Search
Account

Ashburn, VA Change Location

Winnebago Era RV Reviews by Owners

Average Review Rating

Have you owned one of these? Write a review! Search Winnebago Era RVs

Jun 30, 2016 Voted Most Helpful Review 2016 Winnebago Era 170X

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
I purchased this unit in Aug 2015. Two days later the generator stopped working. Back to the dealer. Repaired it and two hours later it stopped again. Back to the dealer. Two weeks later the battery/alt light came on. Back to the dealer and MB shop. Melted battery cover due to poor workmanship by Winnebago. Sink fell out of the galley sink. Electrical had to be rewired at the fuse box since Winnebago miss wired it at the factory. 3 LED inside lights failed and had to be replaced. I was never told to load my unit and have the front end realigned. It cost me $750.00 to repair (2 tires and alignment) after only 7700 miles. Called Winnebago after sending them 3 emails (which they never answered). They told me the dealer needs to make all repairs since it left the factory. I love the Sprinter Diesel and it gets over 18 mpg. Cabinet drawer had to be repaired since the factory failed to secure it before shipping. The propane valve was the major problem for the appliances not working properly (generator, stove, furnace and refrigerator). I have never heard of so many issues/problems from a major manufacturer like Winnebago. My unit spent more time at the dealership for repairs the first 7 months than I had it on the road.
- Paul Wadley, California

Did you find this useful?

Jun 05, 2015 Voted Most Helpful Review 2014 Winnebago Era 170XL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
The diesel sprinter is fun and easy to drive but can feel top heavy and requires attention when driving in windy conditions. I had to de rattle the van at first and adjust or secure various accessories due to sloppy manufacture. Once the bugs are corrected all systems such as the refrigerator , ac and or the generator work great and are the same units used by many other manufacturers . Very roomy B van but also adds to its long 24 ft. Length which can cause some parking issues. A good value for the buck because you still get the dependable Mercedes sprinter chasis.
- John Kent, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

Feb 22, 2017 2017 Winnebago Era 170X

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Picked up our 2017 Era in October 2016. Immediately took it on a 200+ mile trip, and the next week on a 1,400 mile trip.

Drives like a much smaller vehicle. Good power and gas mileage. We like the chassis. Have MB Sprinter techs & service bays in our home town of Des Moines.

Would have preferred better coach build quality control, but like the up-to-date systems. Missed out on the larger 9" Infotainment System, though.

Would NOT purchase the accessory wardrobe cabinet again -- very poor quality.

Also would prefer positive locking upper cabinet latches.

Compared to LTV, Pleasureway, Airstream, Roadtrek adn Hymer. Chose the Era for systems, layout, price and overall value, although Canadian build quality is better.

Two people, two Labradors, and we all fit without bloodshed!
- Michael Morse, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

Mar 24, 2017 2016 Winnebago Era 70C

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
2016 Winnebago ERA 70c. 6500 miles. This is our second Class B, the first being a Roadtrek SS Agile. We looked at many of the popular Sprinter based B vans, driving and spending hours debating features. We are over 65 and look for features that make touring and camping easier and more fun. Hands down, the larger more functional dry bath and additional space provided by the slide out made the decision easier. After living with the 70c for a while, we are convinced it was the right decision for us. We are both amazed at the interior room. Most of its systems work well. We've had a few small issues and one larger problem. I'm good at fixing things and went right to work taking care of the small things, adjusting cabinet and drawer latches, adding a paper towel holder, fixed rattling screens, added a soap/shampoo dispenser in the shower, shelf paper in cabinets, repaired nonworking LED light over the sink, precision balanced the tires, removed the long vertical pole near the sliding door, added a slightly larger tv, added a folding cup holder near the couch, bought a 1.5" memory foam topper for the bed (stored in the rear storage area), and bought nice gray mats for the front. The only semi major issue was a sometimes faulty power transfer switch. Our local dealers are mostly clueless so I ordered a new switch ($111.),found where it was hidden behind the circuit breaker box,and replaced it myself. I like a really smooth ride at 72 mph. It seems it's hard to get the dual wheels to balance smoothly. I had our best tire company forgo the stick on weights and use the regular knock on weights. They are finally running smooth. We average around 17.5 mpg. Our best has been 22.4 mpg and worst has been 16 mpg. Our final debate was between the 70a and the 70c. The larger dry bath and extra space was the final decision point. We are not large people, 5' 10" and 5'3", normal weight. The bed is comfortable and resonable for our size. If you are much taller or heavy, the 70a might be a better choice. Good luck and happy RVing.
- Jim Griffin, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

Nov 19, 2016 2015 Winnebago Era 170A

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Drives nice. Easy to get around in. Because of health issues we haven't used it as much as we thought we would. It is the ideal size for traveling,gets about 17 miles per gallon which is far better than the bigger models.
- Joyce Taylor, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

Oct 18, 2016 2013 Winnebago Era 70A

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This is a fantastic Class B RV for someone that does not want the hassle of a large vehicle. Comfortable for 1 or 2 people, with a great use of space. Very good diesel gas mileage but still has all the needed amenities. Would highly recommend this vehicle.
- Scott , Arizona

Did you find this useful?

Dec 15, 2014 2013 Winnebago Era 170A

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
I had some "debugging" problems initially which annoyed me greatly but I have been assured by other RV owners that my problems were not unusual.
Since that time I have really been happy. It drives wonderfully. The exterior is a little bigger than I would prefer but I wouldn't want the interior any smaller. So, I guess it is about as perfect as one can expect.
- Roy Barr, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

May 28, 2015 2012 Winnebago Era BM 170X

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
It drives like a dream and gets an honest 20mpg when cruising at 65-70mph...it drops to 17.5 when cruising at 75+. Its comfortable on the road and very easy to drive, park etc.

The size is perfect; it can be used like an auto but has space for two to live in comfortably with all of the amenities of home.

A little more closet space would be nice--but a luggage rack fits into the trailer hitch and provides extra storage.
- Terry Layne, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

Jan 09, 2017 2012 Winnebago Era 170X

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Very easy to drive in tight situations...the heaviest of traffic...especially after adding the air bag and compressor system. It now has a minimum of "rocking" from side wind and uneven surfaces. Removing the two passenger seats and replacing with cabinetry gives us plenty of storage. We will stay with the Sprinter platform in future purchases. Boondocking much more feasible with upgrading the battery and solar charging system.
- Sam Stewart, South Dakota

Did you find this useful?