Search
Account

Ashburn, VA Change Location

Thor Motor Coach Chateau RV Reviews by Owners

Average Review Rating

Have you owned one of these? Write a review! Search Thor Motor Coach Chateau RVs

Sep 20, 2016 Voted Most Helpful Review 2017 Thor Motor Coach Chateau 24C

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
2017 Thor Chateau Citation- Horrible customer service. Fire in the coach 1st trip with electrical hookup. 12 volt control wired directly to ground from the factory. Missing paint around outside window frame among other places, LP regulator quit working 2nd day, Refrigerator never worked on LP- after dealer installed new control panel still not working I installed a new burner assy and fixed. main door sticking (wrong screws installed)- fixed myself. Outside TV never worked (no power). Back up camera never worked (vertical hold problem) Factory sent new switching assy and still not working. Sent claims to Thor 1 month ago still no reimbursement. Will never buy anything from Thor again.

- Gary, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

Sep 07, 2016 Voted Most Helpful Review 2016 Thor Motor Coach Chateau 31W

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
We purchased this RV in March 2016 and it has been of decent quality. A few small problems I fixed myself at first. Electric on water heater didn't work, ground wire loose. USB charging station wired backwards. A few trips in, the rear camera stopped working do to pinched wire under dash. I ordered a $20 cable and fixed it myself, the dealer said I would have to bring it in and they would look at it in a few weeks then I would probably have to wait a few more weeks for parts, it took me 2 hrs to run the cable myself but it was better than waiting. So far I would say it hasn't been to bad of a motorhome, nice floorplan for a class C. It has a built in litterbox by steps for our cats. Between that, the full size residential fridge, self leveling and tons of storage are the reasons we bought it. We have Camped 13 weekends already this summer and all else has been good.
- Duane R, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

Feb 24, 2017 2017 Thor Motor Coach Chateau 31W

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We decided to sell our 15 year old 33 ft Jayco Designer traver trailer, which we never had a problem with, and move up to a class C RV. We should have kept the Jayco. I have zero issues the the Ford 450 chassis. I have many issues with the part Thor is responsible for. Poor workmanship, engineering and quality. The electrical is a night mirror. Wire running every were inside and underneath. Excess wire is bundled up and ty warped to the chassis. The Seiki TVs are terrible. They won't accept any RV park cable signals. Called Thor and they told me that's the way the TVs are made, you need a cable box to convert the signal. We have been on the road two months and one of the TV has alread quit working. We have had water leaks under the shower. I fixed that. The radio in the bedroom is broke, the radio and back up monitor up front is intermittent, Works when to feels like it. Cold air leaks in around the entrance door. The door is warped. The latch isn't aligned properly making the door hard to open and close. This is also why the door is warped. I tried to adjust it, but no adjustment is possible. The water check valve between the pump and fresh water tank leaks, causing the pump to cycle every few minutes. It also causes the fresh water tank to over fill when hooked up to city water. I would not recommend a Thor RV to an enemy. If you are considering purchasing an RV do your self a favor and stay away from Thor!
- Russ o'Neal, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

Mar 21, 2017 2017 Thor Motor Coach Chateau 24F

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Quite frankly I'm getting concerned with Thor quality. While doing the "walk-thru", the kitchen sink began leaking! Happily, Dave fixed it on the spot! Now it's home & we discovered the roof is leaking!! Water was dripping in through the light fixture onto the bed in the cabover! Now I'm wondering, "what next"? We haven't even finished packing this rig for our first road trip. Currently it's back at the dealership for repairs.
- Peggy Normand, Washington

Did you find this useful?

Nov 15, 2015 2016 Thor Motor Coach Chateau 31W

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Purchased this 2016 31W from camping world of Jacksonville, Florida. My wife and I love the floor plan with the overhead bunk as we travel with our granddaughter. The quality and materials in this coach we found to be above other class C models we had looked at purchasing. So far we are very pleased and satisfied with our Thor 2016 31W. This is a very comfortable driving and handling coach, you don't feel like you're fighting the wheel as you do in several other coaches.
- Barry D., Georgia

Did you find this useful?

Jun 03, 2016 2016 Thor Motor Coach Chateau 31E

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Worst RV ever. This is our 3rd. Over 20 defects. Customer service, horrible. Made excuses for defects and minimized them. Was told, \"That is what a warranty is for,\" and \"Well, you bought a house on wheels.\" We noticed the defects 2 months into ownership when we finally got to use it. Delivery was late. 2 months without RV getting repairs done. Do not buy a Thor. Their \"Certified and Approved\" dealers did not even want to work on it.
- Michele H. , Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

Feb 04, 2017 2015 Thor Motor Coach Chateau 35SF

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I have owned trailers, 5th wheels, class a pushers, and class c's for over 40 years. This is absolutely the worst rv that I have owned. It has been in and out of dealers since new, and back to the factory 4 times, and still not repaired correctly. Workmanship is terrible, quality is terrible, engineering is terrible. Customer service techs, one is good, 5 are lousy when you need their expertise(?). The electrical system is the worst, they can't find the problems with the inverter getting power, the quality and integrity of the cabinetry is terrible. The heating system is poorly designed, if it is cold out, the run to the rear bathroom is useless. I have repeatedly told them about the poor sealing on the slidouts. They do not see a problem, but you can see daylight in many places from inside. In cold weather, cold air comes in from every slide area. The shower leaked water from the drain, took 4 trips to factory repair for them to find the problem. Windows do not stay tight in heavy cross winds. Am rebuilding the cabinet that the fridge is in as the floor is breaking out now. The sliding door track fell out of the ceiling on the first trip. 3 screws held it up along with the door. A couple of trips later, the door itself fell down. We have never taken a trip without problems, and Thor needs to address these problems as the result is lousy resale values. Both the doors on the cab had fingerprints in the paint. My slideout awning came down in the back of the sleeper slideout. They re-attached it at factory, put new screws in at all different angles, never touched up scratches that the bracket caused on slideout. Thor will not allow the purchaser to pick your unit up at the plant. I believe they know that it will be back for repairs the following day. This is absolutely the worst rv that I have ever owned. And as backup, I have a list of other owners of like units, and we all are fed up with the lack of quality and customer response and service from Thor.
- Howard R. Shaw, Delaware

Did you find this useful?

Oct 01, 2015 2015 Thor Motor Coach Chateau 31W

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
We ordered this 2015 31W at the tampa florida RV super show in January 2015. We took delivery on March 28, 2015 here in Fort Myers, Florida. Motor home had 19 warranty issues, We called Thor Motor Coach Factory & we drove it back to the Factory in Elkhart Indiana on June 15th 2015. Spent 5 days at the Warranty department.. Thor fixed everthing & did a great job. We traveled all over the lower half of the united states this summer & had a great time with not one issue. We are already going to jump to a Class A Coach made by Thor. I am very happy with THOR quality.. Every Manufacture has problems, but I can attest THOR went out of their way to take care of the problems & make their customers happy,,,no regrets buying a THOR MOTOR COACH
- ALEX, Florida

Did you find this useful?

Feb 25, 2016 2015 Thor Motor Coach Chateau 31L

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
I drove this baby cross country from NC to CA pulling my Ford Focus on all fours. With winds at 15 to 25 mph and trucks, this baby handled like a charm. I'm very pleased with it. The roominess came in handy when socializing and living in it for 30+ days. I owned a small Minnie Winnie back in the days so this was like travelling in a Rolls Royce, in comfort and in style. I love it! Had no problems with it! I'm glad I purchased this model because the counter space comes in handy. Stay tuned :-)
- Tikari, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

Jun 19, 2015 2015 Thor Motor Coach Chateau 31L

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
I enjoy the amount of counter and walking space with this floor plan. This unit drives very well provided you monitor and keep tire pressure correct for the weight you're carrying; and you balance the load front/back and left/right. The more weight you have in this unit the less it's affected by 18 wheel trucks passing by. As a matter of fact I tow a small car on all fours and the Chateau is very stable while towing it.
- Tikari, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

Dec 15, 2014 2015 Thor Motor Coach Chateau 23U

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Unit was delivered with 23 defects including four leaks (most frustrating), non-retracting electric awning, mis-wired remote door lock, mis-wired and improperly assembled TV antenna, split wood from drawer catches, loose flooring, trim separating, copper propane line rubbing a sharp edge and many others. Probably did not see QC at all.

I repaired all except one defect. Compared to Winnebago, previously owned new, this coach is a quality nightmare.

Dealer wasn't too helpful, but is that a surprise?
- James Paul, Florida

Did you find this useful?

Dec 16, 2014 2014 Thor Motor Coach Chateau 22E

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
A great little coach for the money! Gas mileage only 8 miles to the gallon ( Ford V-10 ).
- Mike Toye, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

Feb 19, 2016 2013 Thor Motor Coach Chateau 31L

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
this has been my 2nd motor home. Love the floor plan, handles very well on super slabs as well as back roads. easy to park and to set up My wife is a big fan of this motor coach It has very good storage on inside and outside good TV placement
- William Kelley, Florida

Did you find this useful?

Jun 04, 2016 2013 Thor Motor Coach Chateau 31L

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
very good flow pattern , good handling ,easy to watch the TV, walk around bed. very good storage outside protection spray

, inside protection spray, spare tire TV in bedroom,good outside storage, color backup camera
- William Kelley, Florida

Did you find this useful?

Jan 11, 2015 2012 Thor Motor Coach Chateau 31F

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
- Charlie Harper, Washington

Did you find this useful?

Aug 23, 2016 2012 Thor Motor Coach Chateau 23U

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Bought unit in 2014 with 13000 miles and took trips north, Oregon, Washington, Idaho and east to Maine and back now mileage is 41000 and I am ready to sell unit. Never had any problems with unit and I found it very comfortable for myself, wife and a small dog, shitzu. Stayed in RV parks most of times, sometime in wall arts lots or Costco.
- Fred, California

Did you find this useful?

Jan 27, 2015 2006 Thor Motor Coach Chateau 31E

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
I loved this motorhome. It was so easy to drive and the fact that it had a drivers and passengers door was a big plus for us. Unfortunately, we just got too old and had to quit driving or we would still own it.
- Ed Smithson, Georgia

Did you find this useful?