Search
Account
Help

Ashburn, VA Change Location

Thor Motor Coach Hurricane RV Reviews by Owners

Average Review Rating

Have you owned one of these? Write a review! Search Thor Motor Coach Hurricane RVs

Voted Most Helpful Review 2017 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 29M

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Motorhome is exactly as we wanted, good mileage, easy to drive, well built. Outside kitchen is really a must and the 32" outside television coupled with the SONY disc player and HDMI set up, we can put our Eagles concert disc in and draw a crowd!
We did have few small items in the beginning, but nothing that I could not fix or THOR could not walk me through. Color camera's L & R and Rear, 4 wheel Disc braking is a big plus and the 2016 transmission 6 speed with overdrive, makes a lot of difference, currently between 9 1/2 to 10 1/2 MPG. I paid for extra coating protection on the exterior of the MH and believe tor not it makes a big difference, I wash it off with my brush extension and mild soap and rinse with a small pump sprayer with water.

As far as major issues, the only one we have had is the entry door seemed to be "wrapped", but THOR has sent a new door to my dealer, they just today got the decals that go on the door and it should be resolved very soon.
- , Georgia

Did you find this useful?

Voted Most Helpful Review 2016 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 35C

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Lousy quality control. Been in shop 9 times for loose wiring in A/C, water heater and slide out. Broken kitchen faucet and rain wipers. Cockpit flooring coming up. Awning broke and replaced. No hookup for satellite and lousy manuals for almost every item in unit. Low drain points not where Thor diagrams show them. Like the floor plan but terrible workmanship. Can see why people are looking at "lemon law" action!
- , Texas

Did you find this useful?

May 18, 2017 2017 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 35C

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We absolutely loved this Motor Coach, only two trips made before husband passed away unexpectedly.

Excellent Condition, no accidents or damage

Sad to sell, it was a couples adventure not a singles, it is a beautiful coach outside TV, we purchased outside grill, will be sold with coach,
- , Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

Feb 26, 2017 2017 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 34F

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This is a solid product. The Hurricane has been around for a long time. The improvements are great. I love the space that the 34F offers. It's a wonderful unit to drive and very comfortable in cold or hot weather. I would recommend.
- , Texas

Did you find this useful?

May 06, 2017 2017 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 29M

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We recently purchased our RV from Camping World in Springfield, MO. We really love it. It has features that our other motorhome didn't have. I am looking for seat covers for the drivers and passenger seats because the cats that we travel with like to scratch the seats. The reason I am writing is that the lock/handle piece on the door to the outside is very loose. Camping world sais that it is supposed to be that way. No motorhome I have ever had was that way. It just doesn't seem right. I think that they might have just told me that so that they wouldn't have to fix it. Can anyone shed some light on this subject? it would be greatly appreciated.
- , Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

Feb 03, 2017 2016 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 34J Bunkhouse

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
The unit has multiple issues, starting with a bad radio, then AC went out, heaters, water, walls peeling off, windshield wiper blades - MGF was so so slow to respond. Been in the shop multiple times, have to drive to certain dealers, causing us major inconvenience. Waiting 2 months now and my unit is still not complete why because hey send the wrong parts. Awning, ladder, stairs, windows....It is a LEMON....You pay over $100k for something you expect it to work.
- , Idaho

Did you find this useful?

Nov 27, 2016 2016 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 34F

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
OK guys first of all nothing is perfect.I have owned 5 new RV's and all have had some problems.

My new Thor 2016 34F Hurricane is a solid but not perfect coach and in my opinion one of the best "bang for your buck" motor homes money can buy.

Furniture very average at best.
Cabinetry good
Layout excellent
Drivetrain is great for gas
Flooring average
Window treatment is crap (added MCD roller shades)
2 AC units not sufficient in Oklahoma heat. I added a 3rd additional 110v
unit that plugs into a separate 15 amp service

Overall I've had minor issues: awning broke. (I fixed it with a $ 100. part from Carefree. No Big deal.) Water leak which was a simple loose fitting. One electric plug quit working so I replaced for $ 20. Pantry with metal baskets a real disaster for my wife, so I removed and built drawers in its place. The couch that folds into a bed was uncomfortable for bed and worse for sitting. I took out couch, replace with a comfortable reclining love seat and a table. Much better. I added Blue Ox front & rear stabilizers, and a true center. Much better handling. fold down bed over front seats needed adjustment. Screw driver & wrench and elbow grease did the trick.

Overall this coach is a winner. People gripe too much about little things. You spend about $ 100k for a motorhome so big deal if you spend another few hundred to make it yours or minor repair.

I'm a real person and I approve this message.
- , Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

Nov 03, 2016 2016 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 29M

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
1st of all, DO NOT BUY THIS MOTORHOME unless you plan on having it sit in shop forever. I found staples under linoleum, panels coming apart, drop down bed comes down cocked, and wont return to original up position without some serious help...worst of all, wipers are poorly designed, they are weak, and motor is weak, and get stuck in the "open position" durring the worst rain storm ca has ever seen. My Awning broke the first time i used it, thor said 'its not covered'... i am extremely dissapointed at myself for being dooped. Dont get me wrong, looks great, drives fine for me, towes OK, but fit and finish is horrible and spent more time in shop than at home with me... i will be hireing lawyer to lemon law it.
- , California

Did you find this useful?

Sep 10, 2015 2015 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 34J

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
I liked all the included options it came with. We get many complements on the looks of it. But there quality is on the lower side. When we picked it up the Awning was broken. They told us not to open it... It got fixed 90 days later. The electric water part of the heater has broken. we did not turn it on with out water in it... The coach heater broke. The molding that goes the length of the RV came unglued. The Bunk bed door was broken, and there was glue all over the flooring . not cleaned up at factory or dealer... Thor you need better quality control. Unless it changes we will not buy another Thor product... Just a little care in a job well done will go a long way to improve quality...
- , Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

Apr 25, 2017 2014 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 35C

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Rig back in shop. it's been in shop more days than I have used it. Door step motor stripped gears and repair shop believes Thor won't warranty it. Am waiting to see if I have to pay $450+ to get my rig back on the road (until the next problems raises it head) I wish I had purchased almost any other brand of rv. Thor units look good but quality control is next to nothing. BEWARE OF THOR.
- , Texas

Did you find this useful?

Dec 15, 2014 2014 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 34E

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
As a first time RVer, the standard options, interior design and color options are what sold me on the 34E. It's very nice, comfortable and extremely easy to drive. Some pros and cons:

Pros - maneuverability, interior layout, standard features, spacious for family of four, very easy to winterize, de-winterize, and cargo space.

Cons - the only cons I have centers around the craftsmanship of the RV which grounded me for a month and a half during warranty repairs. Leaking doggy window, windshield wiper motor went out, cockpit carpet came loose and outside railing above slide-outs separating from the RV.
- , Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

Jan 05, 2016 2014 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 34E

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Have loved it enjoyed every minute of use.
- , South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

Oct 14, 2015 2014 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 34E

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Our Hurricane 34E is an enjoyable motorhome, packed with all the features we were looking for in this size coach.
- , Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

Dec 29, 2014 2014 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 33H

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
it has a quiet drive if everthing is tied down
I like the full body paint
The half bath is nice if you have guest and without
Guest makes a nice storage room
The over cab bed is real nice
I was able to set up directv with tracking
Dish Washer and dryer is a nice feature
- , Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

Dec 17, 2015 2014 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 32N

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
This was my first RV and I got it new so I was told that there might be some issues. Wow, where should I start. First of all the workmanship is very poor. I had only taken it out one time and the two drawers in the kitchen broke because when they were installed the installer used screws that were to large so it split the wood and the tracks came out. Finishing nails are seen all over the wood. Trim pieces around the entire coach is so poorly done. I wish I could post pictures of how bad the look. The front windshield leaked water. The canopy on the slide out ripped. The installer caulked the shower without vacuuming up the wood chips. I wish I could show a picture of how bad it looked with the wood chips and sawdust in the clear caulking. The motorized overhead bunk lowers crooked and is lower on one side by almost 3 inches. The HDMI cable to the rear TV in the bedroom was to short to plug into the TV and when an adapter to extend the cable was put in the HDMI didn't work. Did I mention the hydraulic jack in the front blew up on my first trip out. That was awesome it sprayed fluid all over the camp site. Oh and the AC wasn't working properly when I picked it up. I had to drive it back to be fixed. Those are the mechanical problem with it. As for the design I don't really like the windows, my friends and my parents RV have the sliding split windows that open so you get good air flow, these on the Thor Hurricane only pop out so the air flow is terrible and the room in the back only has one tiny window under the TV, miserable dry camping if you can't run the generator to get the AC to blow air back there. Just to add insult to injury the fold out air bed in the front had a hole in it.

Well it took only three months to get the problems fixed,I finally had to call THOR corporate to complain to get the work moving faster. This RV has been in the shop longer then I have owned it. Dropped it off in early September, the 9th to be exact and just got it back December 17th. What a nightmare if anything else goes wrong, I'm getting a lawyer to help me with a lemon law claim. If your thinking about getting a THOR make sure you check it out carefully or you will be writing a sad review like mine!

Gave Driving and Towing a single star since I have only had it out once.
- , California

Did you find this useful?

May 22, 2016 2014 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 32A

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Bought a new 2014 Thor Hurricane 32A, first time RV buyer. Driving this RV was horrible at best. Every little bump in the road literally shook throughout my body. I felt as though I had to white knuckle it every mile from Virginia to Wyoming. We also had an issue with the windshield wiper motor quitting during the worst rainstorm I've seen in a long time, outside of Texarkana, TX. Customer service was of zero help, as I was either transferred to someone who couldn't help me, or told me to call a different vendor to order the part myself, but they weren't sure exactly what part I needed. In addition, the levelers only worked when they wanted to work, that is, about half the time.
The interior was comfortable, and roomy. Fridge and stove/oven worked well also. Over all, I was very disappointed in this coach, and would not recommend it, based solely on the uncomfortable drivability and terrible customer service.
- , Virginia

Did you find this useful?

Nov 29, 2016 2013 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 34F

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Windshield wipers repaired after 3 trips and over 20 hours of labor. Full wall slide motor crapped out while in the keys with the slide out. Repair guy 200 miles and 3 days away. I had to recruit 8 people from the campground to help me push it in. NEVER buy a full wall slide. Get 4 separate ones at most. Fresh water tank filter clogged sending water inside the rear of the coach. Seat upholstery is disintegrating before my eyes. After two new carbs and another fuel pump the generator appears to be working. Windshield was leaking. A/C units leaking inside. Radio head unit and rear camera would not even power on. Shower door rollers. Curtains in windshield dry rotted. Step motor recall. Ladder recall. I made my first two months of payments before I could use it.
- , Florida

Did you find this useful?

May 16, 2017 2013 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 34E

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We love the bath and a half. Until you have one you don't realize how awesome it is have it. very comfortable on a rainy when you really find out how important comfort is. we have all camped and when storms come in and you stay inside for a few days this is one RV you will appreciate. Drives very well even up into the mountains. Love that its gas as well. outside TV is nice when you don't want to go inside.
- , North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

Mar 20, 2017 2013 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 32A

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I would highly recommend this motor home. It is very easy to drive and maneuver. The hook up and leveling is no problem at all. The interior amenities are very nice and comfortable. The bathroom and shower areas are roomy and there is plenty of storage both inside and out. There is more than enough room for family and friends.
- , California

Did you find this useful?

Feb 17, 2016 2012 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 32A

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
We bought this coach as our first new one in 2013. Most of the time it has been in the dealership waiting to get repaired. Large slide never slid out properly from the day we took delivery. It always slowed on the one end. Booked it in to dealership and they would change a slide motor. Next time they would change the other one. Never worked any better. Has been back in the shop now for 5 months and they say studs might be broken inside wall because it will not close up tight at rear of slide and wall is moving. I bought 7 year extended warranty which covers nothing. and Thor wants nothing to do with it as it is past the 1 year manufacturers warranty. Repair shop estimates $15,000 - $20,000 to cut the wall open and repair at my expense. Totally disgusted with this. Hope it burns!!
- , Alberta

Did you find this useful?

Oct 15, 2016 2011 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 31D

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Turning radius turns on a dime with backup camera I do it by myself,spacious, shower privacy, plenty of storage. only reason selling husband now in electric wheelchair and can't fit down hallway.
- , New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

Nov 21, 2015 2007 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 34B

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
The 2007 Hurricane is a great coach. First, it's got more windows than probably ANY bunk model RV. The windows on the bunks are 4' long! FOUR FEET! No other bunk model has windows that big. The master has 3 windows - 2 on the slide (one on left and right of bed) and one on back of RV, few motorhomes have such a great window on the back. Every side of this RV has windows making for a great view.

All the usual features make this comparable to all other bunk models, 4-5 TVs, OVEN (not all have ovens under the stove top) and a curio cupboard/cabinet that makes extra storage!

Storage under dinette - again, not all have that, and lots of cupboard space in bathroom and 6 drawers and a closet in Master.

This coach has a lot of everything - great storage and great windows - better than most coaches!
- , California

Did you find this useful?

Dec 08, 2015 2005 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 30Q

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
We bought this new. and have traveled close to 60k miles up long grades and over mtns, with zero issues other than tighten screws here and there and regular maintenance this has been the best purchase ever.
- , California

Did you find this useful?

Mar 02, 2017 2005 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 30Q

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Never had any real problems, minor typical overall 68k miles towing 8500lb trailer everywhere never overheated such a great low maintenance entry level coach. Liveabilty only a 4 star as you give up a little with no slides but you gain in towing capacity
- , California

Did you find this useful?

Feb 24, 2017 2004 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 30Q

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This is my 1st class A- it's a chevy workhorse body/chassis. Great motor and transmission. It was "lightly used"- with only 27k miles. I had to put new tires in it, new brake capilers and fix the engine A/C. I've noticed now that the roof will need to be replaced or recoated - most likely I will repair and recoat the rubber roof. It drives well and tows well- gets between 8-10mpg. It requires maintenance all the time- you can't just let them sit. Overall, I'm very pleased with this coach- its an entry level class A RV- I think that Thor was building them better 10-15 years ago compared to now. The great thing is that it sold originally for $75k and I paid only $15k for it 3 years ago. I plan to keep awhile.
- , Florida

Did you find this useful?

May 17, 2016 2002 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 30Q

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
My husband and I very much enjoyed our experience of traveling in our hurricane motor home, giving us the freedom without all the hassle of worrying about finding a place to stay along the way. It was home away from home. We were comfortable with the accommodations nice and roomie , homey, lots of cupboard space and storage. Just the right length, and drives smooth. Is great on gas, have had very little problems sence we purchase it new in 2002. we are the original owners. The only reason I'm selling it is because my husband passed last December 2015. He is the one who did all the up keep on it, and I don't plan on traveling by my self. So i have decided to sell it now. I recommend this home away from home to anyone who enjoys traveling in comfort and convenience. You can still have home cooked meals and sleep in your own bed. and not have to worry about finding a place that accepts pets if you have any. To us it was a no fuss good time, making us happy campers. I'm sure you too will enjoy the journey as much as we did.
- , Florida

Did you find this useful?