Search
Account
Help

Ashburn, VA Change Location

Northwood RV Reviews by Owners (65)

Average Review Rating

Have you owned one of these? Write a review! Search Northwood RVs For Sale

Voted Most Helpful Review 2018 Northwood Arctic Fox 25R

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Have had 25R since June. Spent 15 nights in it dry camping this year. So far the only issue has been a circuit board on the hot water heater--Not a Northwood Issue and easy fix. Otherwise, excellent. Very good fit and finish. Everything works as advertised. Very well thought out features. Very easy to own and operated. Really comfortable. Mattress is great. Definitely advise the thermal pane windows. 10 cu ft refer/freezer excellent. Oven works great. Excellent heating and AC system. Tows well with F250 truck. I just don't have any gripes. Been very happy with this unit.
- Merritt Dunlap, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

Voted Most Helpful Review 2017 Northwood Arctic Fox 27-5L

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Perfect RV for a couple or family for all seasons for camping in the great outdoors or RV Parks. Great storage space, comfortable, spacious living area. Heated couch is a standard feature on this trailer. The 4 point automatic leveling system makes unhooking and hooking back up quick and easy. Built in generator makes very convenient. This is the perfect trailer.
- C. Johnson, Montana

Did you find this useful?

Jul 08, 2018 2017 Northwood Arctic Fox 27-5L

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Good - Max kitchen and livability features in 29 ft
Bad - (A) Quality. More than 15 issues. Examples: Shower enclosure was not chalked. Shower drain came apart. Draft in the bedroom thru the bed side tables. Landing gear. Kitchen drawer bottom fell out. Front decal had to be replaced.
(B) 13.5K Air Conditioner struggles to keep trailer at 75 when temp is over 90.
(C) One GFI circuit with all kitchen, bath, LR, DR outlets wired to same 15 AMP breaker. You can not run a coffee pot and a heater at the same time.
(D) Battery kill switch doesn't. We had to install one at the battery.
(E) Gray water tanks valve and drain design.
Embarrassing half gallon of water falls on the ground when we arrive at next park and take the cap off to attach the sewer hose. We've tried lowering the RV to facilitate draining. Had to install a external valve to mitigate the problem.
- Sharon Brown, Washington

Did you find this useful?

Oct 19, 2017 2017 Northwood Arctic Fox 27-5L

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
4 months after having our unit we had issues with cooling off the inside. Outside temp 109, inside 101. assumed it was due to being to hot. Found out there was no insulation around refrigerator or in the cap so heated air was blowing in from the outside from out vanity bedroom drawers. The AC was also not installed completely causing the cold air to reverse and froze out AC unit. In trying to figure out what we thought we were doing wrong I called the dealership in Mesa, AZ who, after this ordeal that took over 8 months to figure out, has a better business rating of "F", they told me to, and this is literally, "Suck it up". I called Northwood and they would not help us where we were that had an onsite service center and stated that if we had any work done, they would not cover it. We ended up, at the start, sitting for 7 hours in our running truck with our dogs due to the high heat, had to buy an apartment window AC unit just to try and cool off the bed so we could drive the next morning, and buy a box fan to try and keep the flow of air circulating. At this time we didn't know the issues but frustrating none the less. We also had issues with drawer bottoms falling out with light load, screws constantly coming lose on drawer handles, the bedroom drawer constantly coming off the track, and the shower was leaking which was caused by poor installation and had to be reset and resealed. Northwood did cover the items when we got it back but as for helping on the road, they were of no help nor would they reimburse despite the fact that these issues were not our doing and the unit came from the factory that way.
- Paige Whitworth, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

Jun 24, 2017 2017 Northwood Arctic Fox 25R

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We purchased our RV in March 2017. In April took it on a road trip to Kentucky. The middle of April moved in and have become full-time RV's. It has been a relatively short period of time, but there has not been a single issue. The trailer is everything Norwood promised. Extremely well built with quality material. It heats nicely and stays warm with the dual pane windows. We are currently in a campground and are excited to get moving and starting our adventure. There is nothing negative we can say at this point, perhaps in the future, but I suspect not. You get what you pay for.
- William J Murphy, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

Jul 15, 2017 2017 Northwood Arctic Fox 25R

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I had a few issues with interior workmanship. Closet hanger bracket broke loose with light hanger load, carpet was not secure at heating duct by the couch, every reading lamp literally fell because screws being over tightened and stripped the wood, check valve on water pump failed resulting in overflowing water tank while on city water, Norcold refrigerator Model #N821 will not operate above 5,500 ft elevation on LP gas...have to light manually from outside and when it cycles it may not re-light on LP gas...Thretford Corp, owner of Norcold has no fix. Not Northwood's fault.
Pros, solid unit, well insulated. We've been out twice for a week each time, one dry camping and one with full hook ups. My major complaint is the refrigerator as we often camp at 8700 ft elevation. I owned two Nash's and had, no refrigerator issues at higher elevations with Norcold.
- Doug, California

Did you find this useful?

May 06, 2017 2017 Northwood Nash 24M

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This is generally a good unit ... BUT ... the attention to detail a quality of workmanship leaves a lot to be desired. We've had the unit since fall 2016 and have had the following issues (note that because we are travelling across Canada the dealer hasn't had a chance to address these yet)
Gas water heater stopped working almost immediately
Spark igniters for stove short out to pan - found this out with a bang
Trailer brake wiring rubbed on tires and shorted out
Power tongue jack stopped working (not the fuse)
Bathroom sink drain not properly sealed, taps need plumbers tape to stop leaking
We are pulling this with an F150, 5.0 L gas, it works and is safe, but recommend an F250, or larger motor and air bag suspension
- Paul Nash, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

Jun 16, 2017 2017 Northwood Nash 24M

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This is our second Nash, as we had our first one for 17 years. Mainly used for local camping trips.
We purchased the 24m in Feb.2017. It took a numbers of phone calls to get the instruction books from the dealer that we purchased it from as very few came with the trailer. That experience was pretty frustrating.
The quality of this trailer is not as good as the 2000 Nash we had.
The bathroom Medicine cabinet is about as cheap as they could get, very poor quality.
- Mark Risk, California

Did you find this useful?

Sep 14, 2017 2017 Northwood Nash 24M

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Purchased our Nash 24M new in spring 2017. We loved the floorplan and the slide out couch. Incredible room with it out and easily workable even with it in. Ours has double pane windows which I would recommend - no condensation and stays cooler. We held out for this year because of the fabric and the 100% LED's. Our intent was to get something that would go off road and gravel, dry camp and stay together and Nash seemed to fill the bill. We saw other 24M's with a few issues (poor trim, cabinet doors, etc) before we bought this one. We have had zero issues with six trips and 4,000 miles. We have dragged it off road in the desert to the top of a ridge over a trail w no issues. Another 60 miles of gravel with no issues. Upon delivery we had one issue - a hammer type indent in the dining room table and the dealer swapped it out at delivery. On trip four our water lines coming off of the water pump were thumping against the seat frame but a quick wrap with pipe insulation fixed it.

The trailer sits high which is good off road but this does create more wind resistance when towing. The tongue height is equal with the tailgate down so we have to pad the tailgate to put it down while hooked up. We tow it with a 5.7L Tundra. Plenty of power and braking through the mountains, marginal fuel mileage - 9.4 mpg or less when towing. Trailer weighs 6,450 lbs fully loaded. It is under the 9,000 lb rating of our Tundra configuration but I would not recommend going any heavier.

We feel blessed to have gotten a great trailer with zero issues at this point. We plan on this one being in the fold for a long time. Great job Northwood Crew!
- Paul Harlan, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

Feb 13, 2017 2017 Northwood Arctic Fox 22G

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Picked unit up this fall have not had opportunity to camp yet, but have completely gone through unit found it to be very well constructed. At the time of purchase I had the dealer put a marine type electrical connection on the trailer so that you have a power cord that you just roll up a store, instead of trying to feed the companies supplied permanently connected power cord back in to the limited spare compartment for storage. I have found this to be very challenging when the weather is cold to get this stored away. Applied DAP spray foam insulation in a number of locations, I.e. Drain piping holes, water line holes, gap through holding tank covers and outer drain line (mouse entered unit through this space). Spar polyurethaned all non finished wood surfaces, under dinette cushions, in all compartments, and draws. Replaced cheap range back splash contact paper with a glass tile one. Have been in the unit at 15 degrees below zero and was very pleased at how fast it heated up with the factory furnace. i had to vacuum up quite a bit of sawdust, wiring debris, electrical stackon's, on the floor where the electrical inverter is, behind the fuse/breaker panel. Will be leaving in a couple of weeks with this unit for a trip down south will post my experience upon returning. Site will not let me leave it without rating livability, will give it a three for now till I spend more time in it.
- Mike, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

Nov 03, 2017 2017 Northwood Arctic Fox 22G

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We just bought the 22g this fall and only stayed in one night before winter set in. When we got it home we were disappointed in the workmanship and quality control. Sawdust everywhere,loose and stripped screws, scratches on woodwork and walls. One speaker did not work only to find it was full of saw dust. Water line crimped and in cold weather impossible to put electric cable back. Welds on the fram have splatter everywhere. Caulking outside looks like someone's first attempt. One good thing at this time the major items work.
- Bill Massey, North Dakota

Did you find this useful?

Jul 10, 2018 2017 Northwood Arctic Fox 1150

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I purchased my Arctic Fox 1150 truck camper less than a year ago. It is warped and delaminating. The manufacturer says it’s normal. $40,000 for a truck camper that I have used a total of 4 nights and it’s coming apart. There explanation is the weather caused the delaminating and warping. That campers on the west tend to have this happen. They say it’s NOrmal for this to happen. Don’t call it a four seasons camper if it delaminates and warps in weather over 90 degrees! The frustrating part is they know this is an issue and don’t care. Once they had my hard earned money they could not care less about me the consumer. BUYER BEWARE of these scam artists!!
- Tim S, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

Apr 25, 2018 2016 Northwood Arctic Fox 811

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This camper is by far the best that I have ever owned. It is a true four season camper. I have enjoyed taking it fishing, snow skiing, to the beach and to Montana. This unit has been bullet proof. I have just used it and waxed it each year. Nothing on it has broke or needed adjustment. I will be buying a new arctic fox 5th wheel soon. Yes they are very expensive, but you get what you pay for. Also the unit is insulated so well, that you sleep like a baby.
- Jim Mitchell, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

Mar 07, 2017 2016 Northwood Arctic Fox 32A

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We really love this RV. Has a beautiful fireplace and floorplan. This is our 3rd Arctic Fox, each one got bigger. Very dependable to drive around this beautiful country and very very nice to live in and call home.
- S schiernbeck, Texas

Did you find this useful?

Jul 19, 2018 2016 Northwood Nash 23D

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Great weekender travel trailer. A true 4-season unit. Perfect for those cold winter nights, boondocking, and traveling to remote off-road locations. A great starter RV that will serve your needs for years to come.
- William Runyan, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

Aug 27, 2016 2015 Northwood Arctic Fox 990

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
I purchased a 2015 Artic Fox 990 new in March of 2015. On my trip the roof delaminated and bubbled up. I took it to an RV repair shop in Alabama and was told it looked like the glue was to dry when the roof was installed and from all the heat it let loose. It will cost $5700.00 to replace and could not get it done for about 3 weeks. I contacted the Artic Fox manufacturer and was told that I was out of warranty by 5 months and I was on my own. Now I have to tarp it and get it home to get it fixed. I have had other problems with the slide out, exterior molding, bathroom door, cabinet doors warping, sink faucet coming apart. Very poor workmanship and customer service. Would highly not recommend buying an Artic Fox. The dealer may be great but no company support.
- Dana Ludwig, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

Mar 29, 2016 2015 Northwood Fox Mountain 335BHS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Tows great. tremendous storage. Manufacturer quick to respond to warranty issues. Great floor plan with excellent utilization of space. HOWEVER, quality of fit and finish is lacking. Wall paper joints peeling. Wood veneer joints peeling. Seat and bed cushions are low quality. Spent a winter in it in Oregon and it doesn't appear to be well insulated at all. Overall the interior is not impressive. If I had to do it over again I would probable spend a little more money to get a little more interior quality.
- Steve McFerron, Texas

Did you find this useful?

Oct 10, 2017 2015 Northwood Arctic Fox 27-5L

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
One of only a hand full of four season manufacturers. Superb construction and quality.
Northwood is one of the RV industry's leading manufacturers that truly builds four-season trailers. Polar pack, winter insulation for extreme conditions.

The 27-5L is their most popular all seasons 5th wheel, the 27-5L is loaded with quality features. If you have been around the RV community, you will know the quality of these units.
- paul , British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

Dec 29, 2014 2015 Northwood Arctic Fox 25Y

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Heating and air-conditioning system is loud. Oven is small. Microwave too small. Doors should be windproof hinges. Electric trailer jack is too short. Condensation on thermal pane glass. Shower floor is flexing. Under body is flimsy cloth-like membrain should be solid. Awning is too short, should cover both outside doors. Outside cargo door not tight when closed. Closet hanger bracket fell off with a couple of jackets on hangers. ETC.
- Ed, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

Apr 12, 2016 2015 Northwood Arctic Fox 25P

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
With out a doubt, definitely the most well engineered and built trailer we have ever walked through. Rugged construction, solid craftsmanship and eye pleasing design. Higher price point than most, but once you check out an Arctic Fox, you will see the difference.
- I. Nicolai, California

Did you find this useful?

Dec 01, 2016 2015 Northwood Nash 24M

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This is our second Nash trailer. First was a 2014 23D. Second is a 2015 24M. Many issues on first but all were fixed by our dealer. Both trailers had plumbing issues under shower which saturated all underbelly insulation and the amount of sawdust and construction debris left under cabinets, shower and furnace is atrocious. Second trailer 24M had 2 outside wall delaminations but new skins were put on both walls. After 18 months travelling thru Utah we had a broken spring and ended up replacing all 4 as others were bent and flat . This is exactly the same problem others have experienced. Factory rep did not respond to our email. Trailer is definitely not overloaded as we always travel light. Trailer is marketed as off road chassis and certified chassis. Repair facility said springs are too light for trailer. Not recommending this brand anymore.
- Bob Read, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

Feb 18, 2015 2015 Northwood Nash 24M

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
This travel trailer is far and above any travel trailer on the market today in quality of build. The chassis is independently verified for off-road use. Can any other travel trailer make that claim? The travel trailer is a true 4-season trailer, and is again verified. I asked a dealer at an RV show recently how their non-Northwood Nash travel trailers are evaluated for their claims of 4-season and he couldn't detail how or why. The quality on the inside of the travel trailer is visible in the construction of the cabinets. The Nash cabinets are screwed in, not nailed, not stapled like so many other travel trailers. Try taking those other travel trailers down a dirt road and good luck with that. The storage space is amazing. The pass-through storage will fit 4 large tubs with lids. There's another two storage spaces, both on the slide out. Inside storage closet, pantry, two wardrobes beside the bed, and another wardrobe in the bathroom in addition to the kitchen cabinets, cabinets above the dinette and the sofa and under the seating of the dinette. You can't beat the storage anywhere. With the queen size bed, the jack-knife sofa, and the dinette that converts to a bed, this travel trailer can sleep 6. Easily towable with a 1/2 ton truck! What's not to like about this travel trailer.
- Bev, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

Sep 14, 2016 2015 Northwood Nash 24M

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
We purchased the 24M on May of 2015 and we love the floor plan and storage space
The 200 watt solar panel keeps the battery's charged so we seldom need to even start out generator,
The only major problem we have had was a water leak in the slide and and on our trip to the Northwest we stopped by the factory and they bent over backwards to get it repaired even though we were out of warranty
- Dick Walker, Wyoming

Did you find this useful?

Feb 11, 2017 2015 Northwood Nash 23D

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We purchased the Nash 23D new in 2015. Just perfect for the two of us. Floor layout and insulation is great. On cold nights the inside is warm. After the first trip the metal screws holding the side panels to the frame started busting off. Probably due to road vibration. I purchased the next size larger at Home Depot to cure the problem. The solar controller output shorted out draining the battery one week after warranty expiration. Call factory support and they sent out a replacement quickly with no charge. Great support! I installed a battery cut out switch next to the battery so the solar panel can charge the battery without any drain on the battery when the trailer is not used. We love the trailer.
- Dr. Stephen Vickers, California

Did you find this useful?

Aug 26, 2016 2015 Northwood Nash 23D

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
The 2015 Nash 23d seemed to be the right size and configuration in a travel trailer for us. We still like our trailer, but the quality of some materials and workmanship leave much to be desired. Examples: the leveling jacks are cheap and don't screw in/out smoothly. The Jensen radio did not have bluetooth as advertised, plus emitted much static if more than 2 LED lights were on. The USB charging station did not work. The outside storage doors did not all align making it impossible to lock. Lots of little things just were not right. Tough to recommend this product with such poor quality control.
- George Jessie, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

May 21, 2017 2015 Northwood Nash 18L

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Though I need to sell my Nash, there are at least 4 major reasons love it.

(1) OFF-ROAD CHASSIS which is independently certified. Seems really strong and I like the high clearance! The tongue easily supports not only 2, 30lb LP tanks but also my heavy-duty batteries.

(2) LAYOUT (interior): Jack-knife Sofa at front end with queen bed at other end. Lots of cabinets and storage (under bed and bench seat).

(3). Built-in LP ONAN GENERATOR though most 18L's just come with the compartment to install a Gen. The switch is located Inside the unit at the
Control Panel.

(4) Well-insulated, tight trailer (thermal windows etc.): Comfortable and quiet!

Lots of smaller features I like:
LED lights
Roof Rack
LP connection (quick-release) for outside Grills.
Fresh water dump valve
Enclosed underbelly
Front rock-protection
10 Gal. Water Heater

I've only had one very minor problem: a few of the cabinet door hinges were working loose which was easy to fix.

For me the Livability is 5-star because gettin in and out of the corner bed is no problem. For some others, especially a couple, it might be.

If I was in better health and not getting up in yrs., I would keep my Nash!


- Steve Hallack, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

Jul 29, 2018 2014 Northwood Fox Mountain 325RKS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This RV has had so many quality issues that there isn't enough room here to list all. I took it back to both the dealer and the factory and they just jerryrigged all the problems. Worst RV I have ever owned. Every time I take it out, I have to repair something. This unit should never have left the factory. I would not recommend Northwood products to anyone. If anyone would like a list of the problems I have had with this unit, e-mail me and I will send it.
- Randy C Spray, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

Apr 13, 2017 2014 Northwood Arctic Fox 32-5M

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I owned an arctic fox before this one I loved it I loved it so much I bought another one and I would buy another one again for the money the quality cannot be beat.
It toes great the quality of the wood inside is immaculate it doesn't seem to be cheaply put together.
- Ben Redlich, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

Feb 15, 2017 2014 Northwood Arctic Fox 29-5K

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We have enjoyed our Artic Fox. This is the second one we have owned. They are very well insulated, have quality cabinetry, and have adequate storage inside and out. The fresh water, gray water and black water tanks are more than adequate for dry camping. Connecting to city water and sewer is very quick and easy. It connects and pulls easily. Anyone would be happy with an Artic Fox!
- Blackmer, Washington

Did you find this useful?

Aug 17, 2016 2014 Northwood Desert Fox 27FS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
This trailer is wonderful, having the ability to use it in multi purpose is perhaps the biggest advantage, it is a self sustaining trailer; having large water tank, a generator and solar is great and 4 season in pretty much any time of the year
- Marco, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

Aug 24, 2016 2014 Northwood Desert Fox 27FS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
This trailer is by far the best trailer I've ever owned. By far the most solid and comfortable unit. The options on it is wonderful; the fact that you can still camp in late fal early winter is awsome
- Marco, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

Jun 11, 2017 2014 Northwood Arctic Fox 27-5L

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Arctic Fox, Never again. Fell in love with it, bought it, spent every minute repairing something, from electrical, to wood work, to cap fading and cracking. Problems just never end. For the money.. Junk. Manufacturer gives nothing but lip service Seems all RV manufacturers are building nothing hut garbage quality units for big money these days. Sad. Northwoods manufacturing used to be decent
- Ben, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

Apr 08, 2017 2014 Northwood Snow River 266RDS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Purchased used in 2015. The trailer has performed exceptionally well. Very comfortable, well insulated, great to tow and overall great quality. The only issue is the fading of the brown front cap. However with removal of the stickers followed by sanding I was able to get it sprayed with line x at a great business in Grand Junction for $500. The Line X brown was nearly a perfect match giving the cap a sharp professional look. Besides good looks, the cap is now nearly bomb proof as well.
- Clay, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

Oct 18, 2016 2014 Northwood Nash 24M

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We have a 2014 24M and after 2 years one of the leaf springs broke and the others are either bent and or damaged. The repair facility has found that those parts are made anymore and that the springs were undersized for the trailer. Appears that they just put some separate parts together and made a suspension system that would only last 2 years without being able to replace the parts. Phone calls and emails to Northwood Manufacturing were not answered.
- Jim Streeter, Montana

Did you find this useful?

Sep 12, 2017 2014 Northwood Nash 24M

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Bought this trailer new in 2014. So many problems it's hard to know where to start. Some just simple quality control, some design and some misrepresentation. Here's the list: 2 cupboard doors fell off as pilot screw holes were too big( same on the key rack). Undersink electronic junction box was never screwed to the wall! Wire broke when swinging around. Kinked water line meant no hot water to sink. Kitchen drawers so poorly installed that the bottom of one drags on the top of the next- almost scraping through the bottom, he'd to re-install drawer glides. Screws not installed straight on several bits of hardware. Awning attachment rail was never installed correctly( gaps in dried caulking and resultant leaks). Vinyl cover strip on corners and roof all shrunk several inches, pulling out of corners and caulking- had to be replaced. could not attach gas line to BBQ as no room between swing arm and trailer. Sawdust everywhere! First time turned on the a/c it blew everywhere- still a problem years later. Viewing angle from sofa to tv such that can't see screen- had to install shim so TV viewable. Roughly 15,000km on trailer ( 95% on pavement and no Off-roading) 2 springs broken and 2 inverted and ready to break. Cost me $950 for whole new suspension set up. Local suspension expert said springs were badly undersized. Had a flat tire, when I took it in for repair, I found out it had been badly repaired (patch over nail that was not removed) before I bought the "new" trailer. Poorly latching doors, must deadbolt to ensure they stay closed. Water pump had to be replaced. On the plus side, dealer installed solar panels are great and it looks good.
- Mark Hopkins, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

Jul 14, 2017 2014 Northwood Nash 24M

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I really like the layout and the overall quality of the Nash 24M. One problem I am having is with broken springs. The first spring broke (drivers side front) on a trip this year (2017) and the second one broke today (2017). The trailer is rated at 7,000 lbs and the axle springs are 3,500 lbs. This leaves no safety margin. The trailer is rated for off-road use if anyone knows what that is. Anyone else we have this experience? I tow underweight and level.
- David Burns, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

May 31, 2015 2013 Northwood Arctic Fox 990

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Love this truck camper, especially with the slide so much extra walking room. Easy to load on truck and drive with it on. We can turn around in a DQ parking lot - don't need a foot ball field anymore. We can go to small campsites, state parks, etc. and fit. This is so nice.
- Mary Grandlund, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

May 30, 2018 2013 Northwood Arctic Fox 30U

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This camper works good with weather all year round. Camping with this camper is really nice and spacious. I can't think of anything I don't like about this camper. It pulls nicely and smooth. I like the setup of this camper because right when you walk in with the 2 slides out it looks big.
- Isaac Anderson, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

Dec 17, 2015 2013 Northwood Fox Mountain 285RLS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
This RV is all American made in Oregon it is so nice well made . We have taken all over the U.S. From Arizona to Pa-to New Mexico Colorado Texas California Oregon Washington Idaho Yes all over the U S. Have never had any trouble of any kind. This unit is like new with many extras.
- George McKinley, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

Dec 01, 2015 2013 Northwood Fox Mountain 235RLS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
We really like this RV and would not hesitate to recommend it to family and friends.
- Greg & Sandi Hudson, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

Oct 04, 2017 2012 Northwood Arctic Fox 992

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Love love love this camper. We had a 860 before the 992. Campers are so handy when it comes to towing, without worrying about a drivetrain you have to maintain. The 992 with the dry bath feels so nice like a hotel.
- Lindy McCarthy, Washington

Did you find this useful?

Mar 02, 2018 2012 Northwood Wolf Creek 850

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Solid.

Well built.

Good quality "pieces" - Range top; microwave; furnace; hot water tank; pressure system; jacks;superfan and so on all woorking purrfectly. Only small issue, thus far, is that computer board for fridge had to be reset.

Northwood - also built Arctic Fox - know what they are doing and don't skimp on components.

All is well.
- Mark Fynn, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

Jan 30, 2015 2011 Northwood Arctic Fox 27-5L

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Bathroom and stair case too close to each other. Tows like champ, 4 season coach is wonderful.
- Parker, Alton W., California

Did you find this useful?

Aug 22, 2017 2010 Northwood Nash 17K

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We bought this Nash because a set of parents and three siblings had purchased Nashes. They all gave the quality a high rating. We have had to put a little money into ours. We replaced an inverter not too long ago. Other than that, it seems to be holding up well. Our son lived in it for about 6 months while working for the National Park Service and my husband did the same a couple of times for a few months each. The only issue we have now is the convertible sofa bed. It just isn't very comfortable. We bought a thick topper for it, which worked for awhile, but has also been a pain to store. We rarely break down the bed to make a sofa, which doesn't give us much seating room inside. It is pretty inconvenient to put up and take down. We are now looking to buy a replacement futon mattress (custom) for it in the hopes of a better night's sleep. I would caution people to think long and hard about not having a dedicated bed. Other than that, it is a pretty nice little unit.
- MEW, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

Apr 08, 2015 2009 Northwood Arctic Fox 26J

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Very nice camper. Well built and heavy. The only thing in this camper that was not worthy of being in this unit was the jack knife couch / bed combination. It is of poor quality and design and did not fit the quality of all the other components of this RV.
- Jason Coldwell, Saskatchewan

Did you find this useful?

Jul 09, 2017 2009 Northwood Arctic Fox 245N

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This is a smaller(25 ft.) 5th wheel and is easy to get in state & natl parks. It easy to tow. The floor plan is simple and very livable. I would prefer the newer showers as this is a tub/shower. The storage place is great. Has a large wardrobe. I am not fond of the sleeper/sofa but you can live with it. This is our 2nd Arctic Fox 245N.
- Carolyn Nuwer, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

Mar 20, 2018 2009 Northwood Arctic Fox 245N

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We have traveled over 50,000 miles towing the 24-5N including a Full Time 1 year road trip. We've been coast to coast and all points in between in both the US and Canada. The trailer performed admirably! It tows beautifully. It has an excellent floor plan. When the slider is in for towing, the floor plan is fully usable. We have been in weather down to -15 F and it stayed warm inside. All the equipment has held up very, very well. In all these miles and all this use, nothing has failed. We installed 2 solar panels on the roof for dry camping and they keep the batteries charged. It's not a large 5th wheel but it is a size that makes travel easy which is what we want. The construction is solid. No leaks. Excellent insulation. Lots of storage. No complaints at all about this trailer. If we buy another trailer, without question it will be an Arctic Fox. The only complaint I have is that they stopped making this model 5th wheel and I don't want the next size up, the 27-5L because of the size. We travel and the size of the trailer is very important.
- The White Rabbit, Washington

Did you find this useful?

Aug 03, 2015 2009 Northwood Nash 21-5R

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
The craftsmanship is not all that bad, however, the AC (Colman) only worked three times then quit after three years of ownership. I called the dealer who said too bad, it will cost you a grand . I called Nash, they said "sorry for your luck,too bad " and hung up. I called Colman mfg. and explained the situation they said "too bad we're going to hang up now ". Then the water pump went out.

This was a brand new unit, never used which I sincerely regret purchasing. As a side note I had to replace all the screws with nuts and bolts on five cuboards because they were literally falling off.
- Ron Black, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

Dec 29, 2014 2007 Northwood Arctic Fox 29.5T Silver Fox

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
This is our 2nd Arctic Fox 5th wheel. This 1 has been to Muncho Lake, B.C. from So. Calif. as well as Florida and many points between. Only problem has been shear pin to big slide gear breaking. Love the camper--Northwood makes a quality camper and takes a lot of pride in their product.
- Lars, California

Did you find this useful?

Jun 28, 2018 2007 Northwood Arctic Fox 27T

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
First time buyer of an RV. Luckily we chose a Northwood product. After reading Trailer Life and all the problems with trailers made by other manufacturers, we have never had any of those problems. Northwood stands behind their products. They are heavy but they are made to withstand being taken off road. Ask any other manufacturer to OK that and they will cringe. You can live in these units in minus 0 weather and be nice and warm too. There is too much junk being sold to consumers today. BUY a NORTHWOOD product.
- Terry Ezart, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

Jan 09, 2018 2007 Northwood Arctic Fox 25R

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
2007 Arctic Fox 25r
Great trailer handles the harsh eviroment British Columbia has to offer quality speaks foe itself hold their value well total 4 season intsall solar recomendation they come solar ready equiped
- B.C.Fishbuster, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

Mar 19, 2017 2007 Northwood Desert Fox 24AS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
When we discovered the bench seat was tearing out the wall we found there was no secure backing in the wall, were told by the factory support that the seats are installed by the selling dealer, ya right. The seat was always in the stowed position, traveling over our glorious roads have destroyed the wall. The cargo door has galvanized and plain hardware, needless to say half the bolts are rusting badly. Look elsewhere for a quality trailer
- Don, California

Did you find this useful?

Feb 25, 2015 2007 Northwood Arctic Fox 235A

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Our times with this 5th wheel trailer always lots of fun and very comfortable.
Easy to handle and move around.
Lester Davis
- Lester Davis, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

Oct 30, 2014 2007 Northwood Arctic Fox 23-5A

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Many very nice trips. We have been in rain, snow, 105 degrees A/C really keeps inside just where you set the thermostat. With all of the windows double pained does a good job in hot or cold weather. Hate to have to part with trailer...
- Lester Davis, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

Nov 19, 2014 2007 Northwood Arctic Fox 23-5A

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
We have had 5th wheel trailers and Motor Homes and we feel this this about as good as they come.
- Lester Davis, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

Feb 04, 2017 2007 Northwood Arctic Fox 22G

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
one leak in a water line I fixed. I store it in unheated dry building every year.
workmanship and materials are high. sink low quality and i changed to fiberglass from plastic in the head.
never leaked
- dennis, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

Jun 08, 2017 2006 Northwood Desert Fox 385U

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Unit server is well since we purchased it used in 2006. Used it dry camping most of the time until we retired in 2009. We went south for the winters,and stayed at Lake Mead campground,with full hookups. We purchased another RV a standard fifth wheel for more living space.
- George Schmidt, Montana

Did you find this useful?

Aug 22, 2015 2005 Northwood Arctic Fox 860

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
This camper is great for all around camping. You can take it anywhere your truck can go. It can fit either a short or long box truck. The bed is comfortable and easy to get to. And because it is located over the roof of the truck; it fits a queen size mattress. Plus it feels like a much bigger unit. The four season quality of this Camper makes it comfortable for all seasons. I used mine in the middle of winter for ski in and ski out trips. It was nice and toasty.
- Dean, Montana

Did you find this useful?

Aug 24, 2015 2004 Northwood Arctic Fox 990

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
This has been a great RV for our family. We love it! We have decided to move up to a larger RV.
- William Barnes, California

Did you find this useful?

Feb 24, 2018 2004 Northwood Nash 38L

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This TT floor plan is great mainly because of the enclosed bathroom. It is next to the bedroom with an access door, with another door off the hallway. The pantry and full sized fridge make it very convienent almost as a home kitchen should be. Between the pantry and kitchen cabinets storage throughout especially under the queen as fulltime living there is food and necesary items for normal replacment about every month. Like boat designers, RV designers don't really care to maximize space with better placement of hoses, etc. No shutoffs for sinks, shower or toilet. The vinyl or plastic in corners, ceiling/ floors cracks in a few years but better replaced with wood quarter round molding. There are other complaints but generally I am happy with it and can correct most things myself.It comes with a full set of equipment manuels. We bought it after it was sitting in the dealer's yard for about 2 years and the tag on on soft material chair faded from light- except under the tag! Dick Gore made good immediately and paid for another chair of our choice. Great opening windows everywhere except bunk room,but good outlets for appliances and fans. A nice touch is the amplified tv signal to the roof ant. We lost power for 2 weeks but managed- with Tv!The battery with the very smart charger is still the original!! and working fine.We don't worry about power outage especially since we have a 12v pump and tank of fresh water. If we did worry about our runnig the battery down with lights and water pump we would have an extra battery or charger but figered we could always use the car and its battery. We have lived in it for 12 years. Have added a small freezer,desk PC,veggie bin, small tables and a rollaway type island,etc. and still room for my 2 full size piano accordions. Unfortunately at 84 years I don't care to get up on the roof to clear leaves or branches, and my wife suddenly finds fault with the steps? This Nash is up for sale so we can find a rent hopefully in or near this beautiful and quiet spot.
- Robert C Parnoff, Florida

Did you find this useful?

Mar 21, 2016 2004 Northwood Arctic Fox 30U

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Well built RV, Nice appearance, excellent quality trailer.This trailer is warm in the winter months and cool in the summer months, easy towing and set up. The power slides are well designed.
Overall this is the best in the market.
- Larry Roever, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

Jul 11, 2016 2004 Northwood Nash 21.5

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
light weight easy to tow. in great condition. has everything found in larger units. fully self contained. has an rv attachable BBQ, new tires with covers also has stabilizer jacks. 23 foot length, 3490 GVW easy to tow with a standard 1/2 ton p.u.
- bob, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

Sep 05, 2017 2003 Northwood Arctic Fox 990

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I lived in this camper for at least 7 years out of the 10 that I owned it, and traveled a lot .Would I buy another artic fox ? NO and why? leaks and more leaks u really need to keep up on chalking most of the seams.
Also wood rot once fiberglass seperates from wood. This does not take long to happen. Electric jacks stands I found where unsafe but never collapsed. To much weight on passenger side rear back side. And this one electric jack would always bind up. This side of the camper had the full slide out and the generator . At 400 hrs. had to have the generator pulled out and they replaced the fuel pump (did I get ripped off ? ) well they did replace the pump I did get my old parts back ,
and they replaced hoses, runs fine now .Had to replace hot water heater gas valve and propane regulator the last year I owned it , nothing lasts for ever, u live in them you will see for yourself the issues and design flaws all campers have, do I miss my Artic Fox ,NO.But it saved me a lot of rent money.
- fred pacheco, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

Nov 20, 2014 2003 Northwood Arctic Fox 29-5

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
I have never seen another RV built with such quality, solid strongly built. In the years we have owned it, the floor plan suits us perfectly. It is just the right length to tow and get into and out of tighter campsites, but large enough inside to be more than comfortable.
- Harrold Shell, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

Apr 04, 2018 2003 Northwood Arctic Fox 1150

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I spent 3 months living in the RV last year.
The a/c worked great kept me cool in TX when it was near 100 outside.
The stove, refrigerator, heater, water heater worked fine.
I did not use the generator or the back awning
- Mary Ann, California

Did you find this useful?