Search
Account

Ashburn, VA Change Location

Winnebago Journey RV Reviews by Owners

Average Review Rating

Have you owned one of these? Write a review! Search Winnebago Journey RVs

Dec 18, 2014 Voted Most Helpful Review 2015 Winnebago Journey 36M

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
This is are second coach. The first coach was replaced through the California Lemon law... And we are still having trouble with this coach. It has been to the dealership they so called fixed the issues. .. And the factory has never once called or checked with us to see how we are doing with the new coach... It's to bad, once they have your money they really don't care any more. ..
- Rudy Hernandez, California

Did you find this useful?

Dec 29, 2014 Voted Most Helpful Review 2013 Winnebago Journey 36M

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Bought this used about 6 months ago. Been out about 6 times, probably spent 5 weeks in it so far in total and driving about 2000 miles some back roads. Getting 9.5 MPG. Very comfortable to drive, just finished Naples to ATL 630 miles in one day. Much better than doing it in a car.

I think the coach is a good value. It is built well and I think the Chassis is a good quality chassis. The house is solidly built. They tried hard to put in quality appliances and features.

The kitchen is very workable and the residential fridge is an amazing convenience. There is no pantry but there is plenty of storage within easy reach to serve as a pantry. The hood vent actually exhausted the air not just blow it back out the top. The washer and dryer work well and we find them very convenient. The washer is very quite and uses very little water, but it is not on the inverter.

The full wall slide really opens up the coach bay making the hall at the bath nice and roomy.

The Maxum chassis provides a basement that gives this coach the storage of a regular 40 but with better access. Storage inside is equally impressive It also has a true 10000 lb towing capacity. Some coaches require you to reduce your payload to tow a full 10K, this one does not.

It comes with a whopping 660 amp hours consisting of 6 AGM batteries, no cutting corners there. No maintenance easy to own, expensive to replace but LiFEPo4 will probably be available by the time these wear out. It has a neat power management system that used the massive 2800 watt inverter to make being on 30 amp or even on 15 amp much more workable. It also comes with an automatic A/C source switch to switch from grid or generator power that includes good surge protection.

We prefer the sliding windows that open very wide to the new "frameless" that only flip out on the 2014 and later coaches.

The lighting is pretty amazing on the inside. Lights everywhere.

The two exhaust fans can really move the air.

My wife loves the MCD shades.

The roof is very cleaning organized and I was able to install 12 big solar panels for a whopping 1200 watts of solar to charge all those batteries.

Now for the nits and they really don't detract from much from our pleasure in owning it.

It does not come with good battery monitoring, and you will want to upgrade your inverter remote, they put in the cheapest one.

We have the digital comfort rest mattress which is a full queen, but we don't find it all that good. Probably will get a 3" memory foam topper.

The kitchen sink is set a little deep to be used from straight on but ok from the corner.

The dryer is pretty noisy but it works quite well.

I would like another cup holder for the driver.

The IPOD interface on the dash is junk, they should have just provided a cable.
It also doesn't have a 1/4 headphone jack for input, it does have USB.

We are not big TV watchers and that is good because none of the TV's are easy to view except the lounge from the dinette and only for two people.

You really can not use the bedroom without the closet slide out.

I think the passenger side basement doors are way to big, they. Should have made the water tank door separate. They really catch the wind and swing way out.

The A/Cs are zoned but they both use the same duct work so you can't really cool just the back or the front with out closing the vents (easy) and blocking the returns (hard). This may be common in many coaches.

The outlet we use the most ( for our laptops) at the dinette is not on the inverter, this should be easy to fix.

The bed room door, which we never use anyway, is hard to use.


- Ed Soniat, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

Nov 01, 2016 2017 Winnebago Journey 36M

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Bought the 36M 9/1/16, had it delivered home and immediately called dealership that we did not want the coach due to defects - laundry list. It seems dealer did nothing more than touch up inside and not check out any systems. Called Winnebago customer service twice and never to a call back. Unit had several defects from the factory. Their 113 point check did not cover everything, or they missed a couple. This is my second Winnebago which we had for 10 years. Not sure I will ever buy another, unless they get their act together.
- Richard Geil, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

May 17, 2016 2013 Winnebago Journey 42E

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
We have had our Journey for 3 years and have been so totally dissatisfied that we had to sue for the Texas Lemon Law (and won). Customer service is horrible from Winnebago and the dealer. The first year it was in for repairs 6 mos out of 12. Almost every time we take a trip something breaks down. The entertainment center has never worked properly (our last trip went two weeks with no Satellite, Cable or DVD, several repairs on slides (still not fixed), electric control system went, and on and on and on. The only thing positive I can say about it is that it does handle well and the floor plan is excellent. We just traded it for an Entegra (very high reviews)and waited so long because we could not find a floor plan we liked as much. We go to several rally's including the Winnebago in Iowa and have not talked to one couple that had anything positive to say about their Winnebago coaches. We just returned from an Entegra rally and did not hear of one unhappy owner. This was the main reason we decided to finally make the trade, losing approx. $100,000 plus all the interest that has been paid to do it.
- Marvin , Texas

Did you find this useful?

Apr 21, 2016 2013 Winnebago Journey 40U

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
I recommend this motor home as it is beautiful, functional, easy driving and a joy to live in. The storage units are easy to get to and easy to load. We have had the motor home for 2 years and found we didn't ever feel cramped. I know that anyone who buys this motor home will be as happy as we have been.
- Roma Chabot,

Did you find this useful?

Nov 08, 2014 2010 Winnebago Journey 34Y

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Having owned for four years, I have no complaints. The only issues were those caused by me as a Newbee to RVs. Motor has plenty of power to drive and tow a four door F150. Most trips, I towed the Ford and averaged 8.5 to 10 mpg while cruising at 68 mph. Last 2300 mile trip I averaged 9.6 mpg. My wife loves the full sized bath and shower. The four door refrigerator with icemaker keeps everything cold and fresh. Actually, all of the appliances are on par with my home or better! With the hydraulic leveling system I can be set up in about 10 minutes and be ready to hit the road in about the same time. There is plenty of room for extended stays without feeling cramped. The full wall slide along with the other two slides really makes the unit roomy. There is enough on board water and waste water storage for a week of dry camping. The Diesel generator when needed sips fuel and is muffled quite well. I don't think you would be disappointed with this model.
- Ron Ewasiuk, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

Jun 11, 2016 2008 Winnebago Journey 39Z

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Winnebago\'s best floor plan. This coach is a great coach for full time motorhome life and also a great coach to travel in with the sides in. It handles the Rocky Mountain\'s with a tow vehicle with no problem.
- Patrick Gordon, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

Aug 11, 2016 2006 Winnebago Journey 39K

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Too many things break easily. Chassis service from Freightliner is terrible. They needed a week to diognose non working wipers and were not willing to keep my tow dolly on premises. Double door fridge works when it wants. Jacks wont retract and have to be beaten in with a hammer. Slides tear up floor in living room.door latch jammed locked and fell apart. Door awning blew off on freeway while stowed. Wall mounted living room lights fell off wall driving. Water heater dont work at all.most blinds jammed or have fallen down. Im replacing all with venetian blinds that work. Back up camera is too brite and can barely see. Its adjusted to darkest setting. One side passing camera dont work at all. Bought brand new,single 60 yr old owner,8,000 miles.

Also own 2000 Allegro. Everything works as intended without a single problem.

My first and last Winn / Freightliner.
- ROGER GARRISON, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

Dec 16, 2014 2005 Winnebago Journey 36G

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
My first diesel motorhome. Previous gas model was a 1988 Winnebago 30ft. I bought the Winnebago diesel based on my experience with the 1988. So far I have been very pleased with it. I tow a 2004 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon and the rig doesn't even know it's there. It's also much more comfortable to drive than the '88. Course being much heavier, longer and newer makes a lot of difference. Parts are still available which is a bif plus. The only big item I don't like is the headlights. They put out very little light even with halogen bulbs. The light pattern is terrible. I may eventually put on some auxiliary driving lights, or, just stop earlier in the evening so I don't have to drive at night. Over all I would would rate the rig a 7 out of 10.
- Rick, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

May 29, 2015 2004 Winnebago Journey 39K

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
This motor home is tops for livability and quality. The opposing slides in the living room and the bedroom slide makes it like a small apartment -- LOTS of "Living" room. The convection microwave bakes better than my large convection micro at home. Our MoHo has a 7.5 Onan genset as well as a small solar panel. It would be very easy to upgrade to a larger solar system; then one could boondock anywhere. The heat pump ac is very economical and provides heat and ac through the floor vents - just like a house. The separate toilet room is a bonus. The shower is a little on the small side. Overall we are VERY impressed with the unit and if we purchased again, Winnebago would be at the top of our list.
- Victoria Napora, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

Dec 17, 2014 2004 Winnebago Journey 39K

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Owned for 2 years, had engine fire caused by failed part. Currently living in. Roof appears to have some de-lamination going on. No leaks.
- Jeff Phnney , California

Did you find this useful?

Dec 29, 2014 2003 Winnebago Journey 34T

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Bought with 33,000 miles, have put almost 5000 on it since 5/14. Love it! Mechanically sound, some house rattles, all expected. Had A/C (control board) and Battery (just too old) issues, all expected, This is a great coach and a great value! Fuel mileage has been better than our old travel trailer and pick up combination, though the diesel is more expensive. We tow a Jeep Wrangler. Does very well in the Mountains, both up and down.
- C Moore, West Virginia

Did you find this useful?

May 16, 2016 2000 Winnebago Journey 34B

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
When looking for our first RV we wanted a motor home that would last plus: Diesel fuel, lots of storage both inside the RV and basement; ease with dumping and cleaning up afterwards; low maintenance; lots of room to entertain friends; ease of driving the RV; a quality made motor home, and a place we could call our home on the road. After looking at several different styles of RVs, we found the Winnebago Journey had what we were looking for. Can still remember our first test drive…the dealer took us to an open area off the freeway and said to me “It’s your turn to test drive now”. As a female, only driven our van, I was a little intimidated to drive this monster. But, found it was not intimidating at all…in fact found it perfect, easy to turn and drive. And…since then have helped my husband to drive when traveling. With the Diesel pusher, going up mountains was a breeze and found us passing trucks and cars as if we were driving on a flat highway. The Winnebago name is known for their quality and found this RV we meet all our expectations. We always felt secure in our home on wheels and loved our home we called “’baby”.
- Evelyn, Illinois

Did you find this useful?