Search
Account

Ashburn, VA Change Location

Monaco Diplomat RV Reviews by Owners

Average Review Rating

Have you owned one of these? Write a review! Search Monaco Diplomat RVs

Jul 16, 2015 Voted Most Helpful Review 2008 Monaco Diplomat 40PDQ

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Monaco is a well built RV. The Diplomat 400 Cummins Turbo is a great engine. I blew away an RV with a 500 Cat. The PDQ floor plan with the two couches make for more sleeping and excellent seating. The ultra-leather is like sitting on butter and holds up very well. Towing 4 down is great, you don't even feel you have something attached. I would not hesitate to purchase another.
- Denise, California

Did you find this useful?

Dec 12, 2015 Voted Most Helpful Review 2005 Monaco Diplomat 40PAQ

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
We purchased this RV as a trade in of a 2007 37 ft. Pace arrow. the Pace arrow did not handle well in wind or rough roads. The Monaco is like driving a Rolls Royce. It has taken us from Seattle to Florida 2X, Seattle to San Diego 2X, Seattle to Kenai, AK where we fished all summer. With the Turbo-400HP and the Alison 6 speed with exhaust brake, we had no problem pull up or down any mountains. All servicing earlier than recommended especially before and trips. Great for small family wanting to see the US.
- Michael Tachell, Washington

Did you find this useful?

Oct 27, 2014 2015 Monaco Diplomat 40PBD

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Very well built with good handling with 8 air bags and 8 shocks. Layout makes this rv very live able with the wall slide and bedroom slide. Good performance loaded get 7.5 mpg and does not know if dingy is in tow.
- Mike Gibbons, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

Oct 29, 2014 2015 Monaco Diplomat 40PBD

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
GREAT RV, QUALITY CONSTRUCTION,GREAT LIVEABILITY,HAS GOOD HANDLING ABILITY WITH 8 AIR BAGS AND 8 SHOCKS. THE CUMMINS 330 UPDATED FACTORY ECM RUNS FANTASTIC. NO REGRETS FOR 7 YEARS.
- Mike Gibbons, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

Oct 07, 2016 2013 Monaco Diplomat 43DFT

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
I purchased this RV new. I spent about one year shopping. This model doesn't require DEF which is an additional cost of $350 a gallon. The 405 HP engine is more than adequate. The ride is great with the 10 air bag suspension. The residential refrigerator, 4 TVs and fireplace make it very nice and comfortable
- Jim Fulkerson, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

Mar 17, 2015 2013 Monaco Diplomat 43DFT

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
We bought this coach in February in Texas we drove it back to Calgary I was very happy how it drives and handles even in high wind.This new Maxxforce Engine is awesome. The millage we got 7.8 average towing my 3500 Cummins truck.Hand calculated. Great floor plan and features great heating and we cannot believe the quaility compared with a higher priced coaches.
We would recommend this motor home to anybody. Ours a 43 RFT Diplomat.
- Ervin, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

Mar 27, 2015 2013 Monaco Diplomat 43 RFT

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
The only thing we are missing is a double or a queen bed in a pullout sofa (it has only a single air mattress). We are very happy with the comfort and also the quality of this unit. We had only minor problems so far. We have a MAXXforce 10 engine I was also surprised how well it pulls and the millage we got.
- Ervin Kuczor, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

May 02, 2016 2011 Monaco Diplomat 43DFT

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Great coach to travel in. lots of storage, residential frig, able to get to the frig & bathroom while going down the road! The ride is awesome in this coach and it's like taking your home on the road! Hate to sale but husband just doesn't want to travel by rving anymore. I'll cry when the big dawg goes!
- Ann Gromer , Nevada

Did you find this useful?

May 14, 2016 2011 Monaco Diplomat 43DFT

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
We bought this RV late 2010 and have absolutely loved it. The ride is so smooth and the floor plan is perfect! We use to haggle over the bathroom with one sink but this RV has a total of 3 sinks. The mid bathroom is perfect going down the road. The frig and bathroom are both accessible while driving. The passenger recliner is awesome! We have worked out all the bugs and now when we travel in it we get to just enjoy the trip! I'm sad to sell but my husbands health no longer warrants us to keep it. We live our big dawg and whoever it goes to will love it as well.
- Ann gromer, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

Dec 16, 2014 2011 Monaco Diplomat 43DFT

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
This is my second Monaco and I would buy another one. Have had several problems with this coach, but Monaco has stood behind their product. No complaints about their customer service. The problems stem from the items used to make the coach such as a/c compressor, Thetford toilet, step motor, water pump, leveling jacks, refrigerator. These have been the major items as well as some minor ones but we still enjoy our Monaco product.
- Mickey Merchant, Florida

Did you find this useful?

Apr 11, 2016 2011 Monaco Diplomat 43DFT

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Very spacious and upscale.Fits 6 people comfortably. Excellent choice. Hard to find below 200k. The 4 wings that open the space makes the bedroom and the living room quite roomy. The bathrooms are adorned with elegant finishes and with a full kitchen and washer and dryer we felt right at home.
- Sergio Gomez, Florida

Did you find this useful?

Feb 05, 2015 2008 Monaco Diplomat 40SKQ

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
I LOVE the layout! Very roomy
- Jane, California

Did you find this useful?

Aug 28, 2016 2007 Monaco Diplomat 40PDQ

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
We have enjoyed our Monaco with its strong construction, very nice riding chassis, and Cummins engine paired with the Allison Transmission. We recently traveled the mountains of Colorado with no lack of power towing our 4 door Jeep Wrangler. This RV has everything you need for extended stays anywhere whether dry camping or at developed campgrounds. The 4 slide outs increase the interior so much that when the family comes along with grandchildren we still have plenty of room.
- Ernie , Indiana

Did you find this useful?

May 11, 2016 2005 Monaco Diplomat 40PDQ

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
I've owned many RV's in the past 50 years. They included pickup campers, bumper pull trailers, a large (45') fifth wheel trailer, and several motor homes.

In 2005 Monaco made many changes to their Diplomat, including a fourth slide (in the 40PDQ model). That opened the interior up and resulted in spacious mobile living quarters.

Monaco's choice of a ROADMASTER chassis, (with 8 airbags and 8 shocks), gives this coach a stable, quiet, comfortable ride. I previously owned another brand (comparable cost) and it rode like a "lumber truck". The way the newer Monacos handle crosswinds is really impressive. (2005 & newer)

One shortcoming of most coaches is a lack of storage. I can honestly say that this coach has more storage that a person knows what to do with! Cabinets everywhere! Many drawers! Under coach storage that most coach owners would "die for".

I've read posts authored by RV experts, and very experienced owners. Every one that I've ever read said something to the effect of, "YOU CAN'T GO WRONG WITH A Diplomat 40PDQ." I agree wholeheartedly!

Note: There is a vast difference between various floor plans and various year models. Prior to year 2005 the ROADMASTER chassis used by Monaco, and other manufacturers, had handling problems. Those chassis models (RR4R) had only four airbags and four shocks. That was insufficient for a coach of 40'. Various remedies and aftermarket cures were attempted, to no avail. Stay clear of any brand or model riding on that chassis. If you will insist on ROADMASTER RR8R Chassis, combined with a Cummins ISL Turbo Diesel and an Allison World Transmission ... You'll be ONE HAPPY CAMPER for years to come!

One last thing: Don't get hung up on horsepower. The ISL350 hp, and the ISL400 hp Cummins Turbo Diesel are basically the same engine. The 400 is simply programmed to drink more fuel, thus the extra horsepower. The 350 gets better gas mileage (diesel mileage). Any authorized Cummins dealer or authorized service center can change the horsepower (either up or down) by reprogramming the fuel controller. A local dealer quoted $170 to reprogram mine but I've heard other quotes of up to $300. My advice? If you buy a 350, leave it alone. Drive it a while and I think you'll find that Allison six speed transmission provides all the power you want, or can use. However, if you're doing a lot of mountain driving while towing ... and you don't object to loosing a mile per gallon ... have it changed to 400 hp. If you do change to 400 and you decide that you made a mistake, no problem ... have it changed back!

Monaco got it right on this high quality coach!!!

- Roger, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

Jun 16, 2015 2005 Monaco Diplomat 40PAQ

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
- Mike Tachell, Washington

Did you find this useful?

Jun 10, 2015 2004 Monaco Diplomat 40DST

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Very nice unit
- Jane rowe, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

Jul 14, 2016 2004 Monaco Diplomat 38PST

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
I bought mine used and it surpasses all of my expectations. Very dependable, easy to drive. The floor plan was well designed. It is easy to set up when you reach your destination. Does a great job flat towing or using a car dolly.
- Brent, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

Dec 21, 2015 2003 Monaco Diplomat 40PDQ

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
my third monaco coach this is one fine coach cant find anything to complain about gets between 9 and 10 mpg
- jim , Kansas

Did you find this useful?

Feb 06, 2015 2001 Monaco Diplomat 40PBD

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
We owned this coach for twelve years, and never had a major problem and would definitely recommend this model to an interested buyer. The Cummins Diesel and the Allison six-speed transmission work flawlessly, and if taken care of should work for years and years to come. This motor-home comes standard with eight air bags which make the ride handling excellent, but I would definitely not replace the front axle Goodyear tires that came as OEM equipment with another set by Goodyear. They do not make a steering axle tire and until we replaced, did have some wandering issues. Once replaced, drivability improved dramatically.
- Jack Morgan, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

Mar 24, 2016 2000 Monaco Diplomat 38D

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Very Nice big beautiful coach. All the comforts of home. Easy to drive and well built. no issues with the coach Very high quality Easy to tow a vehicle, easy to travel for long periods of time. Storage is plentiful and washer and dryer helps keep up small loads not one complaint on our travels in this rig
- John, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

Dec 29, 2014 2000 Monaco Diplomat 36B

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Bought it used and kept it 2 years. Drove like a dream. A little short on power until I added the power chip which made it run great. Plenty of power to tow our 2007 Chevy Trailblazer without even knowing it was back there. Would cruise the interstate without any effort, including a trip out west over the continental divide. Took long trips (1200-2000 mi) and short trips (15 mi) and everything in between. Cummins 5.9 ISB 275 hp (bumped to 335) is one sweet engine when teamed with the Allison MD 3060 6 speed transmission and Roadmaster Chassis. We had a few minor problems, which could be expected with a 14-15 yr old diesel pusher, but nothing serious. Ours was the 36B, which the wife decided was a little small for two large adults and three dogs, but it was big enough to suit me. Every thing worked smoothly and it was simple to set up and break down. Now looking for one just as good, but a little longer.
- Ronald Wright, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

Jan 13, 2015 1999 Monaco Diplomat 38A

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
This Rv is great we have no problems. Brakes good, tires good, everything good with this coach. Clean non smoking coach and no pets have been in it. We are second owner only 56000 miles original! 550000. 2002 Chevy 4x4 4 door tow set truck included!
- Paula doing, Florida

Did you find this useful?