Search
Account

Ashburn, VA Change Location

Keystone Montana High Country RV Reviews by Owners

Average Review Rating

Have you owned one of these? Write a review! Search Keystone Montana High Country RVs

Feb 28, 2017 Voted Most Helpful Review 2017 Keystone Montana High Country 362RD

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We have had numerous problems with this camper. We bought it in Oct 2016. In November we had a storm and it leaked so bad in the bunk room, that I had to put out theee pots to catch the water.
The next problem was the trim on the bedroom cabinets. They are not made of real wood anymore. They are covered by an adhesive backed paper. When the cabinets were made, the person covering them did not take the time to make sure the paper was properly applied. The paper is sticking straight up on the top of the cabinet and there are bubbles all underneath thpaper. I'm sure in a years time, all of it will be peeling.
The next problem, there are two bunks with no way to get on them, other than to climb on the tv cabinet or on top of the recliners. How long would they hold up to kids climbing up on them? Keystone is so cheap that they can't even offer us a ladder.
The next problem, the black and grey water tanks were marked wrong, which caused the first several flushes to be done with the black water. Real nice huh?
Next problem, the freezer does not stay at freezing temp. It takes two days to freeze a tray of ice.
The next problem, two window shades did not work. Dealer did order those, but we had to install them ourselves bc we LIVE in this camper and. Annoy take it in to dealer and leave it for weeks to be fixed.
The next problem, the washer and dryer hookups were put in a cabinet that will not open far enough to put a washer/dryer in it. This was caused by poor design. The cabinet doors will not open due to slide out trim.
The next problem,the door knob on the bedroom door has fallen off three times. Turns out, the screws put in to hold the knob together, do not fit. They are too smalland easily slide in and out of the screw holes.

The awning motor is starting to make a horrible sound as the awning is retracted, like it is in a bind. So, I guess that will be another problem before it's over.
I owned a Montana before this one, a 2005 model. I do not know what has happened since 2005, but the
quality of craftsmanship has declined. Such a shame to ruin their reputation.
- Darrell Church, Florida

Did you find this useful?

Jan 27, 2017 Voted Most Helpful Review 2017 Keystone Montana High Country 362RD

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
My wife and I bought a new 2017 Montana High Country in Oct 2016. We traded in a 2005 Montana fifth wheel. The 2005 was a nice, solid built camper, very comfortable, but we were going to be living in a camper for a while, with 3 pets, so we decided we needed something bigger. Because the 2005 had been a good camper, we trusted Keystone and did not even consider a different brand. BIG MISTAKE!! Keystone quality and service has gone downhill and we will never buy another one. We had the new camper for 4-5 weeks when a storm came thru. My wife got up in the middle of the night and found a big leaking problem from the ceiling in the bunk room. The floor, the couch and the carpet under the couch were all wet. We had to put 3 pots out to catch water. As I stated earlier, we are living in this camper, so taking it in for repairs is not easy. We have to find somewhere to stay that allows pets, and then there's the hassle of packing everything up. Well, it just so happened, we were going to be going home for most of the month of December. So, the local dealership we bought the camper fvan on, told us that would be a good time to bring it in and leave it, that that would give them plenty of time to fix it. There were/are several other issues with the camper as well as the leak, such as, 2 sets of window shades would not work, the trim on the bedroom cabinets, which are apparently not solid wood anymore, but are covered by a wood appearing adhesive paper, did not stick when installed and is peeling up and has bubbles all underneath, the refrigerator was not staying at 32 degrees, therefore taking two days to freeze a tray of ice and keeping food semi frozen, there was a toilet issue in the small bathroom where water leaked around the seal, the black and gray water tanks are mislabeled, so when you drain the black tank, you are really draining the gray tank and vice versa, the bunk beds have no ladder to get up on the beds with. So kids have to climb on the cabinet with the tv on one side or on the recliners on the other side. There are hookups for a washer and dryer in a cabinet in the living room. The problem is, the way the slide out is designed, the cabinet doors will not open all the way, so the only way you could put a washer and dryer in, would be to remove the cabinet doors and then leave them off to be able to get in to them. That would look really nice in your living room, huh?there is also a kitchen cupboard cabinet door that will not fully open for the same reason. We are talking about a $70,000 camper here! We took the camper to the dealership here that we bought it from. Again, they told us it would be ready when we got back in a month. When we picked it up, it was pretty apparent that the only thing they had done, was clean a duct or vent out to fix the leak, however, we again had wet carpet a week later. They did not touch the trim, there still is no ladder, and they told us the parts fir the shades did not come in. However, strangely, the parts came in two days after we picked it up. I will say, it did rain here yesterday and the camper did not leak that time. They are now telling us that we have to bring the. A per back in again, to get it fixed. We called Keystone and told them the problems, and explained we are living in this camper. We asked could they send someone here to work on it or have the dealership where we bought it, send someone. We are only 8 miles from the dealership,
The answer was NO. They could care less that we are inconvenienced by the poor quality of their product. We bought this camper in good faith that Keystone would stand by their product and be there if there were any problems. This is no way to treat loyal customers. I have referred them to friends before because I believed in them. So, take my advice. Look the other way when you are looking for a new camper. There are a lot of other nice campers out there that I am sure, treat their customers like they should be treated. Do your homework. Read up on reviews, and you will see, that I'm only one of many that have had problems with them. It's very sad because the. camper has a lot of appeal.
- Darrell church, Florida

Did you find this useful?

Jun 30, 2016 2016 Keystone Montana High Country 375FL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
The absolute worst FW i have owned. I have had 2 other Montana\'s, an 02 and an 09 and now this POS 16. the wall was pulled apart by the slide, wall beam not welded properly, closet fell apart, recliner broken, roof coming off screws striped,moldings coming loose, sound system is terrible, window shades falling apart,A/C wired wrong,front thermostat runs rear A/C, rear thermostat runs front,shower faucet striped and leaking, I have seen better quality in a $4000 Coleman, but i paid substantially more.
To say i\'m disappointed, would be an under statement.
It\'s So SAD. BEWARE!!!!
- Greg Streeter, South Dakota

Did you find this useful?

Jul 12, 2016 2016 Keystone Montana High Country 374FL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Bought this Montana high country. Upgraded from a small Adirondack fifth wheel. Probably should have kept the old paid off one and dealt with it. We do full time. I travel with work. So it\'s our home on wheels !!! Since week one I have had problems. First the fridge it didn\'t keep cold stayed average 55 degrees and would bump on 33 occasionally but rare. Being wife is diabetic. Her insulin got tossed twice before I invested in a cooler bag to keep it safe. Needless to say complaint after complaint and being told it\'s not made for living in I yanked the junker out and installed a residential fridge. When I pulled it out the floor was molding and rotting investigating further as to why. The drain line was still zip tied to the back pouring water all over the space .... Duh. Well despite my chuckle at the lack of quality control it was thrown in my shed that\'s $4000. Out the window. Fridge works great now 450 Sears outlet. Then round 2. Shower pouring water on floor despite the doors closed. Investigating. Duh !! Door trac in backwards. Hint we drain the water back into the shower. That why one side is solid with no drains in it ... I fixed another blunder from quality control .... 3 gas leak. Haha. Every so often strong gas smell I searched everywhere checked everything. Wha...laa.... One night wifey poo cooking dinner shuts everything off and hours later she wipes down everything and blisters the crap out of her hand on the stove top. She calls me asking why the top is so hot and discolored. I investigate. Remove the top off and a nice blue fame still burning at the port connection. Again. These aren\'t built to live in full time. Hence the word recreational vehicle. I\'m told. So insisting that I take it to my dealer. Hundreds of miles away. As always. I elect to have a service callous. Three times they replace the part. Still leaks so machinery on hand I export the stupid thing closed and kill the leak. Still on the horse for parts that are safe. So this weekend I pack up from the job and roll from Chattanooga Tn to Charlotte NC. Get all cozy and setup. Hah. Top of the trim over the bed laying on the bed. Just decided it was tired I guess and went to bed. I stuck that back up with the trusty nail gun I own just for the pieces falling off .... Hop on in the shower. Ahhhhh refreshing and then shave. Get all done shaving. Feeling good. Get dressed and walk out to the kitchen. To a swimming pool running from under the sink.... I think hum. What\'s this open it up and it\'s flooded. No pipes came undone. So last place I used water. Shower? Shave ? Go in the bath room and low and behold the bottom of the sink. Broken off the bowl. No here\'s what stumps me. The drains are slip joint. Lol they definitely didn\'t slip. It snapped the bottom of the sink slap off the bowl. Now I\'m drying cabinets and walls to keep from snatching cabinetry out and replacing it ... Needless to say. Here\'s my thoughts. I love this stupid thing. Paid a ton for it. It\'s home. But it\'s a pile of s--t. Warranty. HAH get in line if you think for one second your gonna get anywhere on that. Keystone is a joke , I can\'t take my camper to a service center I live in it. Their comments are its not designed to live in. .... Well guess what. A lot of people do. I paid for the Montana package. Heavy duty insulation. Haha. My AC can\'t put a dent in keeping it cool. Improvise. Insulate the windows and black them out. The wiring can\'t handle the packages so trip breakers. Get used to it. The tv cabling. Lol. After I couldn\'t get anything I tore into that monster to find wires not connected. And grounding out so I just ran new ones direct.
The recliner is 6 months old it\'s fit for the dumpster that\'s one on my list to toss. The tv sound system lol I need a hearing aid to hear it. I\'m not hard of hearing though. ...

I give the home a 4 star for design and comfort floor plan. I give the camper as a whole 3 stars. I like it even despite the gremlins. If your not handy or mechanically inclined. Your unit will be sitting at your dealer or other selected service centers. That\'s a promise ....

That\'s 7 months ownership. Many many calls to keystone and others. I bought it off the lot nov 2015. It\'s a 2016 brand spanking new.

I gave up on keystone standing behind their product and lost pretty much any hopes of them fixing anything so I probably voided all my warranties by fixing this piece of junk myself. But I build for a living as a general contractor so I know when my hands get in it its done right !!!! Have a wonderful day. And hope this helps anyone deciding to buy a camper. It\'s a recreational vehicle specifically designed for maybe 4 weekends a month use anymore your abusing the product. As they put it.
- Greg parham, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

Dec 15, 2014 2015 Keystone Montana High Country 305RL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
We bought this unit June, 2014. The level indicators do not represent accurate levels of actual tanks. There is no indicator for fresh water at all. Both a/c units had to be replaced. The L/R unit was draining grease like substance from A/C onto both sides of roof leaving permanent marks on roof. A/C manufacturer said they would not replace roof.
Camping World Tech. said the sliding doors in the bedroom are the wrong ones for the closet. I talked to a rep. from Keystone and she would not try and help me with drawings or what should be on the Montana High Country, Model 305RL.
I have it winterized and covered until I take it to get the new doors, which I think it already has the right doors. But, when covering the camper, I noticed what looks like a screw head under the roof. It has not torn the rubber roof yet, but this is a serious situation.
The refrigerator didn't work on electricity. Problem was it wasn't plugged into a socket. The camper itself is roomy and enjoy it when everything is working.
- Kenny Dail, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

Jan 03, 2016 2015 Keystone Montana High Country 305RL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
When I bought this camper I was so excited that I forgot to really look it over, had problems with the storage doors rubing the LED lights on the awning are falling of we also have had the greasy substance coming out of are back A/C but it cleaned off The inside of the camper is great lots of storage we like the wood window shades only had one minor problem one of the table chairs didn't have the plywood on the bottom but that was an easy fix, We pull this fifth wheel with a 3/4 ton gas engine Chevy .Overall this is a good camper, In your excitement just spend the time to really look it over before taking delivery.
- Thomas, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

Oct 02, 2016 2015 Keystone Montana High Country 293RK

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
2015 293RK. We've had this rig, our first 5th wheel, for a year now. Here's what we endured. Delivered with a crushed front drain pipe and missing undercarriage board. Chalked this up to something was hit when during the delivery trip to the dealer. Not noticed by the dealer. One drawer bottom was cut too short and did not fit into the drawer side channel resulting in collapsing and taking out the drawer below. Shelves in pantry collapsed as they were stapled with THREE staples over a 2 ft span. Also, stapled UP so they easily slid out. Weather stripping in three windows fell out. Shower door handles fell off. 2x4 cross support under the bed was cracked through and buckled. LCI 3.0 auto level has worked four times in a year. Dealer worked on it for days and contacted LCI for advice. Sent us on our way and WE contacted LCI who informed us the dealer never called back and the issue was voltage. Two batteries would not last 3 days dry camping and they died after four months. Short version: Defective converter. Tried to get in to nine dealers and none would see us as we didn't buy it 'there' Duh, we don't live in that state. Lost 14 fender screws as they simply back out. (Hint: put on a nylon nut and they will never comes loose).
Standard equipment is "China Bomb" tires and one exploded at 35 mph exiting the freeway. Took out the fender and steps to the tune of $2700 in damage.
Brochure lists the small couch as a hide a bed, but it's a storage couch only. Note: 2016 model 1.5 ft longer to accommodate the hide a bed. Funny to ask the salesperson "how do I open the bed?" and watch him rip it off the floor. Did know this before we bought.

Keystone customer service is a lot of lip service. "Can't find a dealer to help you? I'll call them and set up an appointment" Only never to call us back. This only happened four times though. $18 LED light fixture went out while on the road with no phone service. Called first chance two weeks later. "sorry, you're out of warranty as of three days ago" NOTE: call the product manufacture....we found the lamps have a three year warranty.
Slam latch doors: left side of both doors would not stay latched. Lock, pull...it's open. Outside of continuous headaches, we enjoy the rig when all is going well...not that often. Would I buy another? Hmmmmmm
- First Time 5th, California

Did you find this useful?

Apr 16, 2017 2014 Keystone Montana High Country 343RL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Pleased with lots of features.to west nicely.good storage good lighting. Poor interior workman ship poor quality control. Most of the coach is likable. The exterior paint is ridiculous and decals poorly done. The paint in 3 years is faded greatly the decals are cracking.we wax help for a shot period. I have owned 3 other rvs 2 new 1 used .I have never seen this type of paint failure. Be careful if you buy
- John Lynch, California

Did you find this useful?

Aug 12, 2015 2014 Keystone Montana High Country 325RL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
We love this RV. We use it in the winter and summer. Ours has an island on wheels so it can be moved out of the way so the grandkids can play. It has lots of room inside and plenty of storage. We are on a 3 month trip and have plenty of room for everything. We tow it with a Dodge Ram 3500 Laramie and it tows like a dream. We do have it serviced at the RV dealer every year. We have had no problems .
- Lindsey Woods, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

May 16, 2016 2013 Keystone Montana High Country 318RE

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Excellent condition. Looks like new. Easy to pull with its light weight. Slides are on cables, easily opens with remote control. Open floor plan with kitchen island and large enclosed bathtub. Montana quality!
- Gary Gray, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

Jun 23, 2015 2013 Keystone Montana High Country 318RE

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Excellent RV 5th wheel. Has 'Helium Technology' which makes it lightweight and easy to tow. Very comfortable living conditions. Large eye level TV, 2 rocker recliners, DR table w/4 chairs, and couch converts to bed w/air mattress that is inflated/deflated being plugged in. Has tinted windows for privacy. Towing with our Ford F-250 we get between 12 and 13 mpg.
- Jim Mazza, Florida

Did you find this useful?

Apr 03, 2016 2011 Keystone Montana High Country 323RL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Bought this 2011 Montana at the end of the model yr. so it is one yr. less used than the model yr. indicates. Have had nothing but trouble with this rv. Air conditioner issues from the start, have had back to dealership eight times for ac issues. Finally installed a new ac, but guess what? Was after warranty ran out, after assuring me if it failed it would be under warranty since it had trouble from day one, it was replaced under the extended warranty I had purchased, dealer who I bought it from, who I took back to eight times, had no memory of the promise they had made to stand behind the original warranty.
Dump valve issues, ran sewage onto to campsite, after telling and having dealership look at the leakage problem three times.
Hot water tank issues. Started smelling wires burning when heater kicked on, found wiring melting at a factory connection, if had been away, rv would probably have burned. Fixed it the correct way myself.
RV is stored in a totally enclosed storage when not in use, we use it about 10 weeks a year, April 1 - October.
I am a maintainence fanatic, decals discoloring on both ends, called Keystone, sorry past 1 yr warranty. Have two leather look recliners sitting side by side. One still looks good, the other is cracking and splitting. Called Keystone, sent pictures they requested of both recliners. Sorry, past 1 yr warranty.
Noticed carpet wet in corner of main slide after a rain, thinking I had a sealing issue with one of the windows close to that corner. Sorry, past the 1 yr warranty, and extended warranty will not cover either per dealer, says it is a maintainence issue. As stated before, rv stays inside when not in use and I personally maintain exceptionally well myself.
Keystone had very good products, but after the Fenech brother sold out their products are substandard. Bought this rv to enjoy during retirement. Spend most of the stays in it repairing the piece of junk.

If I am ever able to afford to get rid of this piece of junk I will never own anything made by Keystone again, and I tell everyone I get a chance to about how sorry Keystone and their products are.
- Steve Saunders, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

Aug 06, 2016 2011 Keystone Montana High Country 323RL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
we bought this RV new and have never had not one problem. everything works just fine. easy to tow and set up due to it\'s light weight. Everything is push button.It is well suited for full time camping in any location.It has plenty of capacity such as holding tanks, propane etc.
with all kind of storage. The fire place is just fine in cold weather and the a/c is all we need even though it has a place for the 2nd one. I don\'t know anything about the warranty support because I have never had a problem.But I will try to be fair and give it a three star. Ira Burton, Mississippi

- Ira Burton, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?