Search
Account

Ashburn, VA Change Location

Heartland Bighorn RV Reviews by Owners

Average Review Rating

Have you owned one of these? Write a review! Search Heartland Bighorn RVs

Jul 17, 2016 Voted Most Helpful Review 2016 Heartland Bighorn 3070RL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Purchased the trailer in February. Took it out on two \"shakedown\" cruises in March and April. Short tows, but 4+ day stays. Found very little wrong with the trailer. In fact, this is my second Bighorn and the \"fit and finish\" is superior to our previous rig. The few small things that were wrong were either easily resolved by myself or promptly handled by the dealer and the manufacturer. Tows extremely well. Smooth and gentle. Heartland has upgraded the tires on this chassis from Load Range E to Load Range G. We experienced a catastrophic failure of a tire on our previous rig. The shocks and suspension lend itself to smooth and confident towing. We are very happy.
- OldSoldier, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

Dec 18, 2014 Voted Most Helpful Review 2014 Heartland Bighorn 3875FB

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
We are very happy with this 5th wheel in most aspects except quality and warranty work. Having been into the dealership twice for work, not considered major, both times have taken months to get fixed. I find this is true of most all RV repairs, not just my dealer. We are a little disappointed in the quality of our rig based on its selling price. I also find most dealers know less about RV's than the buyer. Most problems could have been caught with an improved quality program at the manufacturer. Now out of warranty, I will correct all future problems myself and save all the hassle.
- Charles Crowley, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

Nov 12, 2015 2014 Heartland Bighorn 37QB

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
I got my rv from Kent Mitchell rv in Hammond la ..one week after we got it first time out we saw that it had a leak around back slide. Took it back they had it for about a month got it back first time it rained saw to still had a leak and got to looking and 3 out of 4 slides was leaking. Took it back to have them keep it another 3 weeks got it back and same thing. Took it back after 4 weeks they tell me they just don't know what to do about it to take it somewhere to get a 2nd appending. I can tell you of 3 others I know that had leaking big horn rv..Kent Mitchell sucks and if you get a big horn product you are just a fool as you was warned!!!!!
- Michael , Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

Feb 19, 2016 2014 Heartland Bighorn 3585RL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
I have owned this model for about 3 years and have found this 5th Wheel to be great quality and an excellent 5th wheel for spending a lot of time in. The layout is great with ample room to move about and it has lots of storage both inside and out. The six point auto leveling system makes camp ground setup a breeze. I opted not to get two upgrades: the auto satellite system and washer/dryer package. My wife prefers to have the additional storage space where the washer/dryer would go and as far as the auto satellite system I carry a Tailgater to satellite and a house dish which I set up for extended stays. The trailer did come with the satellite prep package pre-wired for the Winegard Travler. When it comes to towing, I have a Ford F350 6.7 Turbo Diesel pickup which tows this trailer with ease. I was very skeptical when it came to the size and hauling this behind my truck but when we pulled out of the dealership I found it towed with no problems. I did install a Voyager Rear View Camera system and find that having it while towing makes lane changes and backing up a breeze. It has 3 slide outs and with the remote touch screen control extending the slides at a camp ground is very easy as you can monitor the slides as they extend and can stop immediately if clearance problems arise. Overall this is a great trailer to own.
- Stephen Sass, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

Feb 09, 2016 2014 Heartland Bighorn 3570RS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
When my wife first saw our Big Horn She fell in love with the floor plan. She liked the island kitchen and the walk in pantry.

After our first trip we brought the coach back to the dealer with a list of things to take care of like the doors not closing properly and things not fitting properly. Some of the complaints were taken care of others of the complaints were dismissed by saying none of the doors are square. They laughed and said they were RV square.

We bought our trailer to spend the winters in FL. We have had our trailer since Aug of 2013. Since then we replaced the High Point micro wave convection oven with a residential unit because it was under powered (not covered by warranty) When we first got to FL we had power issues and we found that none of the circuit breakers were tightened down properly (paid for service call and breakers) as we began to live in our rig the doors began popping off because they were installed improperly (service call and repair fee) this happened three times and all of the vertical opening doors had to be re hung. We have had the Air conditioners replaced three times (trip charge for each replacement). The central vac was replaced once and now its stopped working again. The las repair was the black water cable, the cable was not secured or routed properly so there was another service call and a repair fee plus the part this time.

Heartland's warranty only covers dealer service if you are living in your rig you have to take it to a warranty station empty your refrigerator and take your valuables then get a hotel to stay in while your rig is being repaired. Or you can pay for the service call and labor for minor repairs yourself like we did because you save money in the long run. The the stove oven in awful. It is hard to clean and takes both of us to lite the pilot. The oven is hard to clean not level and has hot spots. Finally, the finish is coming of the kitchen island cabinets from wiping them with a damp cloth and the same thing is happening to the chairs.
The salesman told us how we would love our pleather interior well in two years we had to replace both recliners because the pleather finish was coming off the backing.

In conclusion, although the floor plan was perfect for us the quality control is very poor and the appliances & furnishings are not designed for a full timer.
- Edward Doktor, Florida

Did you find this useful?

May 08, 2015 2014 Heartland Bighorn 3260EL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
The best luxury 5th wheel for the money. Had a mobile suites 36TK3 that wasn't any nicer than this Bighorn with exception of full body paint. More RV for the money than other brands.
- Randy, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

Aug 05, 2015 2014 Heartland Bighorn 3260EL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
We've had issues. Just replaced 4 tires, 1 yr old, they started crowning, we caught them before they blew. Small issues not a big thing. The suspension concerns us. Whenever backing up with it, it creaks terribly and when set up it pops often. Whether we're walking around or being still. Even in the middle of the night.
- Linda Jones, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

Mar 18, 2016 2013 Heartland Bighorn 3855FL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
I lived in this 5th wheel for 2 years full time and it's perfect. Plenty of room. comfortable. Easy to tow. Very nice. King size Bed. Shower with skylight. Large kitchen and table. Table has a leaf to add four seating chairs.
- Brian, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

May 18, 2016 2013 Heartland Bighorn 3685RL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Vinyl flooring separating water leaks behind panel holes behind dressers heaters ducks not connected properly not enough wordso to finish how disappointed me an my wife will never buy another bighorn
- Larry Zamora, California

Did you find this useful?

May 10, 2016 2013 Heartland Bighorn 3610RE

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
This fifth wheel is a dream to pull and to set up. We could be totally set up in 15 mins. It has more extras than usual because it was built as a show model so it has a more "stuff" on it.
It is beautiful inside and well maintained. Very livable. We full timed in it for 13 months.
Unfortunately, we must sell due to our health. Very sad we have been campers all of our lives. Whomever gets this unit will have years of fun and enjoyment in it.
- Herman Hoots, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

Jan 16, 2016 2013 Heartland Bighorn 3585RL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
We purchased our Big Horn from Curtis Trailers in Portland , Oregon. We ordered it from the RV show. Absolutely love our Big Horn. Our Heartland factory rep rep, Mike Moreland, and our Dealer rep, Trevor Curtis have been absolutely outstanding before, during and after the sale. We have always received top notch service from both gentleman!

As far as the Big Horn? This was our first ever RV purchase. We love the quality, livability and towing our Big Horn. Three years after purchasing it, and glamping at least once every moth, we are still in love with it. The auto leveling system and electric cord real make set up and tear down very simple. Can't say enough good things about our Big Horn, Heatland or Curtis Trailers. Highly recommend them! We love it so much, Trevor and Mike are now helping us upgrade to the Big a Horn Rear Den. We have so much faith in both of these guys and in Heartland, we bought it site unseen! Can't wait until it gets delivered and we go glamping!
- Mindy Smith, Washington

Did you find this useful?

Oct 07, 2016 2013 Heartland Bighorn 3385RL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
I have had so much trouble with this unit. Call the manufacturer and they hung up on me. Do not and I mean do not buy one of these. Within the first couple of months are toilet blew up and sprayed water all over the unit. Our water pump went out. Now we've had to replace the cooling unit on a refrigerator. Now our Hydraulics are currently broken. We have a leak in the slide that can't be fixed. We have blown 3 tires on one trip. Replaced All 4 which cost us a bundle. No one wants to do anything to help us. The Finish came off the cabinet's within the first month. This is truly a piece of junk.
- Denise Glynn , Michigan

Did you find this useful?

Mar 19, 2015 2013 Heartland Bighorn 3010RE

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Great to camp in. Easy to hook up. Very good to tow.
- Marla, California

Did you find this useful?

Jun 22, 2016 2013 Heartland Bighorn 2985RL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
We love I. The only problem had to replace all tire first two years. Three blow outs with less than 1100 miles. No help from Heartland.Otherwise it is great and just get good tires. We R. V. about 70 days a year. Sent email no response.
- John Brand, California

Did you find this useful?

Sep 16, 2015 2012 Heartland Bighorn 3455RL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
When looking and viewing 5th wheels, there were a few things that we wanted: The insulation is foam in exterior walls/ceiling, the front landing gear is hydraulic- extremely rapid. The interior is very functional- a closet at the entrance- rare in most other models which contains a combination w/d close to kitchen, a computer station, including shelf for the printer. The kitchen is designed to allow access to the refrigerator even when the slides are closed- also rare. The bathroom can be used while someone uses the shower. We've had visitors for as long as two months, and with 2 tv's, and a queen bed (air) under sofa with MBR at opposite end, everyone was comfortable. As for driving- it happens!- I actually forgot I was hauling and could have had a mirror clipping occurance in a restaurant parking lot before someone got my attention:) - all in all- this model is very practical,and proud to be using it.
- Rick, New Brunswick

Did you find this useful?

Apr 16, 2015 2012 Heartland Bighorn 3370RK

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
We were not seriously considering a 5th wheel this size but when we saw this one online, we immediately loved it for the big kitchen. Seeing it in person sealed the deal. We have taken several trips of 6 weeks or longer and never tire of being in the RV. What helps most is the big refrigerator and lots of storage space, inside and in the "garage." We added the ventless washer dryer and never regretted that. It is so much nicer to do the majority of your laundry in your own "home" - we just used the laundromats for the king sized sheets. I didn't think we would use the fireplace much but we used it frequently on colder nights when there was no threat of freezing. It saved us a great deal on propane. We stow an full size inflatable mattress under the sofa and pillows stow in the under corner of the sofa (there is a plywood cover that lifts to access the space. We can sleep two grandkids there or the parents on that full sized bed and the grandkids on the sofa. We carefully cut the back sofa cushions free from the sofa so it makes a wider sleeping space. The cushions will stay in place without that flap attachment. All around great traveling with this RV!
- Nancy, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

Dec 15, 2014 2012 Heartland Bighorn 3070RL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Excellent fifth wheel in outstanding condition with manu extras
- Larry Smith, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

Mar 14, 2015 2011 Heartland Bighorn 3585RL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
We are extremely pleased with this unit it has been a pleasure to fulltime in it and it has held up very well.
All maintenance has been on schedule which in my opinion makes it last longer
- Randy, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

Aug 23, 2015 2009 Heartland Bighorn 3410RE

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
I bought it new in 2009. I pull it with a 2006 Ford F-350 . I have towed it from Texas to Missisdippi, Arkansas, New Mexico , Oklahoma and back to Texas. We have been full time for 6 years. My wife and I truly enjoy living and traveling . Health has caused me to have to many doctor appointments and can no longer be away from my perminate residence. I hate to give up my beautiful home on wheels but I have no choice.
- Fred Ford, Texas

Did you find this useful?

Dec 29, 2014 2008 Heartland Bighorn 3600RL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Quality was the big issue. We have full timed in this fifth wheel and have traveled all over the US. Replaced a broken TV, replaced Half Time Oven three times, front landing gear replaced, furnace replaced twice, entire floor of the large door side slide replaced due to manufacturers defect (but I had to pay the $4000) for the replacement, plastic parts in RV started disintegrating at year 4. We love the floor plan, but would not buy another Heartland RV. Cheap furnishings began falling apart at year 3. We 're great house keepers and the RV is never cluttered. Just had to replace the entire suspension, and the repAir facility said the quality of the factory equipment was not only terrible, but very dangerous. Overall, the unit is sufficient, but nothing to rave about.
- Charles Whittle, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

Sep 14, 2016 2008 Heartland Bighorn 3055

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
We have full timed in our 3055 for five years now. My husband has made all the repairs and replacements himself except for the disc brakes he dad installed. The only really problem we have had, has been with the leaf springs. The original factory springs didn't last two years. We have replaced them three times now and finally have 7000# springs. Otherwise she has been a wonderful rig. Heartland is a great company and if we ever replace her it will be with another Bighorn.
- Jodi,

Did you find this useful?