Search
Account
Help

Ashburn, VA Change Location

Thor Motor Coach Challenger RV Reviews by Owners

Average Review Rating

Have you owned one of these? Write a review! Search Thor Motor Coach Challenger RVs For Sale

Voted Most Helpful Review 2017 Thor Motor Coach Challenger 37LX

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Where do I begin.....My wife and fell in love with this unit. The dealer we bought if from was great. we ordered it from the factory. a couple of days after it arrived at the dealer we threw a couple bags of clothes and our yorkies into the rig and hit the road. The rig was really squirrelly, all over the road, we had to stay on top of the wheel. I thought it was because of it being top heavy. With less than 2500 miles, we noticed after we leveled it both front tires were worn to the belts. It was too dangerous to drive home, NO WAY. So here we are Thursday during Memorial Weekend with 2 trashed Michelin tires. We finally located some tires, front end alignment and $2800 we were on the road again. My dealer was great, I sent him pictures and he said he'd take care of the situation. Thor was very reluctant to support my claim. My dealer reimbursed us and dealt with Thor. Here are other items, with less than 8 months its been a pain.... while traveling the auto-leveler lights started flashing, OMG.... The stainless steel sinks got rusty.... The bed over the cab drifted sideways and marked up the wall...... Kitchen sink had a gap between it and the counter top The fake wood burner fireplace quit working.... Cab Radio speakers broke..... a lot of little items which I felt should not have come from the factory. Initial quality from the factory was poor. if it wasn't for my dealer, I would have gone nuts. We love the RV life and the 37LX fits our needs perfectly. we got to be ready to take of business of our Thor 37LX.
- , Georgia

Did you find this useful?

Voted Most Helpful Review 2016 Thor Motor Coach Challenger 37TB

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
DO NOT BUY THOR Challenger!!!!!! We have a 2016 and have had nothing but trouble since the day we left the lot. We should have gotten an idea when we only got a half a mile from the lot and had to turn around because the hood popped open. That was just the beginning it has been in the shop more than we have had the chance to camp and every time we do get to go camping we can't enjoy ourselves because something else goes wrong. It is one year old now and still can not get it inspected even after being in the shop 3 times for the check engine light. We sent this motorhome to the shop 3 times just for the windshield wipers not working well we got it out of the shop on Dec. 23, 2016 and left two days later for Nashville. On Dec 31, we are leaving to come home well it rained the entire 11hrs back to South Louisiana and we did NOT have wipers for the 11hr trip. And this is just the short list. Here it is 1yr and 2mths that we own this motorhome and we wake up this morning and the refrigerator is out. We just picked it up from the shop yesterday before leaving for a camping trip. I could go on and on but I think the picture has been painted to let people know this is poor quality and Thor should not be in business.
- , Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

Aug 24, 2017 2016 Thor Motor Coach Challenger 37KT

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Having had other RV's I have to say this is the worst purchase I have ever made. The quality and worka=manship of Thor product is poor to extremely poor. We have had similar problems to others reviews on here. Water system hooked up wrong and caused water damage. Tried to contact them about problems no luck! Large slide over time became crooked causing damage to the overhead decor. Outside panel above tire flew off while driving. The front bed does not work correctly caused damage to our walls. Heater wires are sent out to the slide, causing the Heater to not work when you opened and closed the slides. One big thing to look for when buying an RV make sure it does have gutters. This model does not come with them and the sides are constantly showing streaks from rain and ac runoff. Also, I see others have the same problem of the Jacks showing a warning when driving. Maintenance could not find the problem. Said to just turn it off. WHAT? I tell everyone who says you have a nice looking RV Don't ever buy a Thor!
- , Washington

Did you find this useful?

Mar 18, 2016 2016 Thor Motor Coach Challenger 37KT

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Bought new in September. Take it home and live in it for while to find any problems. Day 1 connect the water and It is set to city water but is filling and overflowing the water tank. Have to live off the water tank. Next day trying out the front lift bed. It goes cock eyed one side extremely lower than the other. Have to call the business where purchased, Sept. 2015 and they said they do not go out that we had to bring it in. We told them we could not drive it. When they finally agreed to come out. they understood why we could not drive it. They repaired it and offer to fix the mark it made on the wall. But it did not matter because the cover, covered it. While he was their he looked at the water system and said that they would have to replace it because it was installed wrong. Went in got it fixed a month later and a few other little things.

Got home a few days later we woke up to the floor being wet by the bed. It was on city water. When I went outside there was water spraying down from the top all over the water compartment. Switch to the tank and everything work find. Camping world said it was the shower drain pan that was leaking. but they could not explain why it only did it when on city water but not on the tank.

Now 3 weeks ago we are heading to Miss from Arizona. Get half way their in Texas and we here a loud banging by the front passenger. Look out the window and the fender above the front passanger tire is peeling off. Had to pull over. luckily it held up with black tape and we were able to continue our journey.

Make it back to Mesa woke up one morning and water was coming out of the front of the bed. Switch off city water and it stopped. We are using a pressure gauge so that is not the problem.

Today left Mesa to head up to Seattle. Get to Bakersfield CA. Everything went great. Set up the levels. Go back to open the slide while looking at the back slide go out. Turn to do the 2 front slides and see that the bed was cockeyed again. I said what. I taught I was on that hidden camera magic show. Called Thor and they are suppose to send someone out in the morning.

6 months now and we have brought it in 4 times for 4 major problems. This will be the fifth major problem bringing it in to get fixed. I agree with the other commentor, before purchasing a Thor product check with people who have purchased them new. Our product was poorly made. We have purchased other Motor homes new and none have had the problems this one has.
- , Arizona

Did you find this useful?

Jun 18, 2017 2016 Thor Motor Coach Challenger 37KT

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I chose to ignore the many bad reviews. Don't make the same mistake. Some of my issues with my My Thor are it drives down the road crooked. Thor won't fix it and Ford won't fix it. My leveling hyraulics come on while driving they tried to fix. Other problems have been my wipers would get tangled, my heat wouldn't work, my drivers seat would turn side to side while driving, the overhead bed would come down crooked, the mattress had to be replaced after month because of sagging and poor quality, my sink leaked in the cabinet below, my shower leaked on the floor, my battery charger wasn't mounted. It was sitting cock eyed on wires, they cell phone charger receptacles were not hooked up, my side window leaked, my kitchen drawers were not aligned correctly. Oh did I mention it doesn't drive straight? When your behind it you can see it DOG WALKS, Thors customer service has spent the last year wasting my time with endless emails and phone calls. Take a look at something else.
- , Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

Jul 07, 2016 2015 Thor Motor Coach Challenger 37TB Bunkhouse

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
If it were not for great warranty support by Thor, this would be a much different review. Thor should now work on their quality and dealer warranty participation. Thor needs to do a better job with QC before the units leave the plant. Then they need to be stricter with dealers that do not want to perform warranty work because the customer did not buy the coach from that dealer. The dealer are creating a \"racket\" network against internet dealers.
- , Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

Jan 19, 2016 2015 Thor Motor Coach Challenger 37LX

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Up Date-BUYER BE WARE,Our Bins that melted have now been replaced and a medtal shild added behind them to protect from exhaust heat. Thermostat for air conditioner was replaced. Bay doors that were rubbing side outs were adjusted. It took 3 months! Other issues since then , When it ranins water comes in throught the vernt for the heater , as the vents face up. The thermal coupler on the propane stove stops working every so often, we have to disasemble and blow it out. We have intergity issues with the floor diredctly in front of the septs as you walk in the coach. It is now squeeking and bowing. It happens to directly overthe cadilitic converter and there is no protection between it and the wood floor. ?? We just recived a recall notice on the automatic steps for a possible bolt fracture. Looks like we will be back in the shop for who nknows how long!
- , Texas

Did you find this useful?

Oct 22, 2015 2015 Thor Motor Coach Challenger 37LX

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
BUYER BEWARE, SAFETY HAZARD, Our brand new 2015 coach almost caught fire. The 2 under ninth compartments next to the entry door melted through and stuck to the content's inside, due to NO heat shield between the plastic compartments and the exhaust. We are 2000 miles from home and stuck for possible 4 to 6 weeks. We called Thor twice to let them know and sent pictures in a email and have not heard a word from them in 2 weeks. Every time we have called Thor and left messages no one has ever called us back. We love our coach but if you have the opportunity don't get the sofa, get recliners instead. Don't expect to dry camp with out running the generator 8 hrs a day due to the refrigerator runs 24/7 and Whirlpool says that's normal. Front air conditioner dose not cut it in summer weather, might consider a 3rd. Love the Titan V10 engine with tow haul feature.
- , Texas

Did you find this useful?

Jun 01, 2016 2015 Thor Motor Coach Challenger 37KT

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
BE AWARE OF BUYING ANY RV FROM THOR!!! We bought our coach and have had nothing but problems since we drove it off the lot. Our first RV. Now less than 2 years old, the wall slide is pulling away from the coach and Thor refuses to repair. The company that makes the wall slide mechanism told me it was because of the incorrect installation by Thor when it was built. The repair is several $$$$ THOUSANDS of dollars and we are stuck with it. This is not covered by the extended warranty because it is poor workmanship at the factory!!!
- , North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

Oct 13, 2016 2015 Thor Motor Coach Challenger 37GT

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We bought this 2015 Thor Challenger GT new at an RV show. We had lots of issues, both big and small. Received very poor service from dealer. After a year and a half, we traded it in on a used 2008 Winnebago Destination 39W. Much happier.
- , Florida

Did you find this useful?

Jul 03, 2016 2015 Thor Motor Coach Challenger 35HT

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
This rv sucks I have had at least 50 issues with this ,I bought it new thinking I would not have to many issues but suprise the dealer ship keeps fixing the problems and each timetheyfix a problem three more come up I would like to just go rving but I can\'t I now can not trust that the rv will work
- , Alberta

Did you find this useful?

Dec 29, 2014 2014 Thor Motor Coach Challenger 37GT

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
The RV is wonderfully appointed and very livable. It has a wet bar, twin sinks in the bathroom, is plumbed for stackable washer and dryer, has a queen sleep number mattress, Wingard sat. dome, has three slides, runs on gas and has saved us a fortune this past year as prices have fallen. The quality control is questionable as there have been a number of warranty claims that have taken quite a while to resolve. Thor's customer service could use some improvement.
- , South Dakota

Did you find this useful?

Jul 20, 2017 2014 Thor Motor Coach Challenger 37DT

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Great coach to live in and travel across country. I decided to experience a change in my life. I worked my whole life and I found out I could work and play at the same time. I had everything at my fingertips.
Once you experience motorhome living you will be hooked.
Take it from me I'm a believer.
- , Nevada

Did you find this useful?

Feb 14, 2016 2013 Thor Motor Coach Challenger 37DT

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Bought new - lowest workmanship quality ever seen. Buyer beware of any Thor product. Got rid of it after 3,000 miles. Before you purchase please talk to a lot of Thor owners who purchased new units. Drive through RV parks and get other owners opinions. I did after the the fact and then it was too late. Do yourself a favor - do some homework!
- , Arkansas

Did you find this useful?