Search
Account
Help

Ashburn, VA Change Location

Coachmen Freedom Express RV Reviews by Owners

Average Review Rating

Have you owned one of these? Write a review! Search Coachmen Freedom Express RVs For Sale

Voted Most Helpful Review 2016 Coachmen Freedom Express 31SE

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Very spacious especially with kids! Three kids two adults still have room . A baby pack and play fits great under slide out in bunkhouse bunk. We also had room for a electric baby swing! One of the best bangs for your buck! Great family camper! Pull with a Ram2500 diesel and the weight of the camper is balanced well and the camper does not tell the diesel anything. Beautiful full paint and colors. For the money numerous options Come with it! Impressed with HVAC for the length of unit and one HVAC unit on board. Very pleased recommend to anyone especially with kids!!
- , Delaware

Did you find this useful?

Voted Most Helpful Review 2016 Coachmen Freedom Express 276RKDS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We purchased our trailer one year ago and have had three months of camping in it. We like the layout. It offers a lot of cabinet and wardrobe space compared to many models we looked at. It tows well and looks nice. On our first trip the awning did not retract. Had to play with the switch to get it to work and kept being a problem. Second trip out the refrigerator could not keep up with the heat. This also has been a recurring problem. The dealer has looked at both issues on multiple occasions and have not been able to correct them. The fold out couch has a 3" difference from one cushion to another when opened making it only good for small kids to sleep on. We have had a leak in the coach and they were able to repair it. We had the plumbing under the kitchen sink spring a leak. We have had the furnace fail on our last trip this spring. Some other small issues such as loose panels and sharp edges on the bed platform.
Overall: We like the idea. This trailer is laid out for our camping experience, but find the constant problems make it not worth the $26,000.00 price tag. I would not recommend this manufacturer to anyone.
- , Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

Sep 25, 2017 2018 Coachmen Freedom Express 248RBS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This is the Freedom Express Select (cheaper version of the model).

Likes: tows fantastic! increased axle spacing really helps with tracking and control during windy conditions. Fit and finish all over is great. All appliances worked flawlessly for both dry camping and wet camping. Septic flush worked really well though I used the Rhino septic pipe, fittings, flush elbow, etc. stores in bumper. Lighting is good and plentiful inside and in outside rear storage. Also, love the storage everywhere - inside and out.

Dislikes: Seat back cushions do not make a uniform substrate for use as a bed due to the non-symmetrical design. We found buying an inflatable Coleman bed worked great on top of the cushions.
We don't appreciate the imitation wood pattern paper glued to the luan panels - marrs easily and can actually tear due to a bad scratch or ding. Frames are solid wood and pocket screwed but I doubt the panels will hide wear. Also, the toilet bowl is very, very small! Enough room to have put a larger bowl. The ledge in the bathroom makes no sense but not a problem - just odd 'shelf' with no real use. Though storage everywhere is plentiful, you will need to customize for shelves and dividers or use tote bins as doors don't cover all storage areas.
Finally, the white LEDs under the awning is stupid - yes - stupid. Even the cheapest competitors use the remote controlled multi-colored awning lights. White attracts bugs whereas amber or amber-red doesn't.

Overall, for $22K we feel this is a great buy and would/will recommend this model and brand. Very happy thus far with our purchase!
- , North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

Mar 21, 2017 2015 Coachmen Freedom Express 23TQX

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This was our first RV we purchase and we loved how much floor space we had inside. It sleeps 7 without putting the table down whiched I loved getting up in the morning and sitting inside with my coffee at the dinner table. My husband loved the fact everything was Powered with power tongue jack along with the AC in summer and the furnace for our fall trips. Anyone with a family with kids would love this RV for all the beds and room it provides. I can honestly say there was nothing we did not like.
I am sad to say my husband suddenly passed away of a heart attack. That is the only reason I am selling my RV.
- , Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

Mar 07, 2017 2015 Coachmen Freedom Express 17SDX

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We have had nothing but problems with this camper trailer. The slide had to be fixed immediately after we purchased it. Then the wiring was messed up so we lost power to the bathroom, hall, and outside. We then had to send it back to the manufacturer because of "bubbles" on BOTH outside walls. They discovered that the slide was still not right and had been leaking, so it too had to be replaced. All of this happened within a couple months of owning the camper!
- , Alabama

Did you find this useful?

Jun 07, 2017 2014 Coachmen Freedom Express 301BLDS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We really love it. We were able to travel anywhere with our 4 wheeler or Harley. We are only selling it because of health reasons. It is in great condition and hate selling it. It has an outside grill so the stove inside has never been used.
- , Maine

Did you find this useful?

Dec 25, 2016 2014 Coachmen Freedom Express 261SE

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I have a 2011 Traverse and it pulled the Trailer without any problems, without any sway on the road or Highway. I was comfortable in the Queen Size bed considering I am over 300 lbs. The Bunk beds are a good size for young children and older ones. I would not get rid of the Trailer, I am very happy with it. But I have leg problems know and can not get in it, or even drive my car. Very pleased the way it handles.
- , Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

May 04, 2017 2013 Coachmen Freedom Express 301BLDS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
The few times we used the trailer we enjoyed it very much. Due to health problems I am no longer able to drive, therefore am not able to use it. The trailer is in excellent condition, comes with a 10 year warranty, 2 2000 Honda Generators with extended gas tank plus many more extras. It is ready for an adventurous person/family who is looking for a home on wheels to enjoy.
- , Florida

Did you find this useful?

Feb 27, 2017 2013 Coachmen Freedom Express 296REDS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
My husband was working hours from home, so we bought the RV as a place to live during the week, coming home on weekends. We found it to be most accommodating for living in, plenty of room, comfortable, large shower, (a must for my 6"+ husband). It is easy to pull, set up and take down. We were very pleased with it.
- , Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

Jul 21, 2017 2012 Coachmen Freedom Express 237RBS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We love the floor plan: large bathroom, lots of storage inside and out, big kitchen counter w/double sink, comfortable bed. Real oven that bakes great. The refrigerator is awesome and the freezer helps re-freeze our packets for any coolers we take along. The slide-out does NOT have to be extended to move around in the trailer: you can still eat at the table. The bed is a walk-around for easy access. Perfect for a couple or up to 4 people for sleeping. Tows great, electric tongue jack and stabilizers make an easy setup or can be used manually. I have recommended this trailer to other friends.
- , Colorado

Did you find this useful?

Jun 03, 2016 2010 Coachmen Freedom Express 295RLDS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
We bought our Coachman new in 2010 and use it about 40 days per year. Have never had any problems. Easy to tow and we love the floor plan and the quality! Our Coachman has exceeded our expectations. Not sure about newer models since Forest River bought them out.
- , Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

Dec 18, 2014 2009 Coachmen Freedom Express 21QB

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Pros - Great storage!!, Floor plan, very liveable, Easy to drive and park as it is just a little longer that a long bed pickup. No slides to deal with. Easy to install any accessories or additions (I added solar panels.) I will have this coach for a long time as it meets our needs very well.

Cons - Holding tanks monitor is inaccurate. It would be nice to be able to get around the bed to make it, but that is the trade-off for having this floor plan and size.
- , Idaho

Did you find this useful?

May 14, 2015 2008 Coachmen Freedom Express FX 31 IS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
My Wife And I love this RV, Every where we go people want to look in it and ask a lot of questions. We had to take pictures of the inside so when people ask to see it we just show them the book instead of tracking in and out.
- , South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

Jul 15, 2017 2008 Coachmen Freedom Express 31SS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We love this rv. It handled very well. Before we got it, I wouldn't even drive my car on the interstate because the traffic scared me. But this was so fun to drive, before the end of the first summer I was driving on the interstate in this rv. I even pulled our boat or towed our car and went off by myself! This rv was so easy to setup. I would take it and get to the campground, get it all setup myself (including levelling) and then my husband would show up when he got off work and all he had to do was sit down and open his beer! He had it good for sure. We hated to sell it, but life happens and we just couldn't get away like we used to. We feel the Coachmens are very well built and would highly recommend this rv.
- , Ohio

Did you find this useful?

May 27, 2015 2008 Coachmen Freedom Express 26SO

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
This RV has been excellent for local camping or long-distance cross country camping. It is perfect for a young couple with small children or a mature couple looking to explore the U.S. Enjoy!!
- , Idaho

Did you find this useful?