Search
Account
Help

Ashburn, VA Change Location

Forest River Cedar Creek Hathaway RV Reviews by Owners

Average Review Rating

Have you owned one of these? Write a review! Search Forest River Cedar Creek Hathaway RVs For Sale

Voted Most Helpful Review 2018 Forest River Cedar Creek Hathaway 38FBD

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We have owned all types of RVs over the last 40 years... maybe 12 total and this Cedar Creek is the best.. its construction is one of the strongest made... I have a friend that has a similar unit and was driving down the interstate highway and he had a heart attack...went off the road and rolled the unit over... when recovered and hauled to the wrecker yard, the slides would still open and close and the unit was bent up but still intact... it did not come apart. And as Paul Harvey said, now for the rest of the story... The owner's wife was taking a nap in the trailer's bedroom when the rollover took place and she walked out with a dislocated index finger! (of course. riding in a moving trailer is a no no.)
Needless to say, he purchased another Cedar Creek!
- , Florida

Did you find this useful?

Voted Most Helpful Review 2017 Forest River Cedar Creek Hathaway 38FBD

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We purchased our 5th wheel the end of February 2017 We have been trying to get the deficiencies fixed since it was finally delivered in May 2017 and have hit nothing but road blocks. We believe they are dragging their feet until the warranty is over.
- , Colorado

Did you find this useful?

Jan 05, 2018 2017 Forest River Cedar Creek Hathaway 38FB2

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Design/Feature Flaws:
-The SEA, three-piece, glass sliding door is a terrible design. It is awkward to use, impossible to clean and the track design incubates mold. I believe a shower curtain would be a great improvement.
-The standard plastic, Dometic brand, toilet seats that come with the unit, are very flimsy and cheap. We had to replace them with solid wooden toilet seats, two days after moving into our camper.
-The Dometic electric awning has not worked without manual assistance since we brought it home. It also does not properly cover the entrance, allowing rain to assault you as you enter/leave the camper.
-The Dirt Devil central vacuum may sound like a great convenience, but I assure you it is not worth the hassle of using. The hose only reaches the extremities of the unit when constant force is being exerted upon it, and it scrapes and scratches everything you must fight and drag it past... I have resorted to using my residential vacuum, it is easier to haul it into the unit from the underpass every time I need to vacuum, rather than fight the hose.
-All of the LED dome lighting has had to be replaced/serviced. Some of them were overheating, some didn't work, some flickered on and off, some flashed like a strobe light.
-The Lazy Boy, theater seating recliner, had a bent frame. The more we used it the worse it got. Since the dealer decided they wanted to try and repair it, instead of replace it, we just got rid of it and replaced it ourselves.
-The Whirlpool, convection microwave, works when it feels like it. Sometimes the light comes on when the door opens, sometimes it doesn't. If you see the light, it might heat your food.
-The Splendide clothes dryer, stopped heating, four months into use.
-In freezing temperatures, the unit is impossible the keep warm. The electric space heater in the living room can barely keep the chill out and the central heating unit does nothing to keep the frigid air from pouring in around the slides and cabinets.
-In extremely hot temperatures, the not-so-quiet, whispering air conditioners cannot keep up. The poor insulation of this unit ensures that any attempt to keep it cool during 90+ degree temperatures, is a farce.

I have attempted to focus on the flaws I feel are inherent to the design and features each of these units possesses, and left out many issues we have had with our unit in particular. Since every unit has it's issues, or so I am told by the people who sold us this nightmare.

Overall, this unit is: manufactured with cheap materials by people with no work ethic, it is sold by liars, and the warranty work you will need is orchestrated and executed by morons, who do not seem to comprehend that they are in 'customer service' for a living!
- , Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

Apr 23, 2017 2017 Forest River Cedar Creek Hathaway 36CKTS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Love this RV but my age(86) and health requires me to sell it.
Tows really well, friend following me said no swaying when
passing large trucks. Has rear view camera so easy to back into
camping spots.
- , Oregon

Did you find this useful?

Sep 01, 2017 2017 Forest River Cedar Creek Hathaway 36CK2

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
To start this is our third Cedar Creek. Previous 2 were used and except for normal maintenance issues from hauling a lot, good RV's overall. We ordered a new one this time. When we received were told not to put much on each shelf in the pantry because screws were small and came out and the sofa tends to slide forward and get hung up on roll outs. Asked if the stacked washer dryer were attached and assured they were, they looked a bit askew. Got the unit home and here is what I found. I decided my best course of action was to fix issues myself. I looked at the pantry issue and the paneling to which the drawer slides are attached is only 1/8" thick. Two screws for each drawer slide and back ones seem to have a backer board glued on to accept screws, except it did not go down far enough to reach the bottom shelf. Front screws were just into panel and stripped out. Cabinet is not constant dimension front to back which makes drawer slides bind. Drawers are lucky to support themselves. I called manufacture to see what was behind the panel to see if I could safely drill in there to use drywall mollies. Never got a call. E mailed, same result. I ended up using plastic anchors which cover the screw and put in the normal three screws per slide. Seems to work. If not, will buy one of those video inspection camera with wand and look in there and decide if I can do something else. I shimmed slides to be right width as needed. On the sofa I made two wood blocks 1.5" thick with half round holes to fit legs and screwed them to floor to stop sofa from sliding. Washer dryer was not in fact attached to anything. Free to float around. I put wood screwed to the floor on four sides to keep it in place. Attached the dryer on the stack to the clothes pole. That should work. Dumb deal not to have them secured. In a sudden stop they were free to crash forward. There is no pan under washer in case of spill like my last unit had. I took my Onan generator out of old rv and installed in this one. Remote stop start button factory installed is at the very bottom of the compartment below the controls station. Have to get on your knees to use it. I have been checking out everything and came across an issue with the range hood exhaust. Exhaust unit is located above the microwave and installed first. Turned it on and all kinds of air was blowing down behind microwave and onto range. Got to looking and factory did not install any duct between the hood discharge point and the outside vent connection. Range hood hot air/moisture laden air/grease laden etc. was free to blow out between hood and wall and to some extent into the wall. I will tear this apart and fix it because I have no confidence the factory will do anything. I have to assume this is how they build all rv's so lots with same issue. I detailed the issues in correspondence with the factory, except for the hood issue which I just discovered, no responses. I am extremely disappointed. Makes me nervous about what else is poorly thought out and or lack of quality control. If I had my money back I would do more research into other high end brands. For what we paid I expected better.
- , Kansas

Did you find this useful?

Oct 22, 2017 2015 Forest River Cedar Creek Hathaway 38FB2

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
From a male point of view: This is very manageable while towing as it is equipped with an air ride on the hitch and makes for a smooth ride. Parking and set up is a breeze due to the automatic hydraulic leveling system, just a push of a button and you're done! The dual reclining theatre seats with cup holders are perfect for viewing the game on the big flat screen television. Storage is abundant underneath. From a female point of view:
this is the perfect home away from home. Very spacious and liveable. Has double stainless steel sinks in the huge island, with under cabinet led lights, adjacent the stove with above mount microwave. A pantry lined with drawer shelving that completely pull out allowing you to see and store what you need. A full size, double door, stainless refrigerator will hold all the food you need. A large family could enjoy a meal surrounding the table and bar with no problem of crowding. Equipped with a central vacuum makes it a breeze to clean up, just sweep kitchen and open vent or attach long hose and vacuum carpet. Families will absolutely LOVE the one and 1/2 bathrooms! The half bath is downstairs and the HUGE master bathroom is so spacious! The shower has a built in seat with removable spray and glass doors. A linen closet as well as a large closet with built in shelving with lights and hook up for washer is in the bath. Beautiful mirrored doors close giving you the feeling of even more room. The master bedroom has a 6 drawer dresser with television above and top of the line queen mattress. This is truly a place you could live in.
- , Virginia

Did you find this useful?

Oct 02, 2017 2015 Forest River Cedar Creek Hathaway 38FB2

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Excellent unit high quality top of line live-in unit, Just like home , with full size frig. King size bed and huge bath with large shower. Lots of closet space, and large storage space for all you gear.
- , Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

Apr 19, 2018 2015 Forest River Cedar Creek Hathaway 36CKTS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Love our Cedar Creek 36CKTS. Very livable for long term. Had a few problems but our dealer made the repairs very promptly. Took a long time looking at all the other fifth wheels and already owned SOB. The Cedar Creek is very well made and comes with highly rated tires, axles and leveling system. Would not hesitate to buy another Cedar Creek.
- , Michigan

Did you find this useful?

2X FASTERNO BANNER ADS ONLY $0.99 Get Started