Search
Account
Help

Ashburn, VA Change Location

Northwood Nash RV Reviews by Owners

Average Review Rating

Have you owned one of these? Write a review! Search Northwood Nash RVs For Sale

Voted Most Helpful Review 2017 Northwood Nash 24M

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This is generally a good unit ... BUT ... the attention to detail a quality of workmanship leaves a lot to be desired. We've had the unit since fall 2016 and have had the following issues (note that because we are travelling across Canada the dealer hasn't had a chance to address these yet)
Gas water heater stopped working almost immediately
Spark igniters for stove short out to pan - found this out with a bang
Trailer brake wiring rubbed on tires and shorted out
Power tongue jack stopped working (not the fuse)
Bathroom sink drain not properly sealed, taps need plumbers tape to stop leaking
We are pulling this with an F150, 5.0 L gas, it works and is safe, but recommend an F250, or larger motor and air bag suspension
- , British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

Voted Most Helpful Review 2017 Northwood Nash 24M

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This is our second Nash, as we had our first one for 17 years. Mainly used for local camping trips.
We purchased the 24m in Feb.2017. It took a numbers of phone calls to get the instruction books from the dealer that we purchased it from as very few came with the trailer. That experience was pretty frustrating.
The quality of this trailer is not as good as the 2000 Nash we had.
The bathroom Medicine cabinet is about as cheap as they could get, very poor quality.
- , California

Did you find this useful?

Sep 14, 2017 2017 Northwood Nash 24M

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Purchased our Nash 24M new in spring 2017. We loved the floorplan and the slide out couch. Incredible room with it out and easily workable even with it in. Ours has double pane windows which I would recommend - no condensation and stays cooler. We held out for this year because of the fabric and the 100% LED's. Our intent was to get something that would go off road and gravel, dry camp and stay together and Nash seemed to fill the bill. We saw other 24M's with a few issues (poor trim, cabinet doors, etc) before we bought this one. We have had zero issues with six trips and 4,000 miles. We have dragged it off road in the desert to the top of a ridge over a trail w no issues. Another 60 miles of gravel with no issues. Upon delivery we had one issue - a hammer type indent in the dining room table and the dealer swapped it out at delivery. On trip four our water lines coming off of the water pump were thumping against the seat frame but a quick wrap with pipe insulation fixed it.

The trailer sits high which is good off road but this does create more wind resistance when towing. The tongue height is equal with the tailgate down so we have to pad the tailgate to put it down while hooked up. We tow it with a 5.7L Tundra. Plenty of power and braking through the mountains, marginal fuel mileage - 9.4 mpg or less when towing. Trailer weighs 6,450 lbs fully loaded. It is under the 9,000 lb rating of our Tundra configuration but I would not recommend going any heavier.

We feel blessed to have gotten a great trailer with zero issues at this point. We plan on this one being in the fold for a long time. Great job Northwood Crew!
- , Oregon

Did you find this useful?

Dec 01, 2016 2015 Northwood Nash 24M

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This is our second Nash trailer. First was a 2014 23D. Second is a 2015 24M. Many issues on first but all were fixed by our dealer. Both trailers had plumbing issues under shower which saturated all underbelly insulation and the amount of sawdust and construction debris left under cabinets, shower and furnace is atrocious. Second trailer 24M had 2 outside wall delaminations but new skins were put on both walls. After 18 months travelling thru Utah we had a broken spring and ended up replacing all 4 as others were bent and flat . This is exactly the same problem others have experienced. Factory rep did not respond to our email. Trailer is definitely not overloaded as we always travel light. Trailer is marketed as off road chassis and certified chassis. Repair facility said springs are too light for trailer. Not recommending this brand anymore.
- , British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

Feb 18, 2015 2015 Northwood Nash 24M

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
This travel trailer is far and above any travel trailer on the market today in quality of build. The chassis is independently verified for off-road use. Can any other travel trailer make that claim? The travel trailer is a true 4-season trailer, and is again verified. I asked a dealer at an RV show recently how their non-Northwood Nash travel trailers are evaluated for their claims of 4-season and he couldn't detail how or why. The quality on the inside of the travel trailer is visible in the construction of the cabinets. The Nash cabinets are screwed in, not nailed, not stapled like so many other travel trailers. Try taking those other travel trailers down a dirt road and good luck with that. The storage space is amazing. The pass-through storage will fit 4 large tubs with lids. There's another two storage spaces, both on the slide out. Inside storage closet, pantry, two wardrobes beside the bed, and another wardrobe in the bathroom in addition to the kitchen cabinets, cabinets above the dinette and the sofa and under the seating of the dinette. You can't beat the storage anywhere. With the queen size bed, the jack-knife sofa, and the dinette that converts to a bed, this travel trailer can sleep 6. Easily towable with a 1/2 ton truck! What's not to like about this travel trailer.
- , Georgia

Did you find this useful?

Sep 14, 2016 2015 Northwood Nash 24M

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
We purchased the 24M on May of 2015 and we love the floor plan and storage space
The 200 watt solar panel keeps the battery's charged so we seldom need to even start out generator,
The only major problem we have had was a water leak in the slide and and on our trip to the Northwest we stopped by the factory and they bent over backwards to get it repaired even though we were out of warranty
- , Wyoming

Did you find this useful?

Feb 11, 2017 2015 Northwood Nash 23D

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We purchased the Nash 23D new in 2015. Just perfect for the two of us. Floor layout and insulation is great. On cold nights the inside is warm. After the first trip the metal screws holding the side panels to the frame started busting off. Probably due to road vibration. I purchased the next size larger at Home Depot to cure the problem. The solar controller output shorted out draining the battery one week after warranty expiration. Call factory support and they sent out a replacement quickly with no charge. Great support! I installed a battery cut out switch next to the battery so the solar panel can charge the battery without any drain on the battery when the trailer is not used. We love the trailer.
- , California

Did you find this useful?

Aug 26, 2016 2015 Northwood Nash 23D

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
The 2015 Nash 23d seemed to be the right size and configuration in a travel trailer for us. We still like our trailer, but the quality of some materials and workmanship leave much to be desired. Examples: the leveling jacks are cheap and don't screw in/out smoothly. The Jensen radio did not have bluetooth as advertised, plus emitted much static if more than 2 LED lights were on. The USB charging station did not work. The outside storage doors did not all align making it impossible to lock. Lots of little things just were not right. Tough to recommend this product with such poor quality control.
- , Oregon

Did you find this useful?

May 21, 2017 2015 Northwood Nash 18L

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Though I need to sell my Nash, there are at least 4 major reasons love it.

(1) OFF-ROAD CHASSIS which is independently certified. Seems really strong and I like the high clearance! The tongue easily supports not only 2, 30lb LP tanks but also my heavy-duty batteries.

(2) LAYOUT (interior): Jack-knife Sofa at front end with queen bed at other end. Lots of cabinets and storage (under bed and bench seat).

(3). Built-in LP ONAN GENERATOR though most 18L's just come with the compartment to install a Gen. The switch is located Inside the unit at the
Control Panel.

(4) Well-insulated, tight trailer (thermal windows etc.): Comfortable and quiet!

Lots of smaller features I like:
LED lights
Roof Rack
LP connection (quick-release) for outside Grills.
Fresh water dump valve
Enclosed underbelly
Front rock-protection
10 Gal. Water Heater

I've only had one very minor problem: a few of the cabinet door hinges were working loose which was easy to fix.

For me the Livability is 5-star because gettin in and out of the corner bed is no problem. For some others, especially a couple, it might be.

If I was in better health and not getting up in yrs., I would keep my Nash!


- , New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

Oct 18, 2016 2014 Northwood Nash 24M

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We have a 2014 24M and after 2 years one of the leaf springs broke and the others are either bent and or damaged. The repair facility has found that those parts are made anymore and that the springs were undersized for the trailer. Appears that they just put some separate parts together and made a suspension system that would only last 2 years without being able to replace the parts. Phone calls and emails to Northwood Manufacturing were not answered.
- , Montana

Did you find this useful?

Sep 12, 2017 2014 Northwood Nash 24M

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Bought this trailer new in 2014. So many problems it's hard to know where to start. Some just simple quality control, some design and some misrepresentation. Here's the list: 2 cupboard doors fell off as pilot screw holes were too big( same on the key rack). Undersink electronic junction box was never screwed to the wall! Wire broke when swinging around. Kinked water line meant no hot water to sink. Kitchen drawers so poorly installed that the bottom of one drags on the top of the next- almost scraping through the bottom, he'd to re-install drawer glides. Screws not installed straight on several bits of hardware. Awning attachment rail was never installed correctly( gaps in dried caulking and resultant leaks). Vinyl cover strip on corners and roof all shrunk several inches, pulling out of corners and caulking- had to be replaced. could not attach gas line to BBQ as no room between swing arm and trailer. Sawdust everywhere! First time turned on the a/c it blew everywhere- still a problem years later. Viewing angle from sofa to tv such that can't see screen- had to install shim so TV viewable. Roughly 15,000km on trailer ( 95% on pavement and no Off-roading) 2 springs broken and 2 inverted and ready to break. Cost me $950 for whole new suspension set up. Local suspension expert said springs were badly undersized. Had a flat tire, when I took it in for repair, I found out it had been badly repaired (patch over nail that was not removed) before I bought the "new" trailer. Poorly latching doors, must deadbolt to ensure they stay closed. Water pump had to be replaced. On the plus side, dealer installed solar panels are great and it looks good.
- , British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

Jul 14, 2017 2014 Northwood Nash 24M

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I really like the layout and the overall quality of the Nash 24M. One problem I am having is with broken springs. The first spring broke (drivers side front) on a trip this year (2017) and the second one broke today (2017). The trailer is rated at 7,000 lbs and the axle springs are 3,500 lbs. This leaves no safety margin. The trailer is rated for off-road use if anyone knows what that is. Anyone else we have this experience? I tow underweight and level.
- , Oregon

Did you find this useful?

Aug 22, 2017 2010 Northwood Nash 17K

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We bought this Nash because a set of parents and three siblings had purchased Nashes. They all gave the quality a high rating. We have had to put a little money into ours. We replaced an inverter not too long ago. Other than that, it seems to be holding up well. Our son lived in it for about 6 months while working for the National Park Service and my husband did the same a couple of times for a few months each. The only issue we have now is the convertible sofa bed. It just isn't very comfortable. We bought a thick topper for it, which worked for awhile, but has also been a pain to store. We rarely break down the bed to make a sofa, which doesn't give us much seating room inside. It is pretty inconvenient to put up and take down. We are now looking to buy a replacement futon mattress (custom) for it in the hopes of a better night's sleep. I would caution people to think long and hard about not having a dedicated bed. Other than that, it is a pretty nice little unit.
- , Idaho

Did you find this useful?

Aug 03, 2015 2009 Northwood Nash 21-5R

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
The craftsmanship is not all that bad, however, the AC (Colman) only worked three times then quit after three years of ownership. I called the dealer who said too bad, it will cost you a grand . I called Nash, they said "sorry for your luck,too bad " and hung up. I called Colman mfg. and explained the situation they said "too bad we're going to hang up now ". Then the water pump went out.

This was a brand new unit, never used which I sincerely regret purchasing. As a side note I had to replace all the screws with nuts and bolts on five cuboards because they were literally falling off.
- , Colorado

Did you find this useful?

Jul 11, 2016 2004 Northwood Nash 21.5

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
light weight easy to tow. in great condition. has everything found in larger units. fully self contained. has an rv attachable BBQ, new tires with covers also has stabilizer jacks. 23 foot length, 3490 GVW easy to tow with a standard 1/2 ton p.u.
- , Colorado

Did you find this useful?