Search
Account
Help

Ashburn, VA Change Location

Forest River Salem Cruise Lite RV Reviews by Owners

Average Review Rating

Have you owned one of these? Write a review! Search Forest River Salem Cruise Lite RVs For Sale

Voted Most Helpful Review 2017 Forest River Salem Cruise Lite T241BHXL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
My son has been a welder fabricator for 30 years!! After inspecting the frame there are missing welds, improper welds and that is very dangerous!! The towel bars and the hinges for the cabinet doors are falling off!! The low voltage alarm detector was being set off for no reason when the battery was fine! Not impressed at all in the quality!
- , Arizona

Did you find this useful?

Voted Most Helpful Review 2017 Forest River Salem Cruise Lite 282QBXL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We have had our RV for about 4 months and it has been in the shop more times than we have actually used it. The quality of the workmanship is surprisingly horrible. The sliding door to the bedroom fell off, the water faucets are switched (hot and cold), the faucet knobs turn the wrong way, the refrigerator door in the outside kitchen was on the wrong side, and there is no ladder to get to the upper bunk bed on one side (seriously?!). We even called the manufacturer on the bunk bed access issue as the local dealer had no idea what was going on. They said they had this complaint before - no resolution. We have a step ladder in there now for our grandkids to get to the upper bunk. The toilet gets clogged with even the most minor solid waste. Yes, we have had to auger it out and manually unclog it many times. I wish I had done my homework before I bought this disaster.
On the good side, the layout is what we needed as the bunk house is perfect for our three grandkids. We saw the bunk house and were sold on it. Not worth it considering everything else we have had to go through with this RV.
- , Arizona

Did you find this useful?

Oct 20, 2017 2018 Forest River Salem Cruise Lite 191RDXL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Purchased brand new 2018 Forest River Salem. Its hard to review the quality of these trailers, because the quality of the materials and equipment is fine. My issue is with the workmanship. Ducted Air did not cool, after investigation someone misaligned some sealing and the cool air was blowing right into the return. Water pump started cycling a lot, and opening it up found that a lot of black plastic shavings from when they mounted the water tank were clogging the prefilter, and also blocking one of the check valves on the pump. Overall love the price and quality, but if your not mechanically inclined, purchase one that someone has already gone through.
- , Arizona

Did you find this useful?

Jun 30, 2017 2017 Forest River Salem Cruise Lite 261BHXL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Overall the floorplan is great. It easily fits that family. The quality is not very good. There are items mounted crooked, the water pump was not hooked up (in fact I had to unscrew it from the floor and move it so the hose would reach), the underbelly has already ripped and needs replaced, the hydraulic to reposition the canopy will not hold, the LED lights under the camper do not work. I have only owned the camper from a little more than 3 months and took 3 different camping trips.
I have call the dealer several times and get little or no response. They gave me the wrong keys, it took 4 phone call and 3 week until I received the correct keys. I called them about the pump and they never called me back. Overall while the camper has nice features, the layout is similar to other manufacturers, I would suggest to buy a different brand.
- , Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

May 07, 2017 2017 Forest River Salem Cruise Lite 254RLXL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Electrical bare wires. Plumbing problems.drawers fell. Had to fix many problems on a brand new camper. We bought New to not have problems. Unbelievable the issues. Not to mention where we bought it the Service manager was very rude and said he would cancel our warranty. Hell of a place to do business
- , South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

May 11, 2017 2017 Forest River Salem Cruise Lite 171RBXL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
My wife and I were looking for a small light-weight RV , yet wanted to have a couch to sit on during the day and early evening to watch TV. This model , 171RBXL seemed to be the perfect choice since the Murphy Queen bed could be easily released from the side latches and smoothly lowered onto the top of the couch which folded flat to hold the bed. Our other fhelpful features, s the double door refrigerator with the freezer on top and refergerator door below. The curvier shower has plenty of room and the bathroom has 2 huge clothes closets and 2 linen closets. We have had severall larger 5 th wheel coaches in the past , but this unit is the most size efficient and comfort blended together. Kudos to Forest River USA made engineering and quality . Paul & Kathy Gaskill
- , Florida

Did you find this useful?

Jan 12, 2017 2017 Forest River Salem Cruise Lite 171RBXL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This is the third Forest River travel trailer we have owned and, just like the first two, here is what we have experienced: 1) Overall, the equipment works really well, as the equipment manufacturers seem to have built quality products. 2) Forest River continues to build travel trailers using extremely poor workmanship. Manufacturing personnel either try to cover up their mistakes, or do not even bother hiding their poor workmanship. They HAVE to be pushed for numbers over quality.
Why did we buy this travel trailer? Because the layout is wonderful for this length, and this is one of the few travel trailers that actually has decent wardrobe hanging space.
- , South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

Apr 02, 2016 2016 Forest River Salem Cruise Lite 262BHXL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
I bought this camper new it is a 2016 because it had the floor plan I wanted. and I loved the look of the outside (color) But the cons are the workmanship was not very good looked like they rushed on putting it together lots of stuff unfinished .The first time I camped in it and dewinterized it I had 3 Leaks so back to the dealer with a list of things to have fixed.Hopefully I will have no more problems because like I said I like my camper.My advise check the work done in the camper and compare to other models.
- , Virginia

Did you find this useful?

Feb 16, 2017 2016 Forest River Salem Cruise Lite 261BHXL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We purchased this trailer for our family of 6 and a dog and we love I it. This is our first trailer and we wanted to ease into the camping scene. This is a great beginning trailer. The features are not overwhelming or complicated. We started out at local camp grounds and gradually increased our distance. Eventually, we took a cross country trip from Tennessee to California visiting attractions in between for 3 1/2 weeks last summer and it held up to four children under the age of 10, our 2 year old fur baby Lab mix and my husband and I. Looking forward to making more memories.
- , Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

Sep 14, 2016 2016 Forest River Salem Cruise Lite 261BHXL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Bought a new camp trailer this year. We really like the floor plan, and is a very enjoyable camper to stay in...when it works. We have had a terrible time with this brand new camper. Awful craftsmanship, leaks in plumbing, wiring problems, multiple propane hose leaks, screws falling out, front diamond plating needed re secured, bathroom shower faucet fell off the wall, speakers needed replaced, bath room door would not shut, kitchen drawers would not stay shut, front stabilizer jack needed repaired, awning was torn and needed replaced, I'm sure I am forgetting something. Seems like every time we use it, we need to take it to the dealership for repairs. I would recommend another brand, wish I had. Never would have guessed a new camper would be such poor quality.
- , Washington

Did you find this useful?

Nov 22, 2016 2016 Forest River Salem Cruise Lite 254RLXL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This is our 2nd Cruise Lite and I hate it. First one was a dream, never had a problem in 4 years. This one was purchased in June, 2016, used 8 days this summer and has been in for repairs 5 times. Stabilizer jacks won't work about 50% of the time. Awning lights come on whether the camper is even open or not; slide leaks. Had the seal replaced and it now leaks in a different place. Blew 3 fuses at the same time for no obvious reason. Battery will not stay charged. Everything together makes me believe there's a wiring problem. Am seriously considering getting rid of it and finding a different brand.
- , Kansas

Did you find this useful?

Nov 30, 2016 2016 Forest River Salem Cruise Lite 241QBXL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Traded a four year old Jayco 18' that I had added lots of extras to make it better. I left on a camping trip from the dealership where I traded and that was my first mistake. Drove over 200 miles into the New Mexico mountains figuring the dealer had done a complete shakedown. They did not. About all they did was fill the propane tanks. Got to the campground and attempted to fill fresh water, had to literally force water into it. Found the coach body had been installed with the vent line pinched between frame rail and floor. Next, the electronics on the fridge were not lighting propane, had to adjust spacing on electronic igniter to make it work. Began noticing numerous signs this thing was thrown together, including large holes in floor with small tubes/pipes going through with TONS of expando-foam to attempt seals. Things I DO like: Large shower. Best working toilet I've ever seen. Entertainment center is top notch. Added full queen mattress with deck extension. Quiet water pump. I will be modifying the waste-gate for black and grey dumps, moving them up from their current position at the very rear of the trailer. I have taken the RV out often enough that it is now fixed to my liking and reliable. Thank goodness the dealer has stood behind the product. I have added 300w of solar and a controller (Renogy), moved the spare tire underneath in front. Stripped cheap foil paper above the sink/range and replaced with vinyl that looks like ceramic tile. Mounted a 32" Sony TV in living room. Tinted bedroom windows with 15% VLT film, modified power cord to Marinco setup and hung a generator on the bumper after installing Super Strut supports. Oh, and the tires. Ditched the skins that came on it for a set of Goodyear Marathons which made 500% improvement in how it pulls behind an F-150. It is what it is, but it's paid for.
- , Texas

Did you find this useful?

Dec 19, 2016 2016 Forest River Salem Cruise Lite 230BHXL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Great floorplan! Well that's all the positive. Took it on first trip about 500 miles. Had some rain. When we got back rear bumper was horribly rusted. I took it to dealer. They said no problem as it has a warranty. I even bought the extended warranty. Salem said sorry you are on your own. Dealer was appalled and embarrassed. Dealer said we will fix it. Dealer removed it and painted it. I could have put a better coat on it with a can than Salem did. If they won't cover this then I'm in big trouble when something major happens. We are now looking to trade it in. Will never buy Salem again.
- , Washington

Did you find this useful?

May 11, 2016 2016 Forest River Salem Cruise Lite 201BHXL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Love the floor plan and the looks. And like others, poor craftsmanship. Loose screws everywhere. My electric stab jacks fail off. they were put on with screws. sorry, but these need bolts. Fresh water tank looked as if it was installed 2-3 times. The holes on the frame prove they had it wrong more than once. And yes screws again. I like things bolted Forest River. The trim tape inside is not perfect at all. Looks like a kid put them on. Shower head broke. Heat strip in the AC unit dont work. Antenna on the roof picks up nothing! Caulk drips all over the roof area. Looks like a 12 year old put it on. The roof seams are crooked too. And welding on the frame is very amateur.
- , Ohio

Did you find this useful?

Dec 14, 2016 2015 Forest River Salem Cruise Lite 252RLXL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
this trailer has been in the shop most of time. Very poor quality. Do not trust any of the components to last. Would not recommend this unit. I will trade it in as soon as I get it back from the shop.
- , Arizona

Did you find this useful?

Dec 15, 2014 2015 Forest River Salem Cruise Lite 241QBXL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Trailer looks nice and is easy to pull, but the quality of workmanship is terrible. Roof seems that look like a child smeared the caulk without smoothing them. Sagging wires at front and rear of trailer. Toilet paper roller feel off wall from the weight of the roll!! Paper thin paneling. Screws that weren't seated, etc. etc.
Pro's - Easy pulling, nice appearance
Con's - Poor workmanship and even worse quality assurance.
- , Missouri

Did you find this useful?

Jun 04, 2017 2014 Forest River Salem Cruise Lite 241QBXL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Easy to set up with electric sissors Jack's. Tows easy and floor plan is good for two people. No problems with this unit. Campers Inn were great to work with and offered expert advice. Will buy again when the time comes.
- , Florida

Did you find this useful?

Aug 25, 2016 2013 Forest River Salem Cruise Lite 195BH

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
I bought this camper because I loved the layout, the price was within my range, and it would be easy to tow. Because of the price I didn't expect granite counter tops and hardwood cabinets. But I did expect some reasonable level of workmanship. The workmanship is poor. Because of the holes under the camper (I guess to keep it lite weight) mice had a field day getting in. The biggest problem was the outside tag said 15" wheels. What I got was 14". Had a blow out. The dealer and FR finally agreed to replace the axle and tires. They had it for 2 months of the camping season. With the new axle it raised the camper up. The one step was now 25" up off the ground. FR would not pay for new steps. They would not even return my phone calls and the dealer was done with me. I will not buy from Forest River or this dealer gain. again
- , Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?