Search
Account

Ashburn, VA Change Location

Grand Design Solitude RV Reviews by Owners

Average Review Rating

Have you owned one of these? Write a review! Search Grand Design Solitude RVs

Sep 23, 2016 Voted Most Helpful Review 2017 Grand Design Solitude 379FL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
To start, the Sa lesmen talked it up of course. It does look nice, pulls well, and is livable. The issues I've had make me realize that the manufacturer doesn't build it to handle the road. All four leaf springs had to be replaced, one broke in half on the road, 2 others bent. This was from normal interstate, and campground driving. The other issues are light fixtures loose and ready to fall off, fenders loose, screws backing out, roof sealant cracked, gapped and ready to leak, wall in the rear storage compartment separating, bedroom slide stopped working directly after the shop had it all day, shaded don't go up, window cranks strip out etc.. The biggest issue is the dealership's service. I learned that I had to watch the mechanics while they worked on it or go around after they were "done" and inspect to make sure it was fixed correctly. After calling them out on faulty repairs, going back 7 times, some for the same issue, dealer told me they won't work on it anymore and I need to find another service shop. Wow, is all I can say. What about warranty, and forever warranty they brag about? Basically every time I left the shop there was another issue to go back for.. They did however fix some issues correctly, but all in all I am less then impressed. We'll see if the manufacturer helps me out.. Save yourself tons of headaches and time.
- CJ, Montana

Did you find this useful?

Jul 19, 2016 Voted Most Helpful Review 2016 Grand Design Solitude St384gk

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
We like the floor plan and almost everything about the camper with the exception of the placement of the awning that the door is under or not under. When it\'s raining you get wet trying to get in the camper because the door is not under the awning far enough. Our biggest complaint is the service. We picked up our rv and there is no way this is the one we looked at, there is a dent and scratch in the kitchen door that wasn\'t there when we looked at it, dealer had the camper 3 weeks longer then they should have and they didn\'t even attempt to replace the fridge. We have had the camper since end of April, still no new door and we have called about our volume shutting off on the tv, with no assistance. We contact the factory and have had some communication but it has been spotty.
- Tina Carter, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

Feb 15, 2017 2017 Grand Design Solitude 321RL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This a very nice trailer, I love this trailer..... looks brand new and its long term living trailer, they build the best trailer on the market, the floor plan is awesome the interior colors are awesome full size fridge
- stoney welch, Texas

Did you find this useful?

Oct 29, 2016 2016 Grand Design Solitude 384GK

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We though we were buying a well built RV at first. Then we started using it. We like the floor plan and that is were it stops. We have had many problems with the RV, most we had to fix on the road traveling. This is some of the problems we have had. We had a flat tire and who ever put the lug nuts on at the factory put one of them on cross threaded, so the road side repair had to break the lug, we still have to fix the lug. When putting out the awning the awning fell off, come to find out that there was only 2 screws holding it. The jacks don't work correct, when retracting them they only move 3 inches and stop, then press the retract button again and again tell all the way up. The bed/bath slide out has tore up the trim work when using. The crank on the antenna was cut to short, had to replace. The drain in the bathroom sink came apart, the factory only had a little silicon holding the drain (what a joke) The auto level never has been correct. The sun roof in the shower is coming apart. Do your home work before you buy, that is what we have learned.
- Tom Keely, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

Jul 29, 2016 2016 Grand Design Solitude 379 FL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
this rv is fantastic. there are a few things that we should have noticed upon inspecting but missed. nothing major. the bottom shower rail was leaking water out the shower due to it not being completely sealed, easy fix. we\'ve been camping in it for 5 weeks now and no major problems. the trailer is solid! I will post future updates (if possible).
- Ruben, California

Did you find this useful?

Oct 03, 2016 2016 Grand Design Solitude 379 FL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
We are full timers purchased this unit as our last unit [not to sure now)
Floor by front door is sinking awning is useless can't travel with clothes in closet as they fall down along with the bar useless poor design
- Linda , Texas

Did you find this useful?

Oct 13, 2016 2016 Grand Design Solitude 375RE

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
After much research we bought this RV. We have no regretted it for a minute best decision we have ever made. Grad Design is simply the best company and service ever. The quality of everything inside and out make you feel you at home and you never want to leave
- Brett Thompson, Washington

Did you find this useful?

Feb 12, 2017 2016 Grand Design Solitude 366DEN

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Love this camper! We have had Jayco, Forest River and also a Diesel Pusher. We lived in it for 8 months while our home was being built (even in winter) and it was fantastic. We wanted one with a 2nd bedroom privacy and plenty of storage. At first the two fireplaces seemed kind of silly but they were actually one of our favorite features. We had some trouble with the fridge at first but they replaced it under warranty. If you're considering a park model, look at this first. There's so much more storage than any models we considered. A pantry in the kitchen and so much storage in the den. You can put your kids or guests in there and have your privacy. I would buy this brand again.
- Lori, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

Sep 30, 2015 2016 Grand Design Solitude 321X

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
We have owned many manufacturers RV's 2 motorhomes, 3 trailers and 5 different fifth wheels, and this unit by far is the best built, most liveable yet. Great quality, and it is beautiful inside and out! Looks like the last rv we will need to buy, we love it!
- Donald Rupert, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

Oct 13, 2016 2016 Grand Design Solitude 321RL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This trailer is very expensive but we thought it would be our retirement rig and splurged. It has some features that are nicer than the average fifth wheel but not sure it is worth the price. We have had more problems with this rig than the previous three trailers we have owned combined! Right from the start, the recliners wouldn't open or shut, the sleeper couch is horrible to sleep on because the three foam sections that fold out are not even. Our bedroom slide had problems from the start and also leaks under one corner outside the slide. It appears the door side of the trailer had been damaged at the factory in three separate places and the gel coat patched. This was pointed out by a body shop we had it at for work. We didn't pay for a damaged and patched trailer. Almost every trailer has a problem with grease seals leaking into the brake linings. It should be a recall but if the customer catches it, they will replace the whole brake system at their cost. Quality control is seriously lacking with this company and the RV dealers they contract with are marginally honest and have horrible customer service. You will find on the forums that people say they have good customer service which is nice but it would be great if they built a quality trailer that is checked for quality work before they ship them out. Don't think I would buy another.
- Karen L., Washington

Did you find this useful?

May 15, 2016 2016 Grand Design Solitude 321RL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Everything works well. Easy to tow and park.
I had the dealer add a four step stair. Nice aluminum quality (Lippert). The "stainless steel" film on the refrigerator is easy to damage. Overall this trailer meets all our expectations.
I have not had any warranty work at his time but the questions must be answered.
- Chad M, California

Did you find this useful?

Jan 06, 2017 2016 Grand Design Solitude 321RL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We have owned this unit for only 3 months and only used 3 times for short trips so far it's now in the shop for a baggage door that rubbed when opening and closing. We were getting water on the floor around the kitchen sink and wondered where it was coming from took the panel apart and found the Pee trap was not connected these issues should never happen My question is where was the pre-delivery inspection at. This was not our first unit
- Gary H, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

Jan 24, 2017 2015 Grand Design Solitude 379FLR

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
bought this as retirement home have had water leaks since I got it and now have recall that they don't have a service person to fix it. have had service on the water leaks until I sick of it and now they have to replace whole underbelly because wood panels are mold infested would not recommend this to anyone
- linda nixon, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

Feb 06, 2015 2015 Grand Design Solitude 379FL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Great rig, warm in cool weather, cool in hot weather.
- L C Boyer, Florida

Did you find this useful?

Dec 04, 2015 2015 Grand Design Solitude 379FL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
RV was purchased for a short term living (under 4 months) and it more than exceeded my expectations! It is very roomy and has true living areas like a site built home. Best RV I have ever had. Extremely easy to pull with my F350 Dually. Highly recommend this model/make.
- Anise Golden Morper, Texas

Did you find this useful?

Feb 22, 2016 2015 Grand Design Solitude 379FL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Like most who own one of these rigs the layout and design is excellent. Where many including myself have issues is in the quality control. It does not exist. We have had ours for almost two years and are still having problems with electrical that should not be in a rig this expensive. I will say that Grand Design is still working with us to resolve these issues under warranty. Most of the delays have been on receiving the proper parts the first time ordered and take entirely to long to arrive at the dealer performing the work. It has cost us a lot of money out of pocket to stay in hotels while the RV is in the shop, which has been an all to often issue since we are full time and have no home to resort to at this time. If I had it to do all over again I would not purchase this brand of RV.
- John Davis, Texas

Did you find this useful?

Oct 21, 2015 2015 Grand Design Solitude 379FL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
As much as we love our 5th wheel, we have found the the craftsmanship is questionable. Our Solitude came with the "Residential Package" so we are living in it full time and have been for the last 6 months. Currently we have a shower door that leaks, dealer tells us it is a maintenance issue not covered under the warranty. the insulation in front behind the TV is pretty much laying on the ground not insulating. There are a few other items that aren't major issues. Had to have a few issues addressed and it took a while to get approval from Grand Design. Overall, we love the RV and floor plan just find the craftsmanship questionable.
- CLYDE MEADE, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

Dec 17, 2014 2015 Grand Design Solitude 379FL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Well coming up on 4 weeks now, we live in it FT and we both LOVE it fells like a HOME,all the issues we have had have been minor. We would do it again,,:)
- Nelson York, California

Did you find this useful?

Apr 12, 2016 2015 Grand Design Solitude 379FL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
We took a look at this 5th wheel in the Hudson Bend area off Lake Travis. Beautiful RV Resort. We couldn't believe the amount of upgrades it has. It even has a full size dishwasher. The condition is like it rolled of the showroom floor with the exceptions of a small scratch on the rear, which he had to point out to me to notice. Unfortunately it is just a little out of our price range or I would own it today. Its going to be hard to compare others to this one.
- Craig Nimtz, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

Oct 13, 2016 2015 Grand Design Solitude 379 FL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I have owned various RVs since mid 1970s. The Grand Design Solitude is the most comfortable I have ever owned. The customer support is best I've experienced. The overall fit and finish is good. Quality is excellent
- L. C. Boyer, Florida

Did you find this useful?

Dec 29, 2014 2015 Grand Design Solitude 379 FL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Great unit, above average construction and livability.
- Leonard Boyer, Florida

Did you find this useful?

Dec 16, 2015 2015 Grand Design Solitude 369RL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
I know based on the cost of this unit it is supposed to be high quality. I am very disappointed in the overall quality of this brand of 5th wheel. I have owned many different brands and styles and this one even though it looks nice from the outside has been nothing but trouble. I cannot begin to explain the problems that exist with this rig, but they range from simple details that should not exist to appliances that do not function correctly. Support is very very slow in coming, I have been waiting months for warranty work that needs to be performed.
My advise is be very careful when looking at these RV's make sure you take your time and do a complete inspection of your rig and do not sign anything until all issues are resolved. Do not allow them to say that they checked the appliances so you don't need to.
once you pull it off the lot it's your problem.
- TJ, Washington

Did you find this useful?

Oct 13, 2016 2015 Grand Design Solitude 369RL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
The day we brought it home we had our first issue. GD and our dealer (Spader's RV Sioux Falls SD) bent over backwards and took care of us right away. A few other small issues came up as well but Spader's again took care of us no questions asked. I would certainly buy GD again without hesitation. In fact, already envious of a few of the new floor plans.
- Tom N, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

Jun 18, 2016 2015 Grand Design Solitude 369RL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
We ordered this RV with all the options but 2. I has a great floor plan and is easy to maintain. We had 1 issue with the Refrigerator quit. Took it to the Dealer, they replaced it under warranty. Has great storage and pulls down the highway very well. The self leveling jacks are great. All in all it is a very comfortable home. We had it with the Arctic package. That is wonderful also.
- Clayton Mills, Wyoming

Did you find this useful?

Oct 13, 2016 2015 Grand Design Solitude 365DEN

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We have been fulltime in our 365Den for almost 2 years now, we have had very few, minor issues, all of them being with componets, such as the fireplace quitting, and the AC quitting, both of those items were taken of very quickly and efficiently, including overnight shipping of the AC unit! This is our 3rd RV and nowhere else have we had support like we do here, the other rvs also had issues, and it was a painful process with less than desirable results to get anything done via warranty, I ended up paying out of pocket for most items. Is Grand Design perfect? Maybe not, but in my opinion they are the very best in their class.
- Anthony D, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

Jul 23, 2016 2014 Grand Design Solitude 379FL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
The design is what sold us.
After camping in the RV for two years this is what we have found that are troublesome.
Awning motor has been replaced once and is still not strong enough to bring in the awning, we need to stand on the picnic table and help it with a broom. Position of awning does not allow kitchen camper door to open all the way. Awning has an automatic rain release this does not work due to the fact of water pooling in the middle of the awning on top of the kitchen slide-out. After a rain you need to take a broom handle and push the water up off of the kitchen slide-out before retracting the awning.
We only have 6 hours on the awning lights and they are burnt out.
Holding tank drainage system is a real pain. The Trap seals do not seal tight and there is always liquid in the tube. Can never completely drain system unless you put your camper at an incline. We believe this is why we have a periodic sewer smell in our camper.
DVD player in living room only lasted one season.
We have no issues with the dealer at this point. Bringing it in to see if we can get the above issues taken care of.
- Rene Engh, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

Jan 19, 2016 2014 Grand Design Solitude 379 FL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Thought this was high quality but it was in the shop the first month I purchased it. Wiring to both TVs were not connected and construction debris blocked sewer. Seems that Grand design might have an issue with quality control in its factory. It has been 7 months now and we have used it for 4 short trips. Some of the wood trim is loose, the slide mechanism needs adjusting and my auto leveling system panel does not have power. I bought a new battery ($90) and still no power.
I love the floor plan and towing ability but to need to put a new rig into the shop twice within the first year speaks to the questionable quality of this $100,000 Fifth wheel. Very difficult to get local support for problems. numerous calls, long waits for call backs and repair times.
- N. Allen, Washington

Did you find this useful?

Oct 13, 2016 2014 Grand Design Solitude 369RL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
WE had this rig for about 26 months. It was a nice rig, but continually had problems with it. It stayed in the shop almost as much as we had it at home. We finally got tired of the problems and traded it in. The trade in and re-sale value was about half what we paid for it. So it did not hold it's value at all.. We got another Grand Design because it was a much smaller bumper pull, and because we got a better deal trading it in where we bought it, which wasn't much. We have already had problems with the new Grand Design, and will most likely not buy another one. We have had several other brands, and had less problems with most of them..
- Michael Barker, Florida

Did you find this useful?

Feb 11, 2015 2014 Grand Design Solitude 369RL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
We have lived in our RV full time for over a year. We have been warm in winter and cool in the summer. Lots of storage both inside and underneath. It is spacious inside with taller ceilings and side walls than most RV's. Lovely interior-feels like home. Walk in closet-pantry and center island in kitchen.
- Nancy Zweifel, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

Dec 15, 2014 2014 Grand Design Solitude 369RL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
This is a rock solid RV. We have traveled 4000 miles this year with this coach and have encountered only minor warrenty problems. The problems that we have had were addressed by Grand Design quickly and fairly. I will highly recommend Grand Design RV.
- Albert Phillips, Florida

Did you find this useful?

Oct 24, 2015 2014 Grand Design Solitude 369RL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
We have lived in our 369RL for 23 months, with 3 small dogs. This RV has plenty of room, do not feel cramped at all. We have only had a few minor issues and Grand Design Service Manager was very helpful in correcting the issues without having to take to a repair facility. This is our 1st 5th wheel and were very happy with it. We`ll find out about the towing in a couple more months.
- Russ, Texas

Did you find this useful?

Apr 06, 2016 2014 Grand Design Solitude 369RL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
this is an outstanding RV! the first obvious indication of the quality is the design engineering that can be seen before you even enter the RV. open the basement door and the storage area is not only very large but there are no obstructions of any kind from plumbing, wiring are anything! just open storage! now check the propane locations and the outside control center. (now look at any other 5th wheel!) inside there are no floor vents to hinder the placement of floor matts or to step on and break. all air is vented and returned out of site and hidden from view from under the cabinets. while décor is somewhat subjective it is obvious that a great deal of professional expertise was used in this area. everything flows and matches seamlessly. this is an outstanding RV and an outstanding company.
- carl lucky, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

Apr 19, 2016 2014 Grand Design Solitude 369RL

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
We like our solitude a lot. The only thing that they need to improve on, is the poor quality blinds. It's amazing how easy they get damaged just buy lifting them up. Also not a good night blind. You would think they would be better for $80k.
- Anthony Tawney , Maryland

Did you find this useful?