Search
Account
Help

Ashburn, VA Change Location

Coachmen Freelander RV Reviews by Owners

Average Review Rating

Have you owned one of these? Write a review! Search Coachmen Freelander RVs For Sale

Voted Most Helpful Review 2017 Coachmen Freelander 26RS Ford

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This is our 7th RV and by far the most enjoyable. If there wasn't a health problem, it wouldn't be for sale. Quality throughout. If there is a gig, it would be the bathroom could be slightly larger. The shower door is a great innovation.
- , Florida

Did you find this useful?

Voted Most Helpful Review 2016 Coachmen Freelander 20CB Ford Transit

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This is a SECOND UPDATE to our October reviews of our 2016 Freelander 20CB Micro.

Our 20CB continues to do well. All appliances and other mechanicals function as they should.

I want to repeat, that at the Coachmen factory, all of our warranty problems were quickly and professionally taken care of. A+!

I continue to make common sense improvements/modifications (some I think the factory should have considered) to make the motorhome function better and be more livable, at least for our needs.

With the 2.7 gas V6 and a tale wind, on flat ground, at a steady 56 MPH, we've seen 14.7 MPG. Overall, we get close to 12 MPG.

Overall we are PLEASED.

On a final note: if you happen to be considering purchasing your RV in MN., considering the SAD after sale warranty experience we encountered, all we can say is: BUYER BEWARE. LOOK around the facility. Neat? Clean? That first impression is only the beginning of the incompetence you could encounter. Never again for us at this facility, no matter how good the deal.

- , Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

Oct 22, 2016 2016 Coachmen Freelander 20CB Ford Transit

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This is an UPDATE to my review of October 4th of our Freelander 20CB Micro.

Through direct communications with Coachmen, (we lost all confidence in our selling dealer being able to do anything right or even wanting to), we made plans to bring the RV to their factory for warranty service.

The experience at Coachmen was very positive. Everyone there was friendly, courteous, and accommodating.

Coachmen got my all problems solved in less than a day.

The way I see it: if your dealer is lazy or incompetent the only alternative is going to the manufacturer for correctly done warranty work.

PS: the driveability of the Ford Transit 350HD I find to be excellent. The V6 has plenty of power and it's no problem getting 14MPG when driven between 55 and 60MPH.


- , Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

Oct 04, 2016 2016 Coachmen Freelander 20CB Ford Transit

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
2016 Coachmen Freelander 20CB Micro. A nice RV except for:

I discovered, after a few weeks of ownership, that this motorhome's PLUMBING has a MAJOR DESIGN FLAW.

The water pump is inaccessible as it is hidden away under the shower, or it's proximity, as evidenced by where the pump's sound is emanating from and by various photos I took trying to find it.

Accessibility to an RV water pump is crucial for winterization, or for future pump replacement.

The pump cannot be seen even after removing various panels, from the direction of Coachmen Service & Warranty Department, and taking photos to prove my claim. Not a glimpse of the pump can be seen in any photo of the underlying guts of the motor home.

After seeing my submitted photos and, reviewing a blueprint or schematic, Coachmen's Warranty and Service Department admitted that the plumbing design has been corrected/changed in later build dates to remedy the lack of accessibility. Since then, Warranty and Service does not communicate with me. Something STINKS!

How could their engineering department have incorrectly designed the plumbing system in the first place?

Where does that leave the consumer? We're left with what I think was a "seconds" product foisted upon the dealer and the dealer, knowing or unknowingly, unloaded this RV upon the public meaning me. No wonder the dealer's price was the best anywhere in the USA. A few thousand less than any other dealer. Something STINKS here too.

It's the dealer's problem and I WILL get my money back or an even trade for a correctly built 20CB Micro.

Coachmen get an F- grade, and the dealer ain't too far behind.

- , Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

Jul 27, 2016 2015 Coachmen Freelander 21QB

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Solid little Motor Home. Would keep it I didn\'t need more space. Great for mountain motoring!!! We took our motor home around the country in one year, coast to coast. Florida Gulf to Washington State Cape Flattery to the Outer Banks. This homer just keeps on ticking. No complaints, haven\'t needed the warranty. Solid!
- , Ohio

Did you find this useful?

May 05, 2016 2014 Coachmen Freelander 29QB chevy 6.0

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
This class C has been great. It is my first motorhome and it delivered 24000 miles of absolute fun and great experiences for my wife and myself.I tow a dolly with a car and have never had a single problem.The vehicle handles great a little effort up steep mountains just learned to go slow and was fine. Reason for selling is I am to step up to a small class but absolutely have loved our Freelander for the 3yrs we have traveled in it.
- , South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

May 14, 2017 2014 Coachmen Freelander 28QB

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Perfect for the small RV. We bought as entry level. It drives perfect. Without a slide I replaced the sofa with a Lazyboy double recliner sofa. I did add a better mattress. It's got everything I could ask for
- , Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

May 24, 2017 2014 Coachmen Freelander 28QB

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
First RV. Easy entry level both in cost and drivability. Has everything and layout is perfect. It's made me fall in love with RVing! It was used when purchased with less than 5,000 miles. It's still like new and if I kept it forever, it would be great.
- , Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

Jan 04, 2016 2014 Coachmen Freelander 19CB

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
This RV is the perfect size! We have three children and it is perfect for our family. It is an excellent use of space with the added bonus of no wasted areas. Coachmen did an excellent job putting every square inch to use. I love the awning and the pass through storage is great! Overall this is a great buy!
- , Colorado

Did you find this useful?

Apr 26, 2016 2013 Coachmen Freelander 29QB

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Very comfortable, roomy for 2 people. Bathroom toilet area a bit tight. Great separate shower stall. Never have towed so cannot comment. Handles well on all roads, wind not much of a factor. Easy to set up and breakdown. One downfall is how the electric plug is stationed. Hard to connect in compartment. Set up of the black water second pull handle is very inconvenient.
- , Washington

Did you find this useful?

Apr 12, 2015 2013 Coachmen Freelander 23CB

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
RV handles well. Ford V-10-6.8L engine is very powerful. Was able to pass not only trucks, but also cars on the Grapevine going into LA. Has raised rear queen bed, which greatly increases the storage space in rear. Hate to have to sell, but my health at 84 years has really slowed me down.
- , California

Did you find this useful?

Oct 07, 2017 2013 Coachmen Freelander 19CB

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Love this RV, especially this specific year (2013) and layout! I think what sold me on this RV was the kitchen. Almost all RV’s we ever looked at had a galley style kitchen with just a small pop-up end table to prep food on! It is rare to see this “large” of kitchen in a RV...especially since it’s in one of the smallest Class C RV’s you can buy. We love to cook and there is so much room to do this in this kitchen. I would’ve love to see an oven or even a convection microwave oven, but it wasn’t a deal breaker. We went out an bought a really nice Toaster Oven and carry it in the RV when we need an oven. Seriously, I can’t say enough about the LAYOUT in the 2013 Coachmen Freelander 19cb. The designer was so smart about everything...utilizing every little space in the right way! There is no wasted space in this little RV and to be able to sleep 5 people....WOW!!!! Whomever designed this 2013 RV Layout should win RV Designer of The Year!!! This RV will not disappoint you!
- , California

Did you find this useful?

Feb 10, 2016 2012 Coachmen Freelander 26QB Ford 450

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Used this RV for both long and short family trips for a family of four and sometimes 8. It drives great with plenty of power. The kitchen is functional though slightly cramped. We cooked a lot and baked a lot with many great meals cooked indoors. The AC, heater and refrigerator/freezer work great. This is a great first RV owner unit. Good for vacationing but probably not the best unit for primary residence.
- , California

Did you find this useful?

Feb 06, 2015 2012 Coachmen Freelander 21QB

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
The 2012 Freelander 21QB, actually 24' in length, is a great value for the money. It is a great option for two adults and up to two children. Although it technically sleeps six, that would be a bit crowded. In addition to the rear Queen bed, the dinette converts to a Full size bed (48" x 76"). The overcab bunk has a weight limit of 350 lbs.

PROs: 1) The rear bed is 60" x 80", very spacious for an RV and so much more liveable than the "Short Queen" (60" x 76") that is so common in other models. An added bonus is that standard Queen-size sheets fit perfectly! 2) the fresh water holding tank is 50 gallons, lots bigger than most Class Cs and even some Class As. This means we stay out in remote areas longer without breaking camp. 3) The exterior "basement" storage is huge! Over 100 square feet! We can fit everything we need for a month-long trip in with no problem. Have not seen this much storage in other models. 4) It is very easy to drive and has a good turning radius. 5) The dinette is designed in a circular "lounge" style, which is great for watching TV and relaxing. See related Cons below.

CONs: 1) The factory installed vents are cheap and flimsy. We immediately replaced ours with Fantastic Vents. 2) The window in the coach side entrance door (not the cab) is made of frosted glass, reducing driver visibility. We had ours replaced with clear safety glass and we added a shade for privacy when needed. 3) The table for the dinette is too big for the space. We took it out and just store it for when we might need to use it to convert the dinete into a bed. We use a large tv tray table for indoor dinners and we made our own insert to make the sofa more comfortable. 4) The wardrobe for hanging clothes has two rods that run from the exterior wall to the wardrobe door instead of a single rod running across the top of the wardrobe. A simple modification to make. I notice that Coachmen made this change to later models too. 5) Curved shower door on a track is irritating but functional. Coachmen changed this to a regular swinging door set on the diagonal in later models.

Summary: with a few simple modifications, the 2012 Freelander 21QB is a great combination of compact size and desireable features! I would buy it again.
- , Colorado

Did you find this useful?

Apr 28, 2017 2011 Coachmen Freelander 32BH 450 Ford

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I have loved this RV fits a large family comfortably while still being easy to drive! Love the multiple sleeping areas, many TV's and ton of storage.
Living area has been both roomy and functional. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a spacious class c.
- , Texas

Did you find this useful?

Jul 11, 2016 2011 Coachmen Freelander 21QB

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Easy to drive and park. Good amount of space.
Excellent storage capacity underneath. The queen size bed is comfortable. Good size bathroom with shower doors . The couch is large and can accommodate 4 people at the table. Attractive wood cabinets, microwave, 3 burner stove, crisp cold air
Conditioning in the cab and the coach. Television
With a swing out arm so you can watch it in the bed
above the cab or from the rear bed.
DVD player. Easy to clean, easy to Maintain.
- , Florida

Did you find this useful?

Jan 02, 2015 2010 Coachmen Freelander 21QB

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
I purchased this Coachmen new and it was my first RV purchase after spending several years researching. The RV handles well. Gas economy is good (approx 12 mpg) because I drive slow. I have modified the dinette area because it was not very comfortable and occupied to much space. Overall I am quite happy with the quality of build. After traveling over 30,000 miles so far, most of the time with only my dog, I find it to be everything I had hoped for. I would recommend this RV to anyone wanting to downsize or looking for something economical and easy to drive.
- , Illinois

Did you find this useful?

Apr 19, 2016 2006 Coachmen Freelander 3150SS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
I purchased this new 10 years ago. I thought I'd give a review of how it has held up after four cross country trips, and countless shorter camping adventures.
Long story short, I'm still very happy with my rig. After hearing and reading about so many problems with others rigs of various brands and styles, I braced myself for the worst.
I'm not sure whether I lucked out or Coachmen does offer a quality product, but I've never had an issue with workmanship or quality of the materials used.
I've changed out a few things and modified the interior, but all because I wanted to personalize it.
I would absolutely consider another Coachmen product when and if I ever decide to sell this one.
- , California

Did you find this useful?