best. Lots of room and great floor plan. full size ref and larger shower. A few kinks when new but ironed out by the dealer. 3 trouble free years.
- gerald french, New York

Did you find this useful?

May 20, 2016 2015 Open Range Roamer 316RLS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
We purchased our Open Range Roamer 316RLS in Oct 2015, and in the short 7 months since, we have run into several problems that we believe are due to poor production of our camper.

Almost immediately after our purchase, a lot of the wood framing around the slides started coming loose and popping off. We have found that almost every single (visible) screw is stripped. We noticed this first when our water heater started leaking- which is a separate issue- and we had to take the panel off the table in between the chairs to access it, the screw heads were completely stripped and we had a difficult time removing them.

I wanted to remove the furnace covers to vacuum down in the vents and the screws were not only stripped, but I was unable to get them screwed back in because when they had originally been screwed in, they were just jammed in the floor and we cannot get the screws back in the holes no matter how we finagle the screws.

We also have a screw with stripped threads in the ceiling vent in the hallway, which prevents the window from closing tight. When there is any wind at all, it is able to lift up and rip open that window.

We also have sealant around the windows on the roof that is already cracking and has to be replaced.

Granted, these are issues that we are able to fix ourselves, but being that we just spent over $40,000 on a brand new camper, we should not be having these issues right off the bat.

A few months into owning our Open Range, we noticed a mildew smell around the chairs at the back of the coach. After further inspection we realized the carpet was wet as well as the base of the table in between the chairs. We had to call a repair service as we were traveling and were hours from the nearest authorized dealer, and he found that the water heater was spraying from the hoses where the nuts were simply not tightened enough in the factory.

About two months ago, the front "rock guard" right above the hitch ripped loose. When we contacted warranty, we were told we had to go to the closest authorized dealer almost (two hours away) have them take pictures, and then return again on a later date to have it fixed. When we hooked up to get it to the dealer, we got less than a mile down the road and the entire rock guard completely ripped off. My husband had to remove the screws from the strip and rig it back together so we could make it to the dealership. Once at the authorized service center, we were told it would be weeks before it could be fixed, they put some tape over the front of the camper, and sent us on our way.

Several weeks later, we started smelling a sewer smell. We could not figure out where it was coming from, and when we hooked our camper up to our truck to take it back to the service center to have the rock guard repaired, water started gushing from the underbelly for almost 5 minutes. The smell we had been smelling was stagnant water that had soaked the insulation and anything else located in the underbelly. The repair center told us they can't be sure how so much water got in the underbelly, it could have been from rain or there is a chance there is a cracked tank, but we would have to schedule yet ANOTHER two appointments (one for them to look at it, one for them to do the actual repair)

We also had to have the emergency brake fuse box replaced because the box was melted and the wires were corroded.

The wiring harnesses underneath the door-side tires also fell apart allowing wiring to be exposed, and had to be replaced.

We've also had a random blowout of one of the tires on this RV, not that that is necessarily an Open Range issue, but it just adds to the list of issues we have experienced.

The major issues we have encountered HAVE been covered by warranty, but we have to drive several hours multiple times to any nearest authorized service center. We were told we could use a non-authorized center, but we would probably have to pay up front and we wouldn't get guaranteed service.

We are looking at trading out of it ASAP because we are so dissatisfied with our purchase!
- Lindsey, Wyoming

Did you find this useful?

Jan 29, 2015 2014 Open Range 3X 349RLS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
We loved our Open Range. We looked at a lot of different campers. The larger shower was a big plus for us because we have a toddler. It was easy to sit on the bench seat and bathe him. Another feature that we really liked since we had a small child was the moveable island. We could push it out of the way and he had plenty of room to play. As most parents know toys for small kids can be pretty big. We really enjoyed the time we spent in it and we were in it a lot. My husband really liked the electric jacks and how it would automatically set to the right height for the truck when we unhooked it. Made hooking up and unhooking very fast and easy.
- Lacy, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

Dec 15, 2014 2014 Open Range Light 318RLS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Great kitchen and family room area. Bedroom a little tight between bed and bath wall.

Had some teething issues which were handled by dealer under warranty. Only major complaint is the toilet drain is in the middle of storage area. And some problems with the black tank drainage system.
- Bob Biegel, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

Apr 25, 2016 2013 Open Range Open Range 413RLL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
We love our rv bc of its spacious unique layout with opposing slides, quality cabinets doors trim, BH loft works fabulous for our guests, feels like a home not an rv. If needed, it is ALL Season. Handles well on the road-hubby says he doesn't even know he is pulling anything. Open Ranges' quality is why we bought the 413RLL. To be honest: I only gave 4 Stars to manufacturer bc they sold the company to Jayco and I am not familiar with Jayco.
We had a Montana before this 5th wheel and feel this rv is far superior. The self leveling makes setting up a breeze, wouldn't own a 5th without it anymore. The outside is fiberglass and clean's easy keeping its beautiful shine, making it look brand new. The easy on the electric awning can't be beat. I will never not have that nor the leveling system again. The outside doors of the storage are solid with good locks. Open Range does not skimp on the quality of their rv's producing a well priced unit as well.
- Kathy Collaro, Florida

Did you find this useful?

Apr 17, 2017 2013 Open Range Roamer 345RLS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We lived in this RV for 1 summer in the mountains and it was very well appointed and functional. With 2 air conditioners one in bedroom and 1 in living space. The 5th wheel has 4 seasons rating. The heater works well and the fireplace does warm the immediate area. The microwave convection oven is really nice. My husband states it is very easy to tow with the Chevy 2500 turbo diesel.( husband states truck is not for sale or included) Our moveable island gives more workspace. King size bed is great. Plenty of closet space. Dyson portable vaccum cleaner. Neutral colors and Corian counter tops. Automatic leveling system. Automatic awning system. The extras are nice for upscale camping.
- Shirley Prawdzik, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

Mar 18, 2017 2013 Open Range 3X 345RLS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We tow this 5th wheel with a 2500 heavy duty truck which tows it very easily. It is easier to tow a 5th wheel than a standard trailer. The interior is very attractive and I do like the comfortable king size bed. We have laundry hookups available but use facilities at the campground. The convection oven combination microwave is great. I have not used the regular oven since. TV in the bedroom as well as the large TV in the living room is nice. I enjoy the moveable island for work and storage. It is a four season trailer for colder weather as well as 2 air conditioners. We have not had to use the warranty so far. Open Range is found under Highland Range when looking. I would consider this brand if I was looking to buy.
- Shirley, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

Apr 21, 2017 2012 Open Range 3X 427BHS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This camper has been a let down since the purchase. Within months, several things had to be replaced then in and out of the shop numerous times from leaks to applicance issues to SEVERAL other issues. Complete waste of money!
- Randy Triche, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

Jun 10, 2017 2012 Open Range Roamer 395BHS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This trailer has a great floor plan which is why we selected it. The unit has been disappointing because we have discovered several leaks around the windows. The large slide out had a design flaw that lead to the floor rotting in one corner. the rain water would flow down the wall and eventually wrap around to the floor. There was no barrier(like the newer units)to keep the water out. The second A/C kicks the breaker regularly as well. These should not be issues on a product less than 5 years old.
- KM, Texas

Did you find this useful?

Jan 17, 2015 2011 Open Range Open Range 427BHS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Excellent all around, very easy to pull.
- Brian Zimmerman, Texas

Did you find this useful?

Dec 15, 2014 2011 Open Range Journey 359fks

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
WARNING, WARNING, WARNING
This is the biggest piece of junk on the market. To many problems to list completely. Fiberglass delamination (2 walls) weld in wall let go (2 times same weld) Frame pieces breaking off (4 separate pieces) Quick bite tunge tearing, and these are just a partial list of problems. Factory did not want to do anything for me and I ended selling back to dealer ( losing 27 thousand dollars) No other dealer would take in trade and I could not sell privately because I would be liable for problems. I would advice to keep your distance from this company ( now know as Highland RV) but run by the same people (Randy Graber). After many emails to the president of the company (Mr Graber) he would not answer any of them. Got my money then didn't want to know me. WARNING WARNING WARNING.
- Randolph Cookinham, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

Feb 02, 2018 2010 Open Range Open Range 391RES

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Ordered this unit new in 2010 to live in as Fulltimers. So much more living space compared to our friends motorhome units.We have traveled to Alaska twice as well as east coast to west coast north to south. Have enjoyed it the whole time. Few issues with power jacks and slides, but just like a stick house, you just have to keep things up. Last year the AC and the refrigerator both went out, so the next owners are really getting new updated products. Ready to downsize to a smaller unit and are definitely looking at Open Range again.
- Roger Stout, Arizona

Did you find this useful?