Search
Account
Help

Ashburn, VA Change Location

Thor Motor Coach Palazzo RV Reviews by Owners

Average Review Rating

Have you owned one of these? Write a review! Search Thor Motor Coach Palazzo RVs

Voted Most Helpful Review 2016 Thor Motor Coach Palazzo 36.1

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
We have owned our 2016 Thor Palazzo 36.1 for just over a year now, putting around 9,000 miles on her and besides the few minor things coming out of the factory it has been a wonderful coach. It's Thor's entry level diesel and yet has great fit and finish and lots of wonderful features from the full body paint to the drop down bunk. It will sleep 8 people, has three TVs and two heads, a full length slide and LED lighted awning. The frig is hugh and there is tons of storage space everywhere.

I may upgrade the flooring from vinyl to wood, but that's about all. She's rides so smooth and quite with plenty of power even in the Rocky Mountains.

Thor has been good to work with on the few warranty items we encountered along the way. I would definitely recommend this coach to my friends.
- , Colorado

Did you find this useful?

Voted Most Helpful Review 2016 Thor Motor Coach Palazzo 33.3

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Buyer beware. You better buy your coach locally. Thor allows the service centers to openly discriminate against you if you did not buy from them. So it could take a year before they will work on you coach!!
- , California

Did you find this useful?

Aug 17, 2016 2015 Thor Motor Coach Palazzo 33 2

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Thor motor coach is does not honor there warranty i bought this brand new motor home bring to the dealer 2 times so far the first time it took them two weeks to do nothing the second time was May 26 picked it up August 15 nothing is done Thor is all lies and nothing done.Now want me to bring it back in on September 28 so they can work on it for another month.

Then it will be winter and nothing will have been done.The reason I bought this thing was to take my wife a few vacation because she has cancer you think Thor cares about anything other than their own pockets no you\'re the sucker you bought it that\'s all I got out of them so far.
- , Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

Sep 08, 2016 2015 Thor Motor Coach Palazzo 33 2

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Thor motor coach is does not honor there warranty. I bought this brand new motor home bring it to the dealer 2 times so far the first time it took them two weeks to do nothing the second time. I dropped it May 26 picked it up August 15 nothing is done it is in worse shape now then I bring it in I called the dealer at least 20 time Thor 20 times to see why it was not done all they said waiting for parts. What that meant was Thor was not sending the parts to fix it. Thor is all lies and nothing gets done. Now want me to bring it back in on September 28 so they can work on it for another month.
Then it will be winter and nothing will have been done by that time it will be out of warranty. The reason I bought this thing was to take my wife a few vacation because she has stage 4 cancer you think Thor cares about anything other than their own pockets. no you're the sucker you bought it that's all I got out of them so far.
- , Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

May 09, 2017 2014 Thor Motor Coach Palazzo 36.1

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Great class A rv owned for 2 years, great on fuel economy, plenty of power to pull a vehicle or I pulled a 27foot cargo trailer, sleeps many people pleasant to drive, just wish I had more time to enjoy it.
- , Illinois

Did you find this useful?

Jul 19, 2016 2014 Thor Motor Coach Palazzo 36.1

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
I purchased a Thor motor coach in December 2014, I went take it out on my first trip and it was dead. I took it in to have it fixed four months later they say it is fixed. Went to take it out on a trip, coach was dead again. Took it back into shop three months later they say it is fixed. Guess what went to take it out it was dead again. This has happened five times and has been in the shop fifteen of the eighteen months that I have owned it. I have contacted Thor through email and phone calls. I have been passed off to three different service reps, and have been told that they are authorized to fix my problem and they have yet to fix my problem. When I asked to speak to their supervisor they all have told me that they can not do that because their supervisor has authorized them to fix the problem, but they have not. They continually give me the run around while my coach still sits in the shop, where it has been for fifteen months. All I need now is someone to give the authorization for new batteries so they can run tests. Three sets of batteries have exploded and they need new ones to test the system, they want me to buy the batteries, what a joke. If I was you I would stay as far away from Thor Motor coach as I could they in no way represent the word customer service or satisfaction. Once they make the sale they could care less.
- , Texas

Did you find this useful?

Nov 28, 2016 2014 Thor Motor Coach Palazzo 33.3 Bunkhouse

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
You Only Live Once! YOLO! That is hat we have named our 2014 Palazzo. We have travelled nearly 30,000 miles in YOLO since we bought it new in late 2013. San Diego to Key West. New Orleans to Mount Rushmore. 43 states and countless campgrounds and we LOVE this rig. Sure there have been some minor issues even a couple major ones, but overall our experience has been excellent.

The rig sleeps 6 comfortably and could sleep more if the people are small enough. We also have upgraded the couch (was strangely uncomfortable) to a dual recliner couch by the same manufacturer as made the original sleeper couch (useless). Several other minor upgrades such as a stabilizer fro the steering wheel ( helps in high winds and with big-rigs passing) and an upgraded mattress fro the drop down over cab bed have made this rig our home on the road.

We travel with our dog who gets confined to the back bedroom while driving for safety but the automatic generator start keeps us feeling like he is safe when we need to leave him in the rig for extended periods. The AC will kick on as needed with shore power but if that were to fail for whatever reason, the auto generated start will kick on at a given temperature and run the AC as needed. HUGE plus for us!

Highy recommend this rig!
- , Colorado

Did you find this useful?

Aug 07, 2016 2014 Thor Motor Coach Palazzo 33.2

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
THOR HIDES BEHIND A 1year My NEW 18 month old motor home had the fabric coming apart on the seats and now all chairs and seats will have to be recovered,after 2 letters and pictures I was told by Thor too f...ing bad we only guarantee it for 1year Someone needs to start a class action.I now have a 29 month class A Thor with seats that look 20 years old.
- , Florida

Did you find this useful?

Jun 24, 2015 2014 Thor Motor Coach Palazzo 33.2

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
I purchased 2014 Palazo 33.2 from Camping world in Woodstock, GA in April, 2014.

On the way home after the purchase contract I noticed that the dash AC was not working.

In 2 weeks after I brought this RV I noticed that the quality on the RV was trash level.

Water leaked from the bottom of the both front window, main slide out not working, insect came through from the bottom of 2nd slide out, marble top was cracked, a group of mice came into Rv and damaged wires in the oven and messed up so many things. Bad smell came through every power swith plate on the wall because they did not seal the wire holes and abs pipe hole correctly from the black water tank on the floor.

Plenty water was leaking from the top of windshield in 2 weeks after I purchased this coach because they did not install the windshield right. I do not know about the other Palazzos but however mine was incompleted RV when I purchased. I still have the main slide out problem, cracked marvel top and black water leaking problem after 14 months since I purchased this RV. A lot of parts and hardwares they used for this RV are $.99 to $9.99.
- , Georgia

Did you find this useful?

Sep 20, 2016 2013 Thor Motor Coach Palazzo 37.1

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Coach has been nothing but trouble since day one, roof paint was flaking off, bunk would come down while driving, storage area in rear bath would not stay shut, had to get dealership and the NTSB involved before they would fix it. Recently I had to have a third rail put in for the large slide,replace the motor, replace the fuel pump in generator, step control module and replace the exhaust pipe on generator and now I have a small water leak some close to water supply access
Now I am told the rig is only worth $80,000 on a trade, $40,000 less than what is owed on it. DO NOT BUY THOR
- , Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

Feb 19, 2017 2013 Thor Motor Coach Palazzo 36.1

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We bought our Palazzo 36.1 at the Tampa Super Show in January 2013, and from the day we drove it off the RV lot problems with the super slide out began. We stopped on the way home from buying it at a rest stop and registered a complaint about the loud and constant rubbing noise the super slide was making. We could not hear the radio or talk it was so loud. After four attempted repairs and a collapse of the super slide, we finally got a lawyer. We have been in a legal battle with Thor ever since. Because of the industrywide problems with the inability of the track system to handle the weight of the slide out, repairs only hold on our coach for approximately 20-30 expansions. For this reason we have had only minimal use of a coach we had planned to travel extensively in during our retirement. Because of the problems with the super slide, dealers do not want to take them in trade and if they do, they offer only half of what they should be worth. The double tracks chew up and slip. Repairs take anywhere between two weeks and a month. We would not settle, lost in court and are now appealing. Thor blamed us and claimed we made the slide out go out of time (not possible) by not pushing the button correctly even though we were trained on every aspect of the coach, or they claimed maybe we bumped it against something (which never happened). There are no dents or blemishes on the outside. They have retrofitted some of the 2014 models with a third track to help hold the weight, but some of the earlier models, like ours have not or cannot be retrofitted with a reinforcing track. We wish there had been a class action suit but in Florida the laws are strongly on the side of the manufacturer. Others we know of in other states who have taken Thor to task have settled out of court but have had to sign a non-disclosure agreement. For that reason none of their problems or the complaints online about this problem could be offered in evidence. We were on our own but there is now a court action on record if you need to use it. Johnson vs Thor Motor Coach.
- , Florida

Did you find this useful?

Jun 04, 2017 2013 Thor Motor Coach Palazzo 36.1

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Second owner. Nothing but trouble. Large slide has left us stranded twice now unable to open. Chassis ac blowing hot air, repaired once now needing again. Front air conditioner constantly throwing breaker making clunking noise, very loud. Waiting to return to dealer to repair issues. Not reliable.
- , Florida

Did you find this useful?

Mar 12, 2015 2013 Thor Motor Coach Palazzo 33.3

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Although we had a marvelous time in this well-equipped Class A diesel pusher, as I approach 80 years young, my Doctor son tells me it’s simply time to sell. We added every option offered plus some.

So, if you have a bunch of kids or group of adventuresome adults that wish to travel in comfort and with plenty of great sleeping areas then a Palazzo is the right diesel pusher motor home for you. It’s simply the best floor plan; the best designed motor home for crating around a large family or showing young folks this great nation.

Travels
This chocolate and black full body painted rig which we purchased new, about 18 months, ago has served us exceptionally well. We have traveled extensively with one or two of our four married kids and those great grandkids. During that time we toured and camped in National Parks in Montana, Wyoming, Colorado, Utah, California, and Washington, Oregon and toured Washington D.C. and camped at various campgrounds in Michigan, Ohio, and Florida.

This past fall my wife and I spent over two months retracing the Lewis & Clark Expedition. Captain Meriwether Lewis started this greatest of adventures by launching his keel boat in Pittsburgh on August 31, 1803. Exactly, 211 years to the day later we started from that very same location and 65 days later we stood, hopefully, on the exact same spot when Captains Lewis & Clark stood along with one woman and the men of the Corp of Discovery and viewed the Pacific Ocean for the very first time; binding this great nation from sea to shining sea. You just got to do this – it’s a great adventure.

Comfort & Convenience
Here’s a general overview with more details below. Has lots of sleeping arrangements and in particular bunk beds that young folks really love. All beds are comfortable and well placed. There are two slide outs, a super large residential refrigerator, microwave/convection, three burner LP stove, lots of counter space and a bathroom with a shower that accommodates our 6’4” sons. The cab area is well equipped with all controls at the driver’s fingertips such as the auto leveling system, generator start, and stop, read outs that tell you everything about the engine and more. The Mercedes Benz, Freightliner chassis, with a 300 HP Cummins diesel engine drives and handles smoothly and easily. The captain’s chair electronically moves every which way and both cab chairs, at the flip of a lever, easily turn to face inward. There are five (5) TV, a sound bar and a Sirius ready radio that is piped throughout the coach. To add to the comfort we found a remote radio controller so you can manage the radio from anywhere; oddly the relatively inexpensive feature was not provided by Thor Motor Coach. The exterior has plenty of storage with one large pass through and a slide tray, compartments for electronics, mechanicals, and the wet bays are easy to manage. One feature I particularly like is the exterior access doors are hinged on the side so you don’t have to crawl under a door to access any bay.


- , Florida

Did you find this useful?

Oct 31, 2015 2013 Thor Motor Coach Palazzo 33.1

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
I own a 2013 Thor Palazzo. I would guess buying from was my first mistake. Buying a Thor product was my second. There is obviously no quality control department. Our lights are filled with foam balls. A fire hazard. The wood is cracked in several places. Don't even pull out a drawer! The debris behind the cabinets is a disgrace. Doors dont line up, holes and screws missing or crooked. A very expensive piece of junk! I Will stand behind Freightliner! Awesome customer service. Our side had water running down the slide gasket into the RV. The windows leak from the top inside window frame.Oddly water trickles down the inside window for days after the rain has stopped. My concern is water pooling inside my walls. I was the second owner (less than 3000) miles on RV. Thor voided the original warranty releasing them from Any repair work. A company that does not stand behind their product is a company to run away from. Their excuse is "we don't know how well the second owner Will take care of the rv" Seriously? The original owner would have the slide fixed under their warranty. Im 100% out of pocket. Thor knows extended warrantys do not cover leaks or windows.
So I can say DON'T BUY A THOR PRODUCT. ... I challenge Thor to do what's right and fix my issues due to poor workmanship and even worse quality control.
- , Texas

Did you find this useful?