Search
Account
Help

Ashburn, VA Change Location

Forest River Surveyor RV Reviews by Owners

Average Review Rating

Have you owned one of these? Write a review! Search Forest River Surveyor RVs For Sale

Voted Most Helpful Review 2017 Forest River Surveyor 265RLDS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Wow is all I can say. Have had this trailer ONE week. Am just packing things into it and everything we touch BREAKS! Absolutely piece of crap! Sat in a chair, it snapped and broke, the drawer under the dinette is broken and will not open, the front panel of that drawer pulled right off in my hands. Used the furnace for about 2 hours while packing things into it and cleaning, furnace now not working, I believe a blown fuse. REALLY??? This redefines cheap and piece of crap... I can't wait to see what breaks when I actually try to USE this trailer.... Waiting on selling dealership to call me back. I took this home 5 days ago...
- , California

Did you find this useful?

Voted Most Helpful Review 2017 Forest River Surveyor 191T

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Piece of crap. Every time we use it something else is wrong with it. Shower flooded underneath then slide out leaks. Faucets drips. Brand new piece of crap. Worst 26 thousand I ever spent. Wish they'd take it back.
- , Georgia

Did you find this useful?

Sep 13, 2017 2017 Forest River Surveyor 201RBS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I've owned the camper for 2 months and have 1 - 20 day trip behind me. This is my 6th camper. So far, service from the dealer has been good. Issues to date include: carbon monoxide sensor failed, kitchen faucet failed, the shower wall was not straight causing the shower enclosure to not seal properly. I view these as a supplier issue except for the shower wall.

Otherwise, the camper is fine and works well for the 2 of us.

My only remaining concern relates to the time required to charge the battery. As we do a lot of camping without electric available, it seems like the battery charges slowly. This may be a function of the on-board power converter. I use a generator 1 hour in the am and 1 hour in the pm when electric is not available. After the 3rd day, the battery is very low before each charge.

I tow the camper with a 2007 4Runner with the V8 engine (no longer available) using a weight equalizing hitch. The camper tows well and the 4Runner is not stressed.

Overall quality of the camper is good - the cabinetry is superior to any of my prior campers but there are several manufacturers with similar cabinets today.

We like the floor plan, storage capacity, appliances and ease of set-up when arriving at a campsite.

I'm not sure how I like the electric awning as yet. The spring-loaded one I had on my prior camper seemed to be more substantial and wind resistant.
- , Virginia

Did you find this useful?

Sep 13, 2016 2016 Forest River Surveyor 285IKDS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Bought new in August and have camped three weekends in a row. Really enjoy the large bathroom and shower. Bought this unit for the outdoor kitchen. Is a great unit for empty nesters or couples without children. Can covert couch and dinette into beds but neither appear to be a comfortable sleep. Camper pulls great with 1/2 ton diesel RAM.
- , Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

Mar 28, 2017 2016 Forest River Surveyor 200MB

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We bought a brand new Forest River in 2016. We have had nothing but trouble since the first time we took it out. We got to our campsite and the slide out didn't work. We called their service department and there wasn't anything they could do. The slide out hasn't worked since our first trip. Our RV is subpar. The technicians who built it didn't drill a hole so we could manually open the slide out and they didn't give us a crank anyways. The customer service at this company is terrible. They have acted like we are bothering them because we would like it fixed. Supposedly, when it was built the technicians accidently cut the wires to the slide out. They fixed that but it still doesn't work. This is the 3rd time our trailer has been in for the same problem. I would stay away from Forest River!!
- , Oregon

Did you find this useful?

Jun 24, 2017 2015 Forest River Surveyor 265RLDS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Extremely POOR quality. Poorest and cheapest components available.Never again Forest River! Microwave fell out,light fell out of ceiling,awning lights quit workinf,shower door gasket tore off,trim strips falling off, outside door sticks, underside flooring fell off in places, etc. etc. All within 1 yr!
- , Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

Jul 08, 2017 2015 Forest River Surveyor 264RKS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Bought this trailer to replace our 24 year old Fleetwood trailer.First time we used it came back slid out slide and corner of frame caught floor and ripped big chunk, shower frame came loose from pan and seals torn because door was crooked. Went to service and found that the front cap had lots of cracks around clearance lights, paint clear coat gone an paint faded, inside ceiling came apart at joints,molding came loose on walls, door in bedroom fell off,large trim on slide came loose (2'), trim that covers screws on outside was junk cracked up,this was all within first year, contacted dealer and Forest River for repair took some time we got cap fixed & painted,inside problems were hit & miss dealer fixed some manufacture said that it was owners responsibility for everything else.This unit gets serviced an waxed twice a year paint shouldn't fail! Here it is year two and the cracks are back on front cap at lights contacted Forest River again said I would have to take back to repair shop that did the original repair to evaluate the problem, I requested that the front cap be replaced can't wait to see what the shop has to say also the rear of trailer paint has failed looks like crap has dark an light spots looks like a 30 year old trailer I'm also requesting that this be addressed & repainted. Was told when we purchased unit that the rifer would work above 6000 ft it seems to have its problems keeps things cold but goes of when in auto mode called dometic they said it wasn't made to work at higher altitudes above 5000'! This trailer has been down more than used,an a big pain in the butt, compared to our 1991 Fleetwood Wilderness there is no comparison old trailer was built to last this oneI dout it will make it to 10 years old! We think this is going to be a yearly problem!If we could do all over, We would have kept the 1991 Wilderness! No comparison!
- , California

Did you find this useful?

Jan 06, 2016 2015 Forest River Surveyor 240RBS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Bought this trailer in May 2015. Love the large bathroom interior layout and the outdoor kitchen.. This is the best towing camper I have ever owned. Now with that being said we get to the quality or lack of it issure. I could write two pages on the problems i have had with this trailer. I did all the repairs myself. just to name a few problems: water leak bedroom window, slide and stove vent. Shower drain leaking, out side tv mount not screwed in the frame ,pulled right off, water pump hose leaking, outside kitchen door one side was inch and half lower than the other didn't look too good when it was open, had to push the awning out to get it started to unroll , lots of screws missing inside and out, misaligned trim everywhere inside, bathroom door hanging on the striker plate when opening and closing, screen door had a crack between the front edge and the jam big enough to let bugs and wherever in. This is not all the problems I have had but some of them. I should have caught some of these problems before leaving the lot however I have never had any problems with past campers I have had , guess I let my guard down . Bought this at dealer in Ashland Va I don't think they checked much of anything before I picked it up .
- , Virginia

Did you find this useful?

May 26, 2017 2014 Forest River Surveyor SVF278RLDS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I lost $20,000.00 because of this company & the dealership. They dont back up their products. Only hauled it 4 times. First two times it flooded. Brand new & its ruined. The electrical brakes didnt just go out it fried, totally melted to rhe toung. Thank god I was in a campground when it happened. We could have been killed. So it cost me 5g a trip. I would never recommend this company....ever! And i don't know the modle number.
- , Michigan

Did you find this useful?

Nov 19, 2015 2014 Forest River Surveyor 240RBS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
I currently own a sp240 it is my second Surveyor the first was the sp189. I have the 240 for 9 months with the only problem being the led lights on the awning. The wife loves the large bathroom and I enjoy cooking in the outside kitchen. The sp240 is a perfect rv for a couple also it has tons of storage. We have towed it half across the country and also in the mountains of Virginia.
- , Virginia

Did you find this useful?

Jun 06, 2017 2014 Forest River Surveyor 191T

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Probably the worst decision I could have made in buying a camper is to get this hybrid. We have had numerous problems with the workmanship and quality. Bad trim, faulty appliances, leaking canvas and poor service from the dealer. This has kind of turned me off camping as I am no longer under warranty and now I have another tear in the canvas. $900 to fix it and it's on a bed we haven't even used yet. This is the 4th time we have had a hole in the canvas and the second time the only fix is to replace the whole thing. I would never buy one of their units again.
- , Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

Feb 15, 2017 2013 Forest River Surveyor SCT224T

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
The worst camper that I have ever owned, parts missing, leaks water, shower floor not supported, poor quality control, Forest River would not answer my emails.b thought back to the dealer at least 3 times they were excellent trying to help.
- , Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

May 28, 2015 2013 Forest River Surveyor 293RLTS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Great for towing and a superior layout built for comfort and livability.
- , Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

Mar 02, 2017 2011 Forest River Surveyor 291

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Love This RV! Light weight, towable with my 1/2 ton pick up. Family of four and our Lhasa Apso found it very roomy. I have owned other brands but they do not compare to Forest River! The construction and reputation is what attracted me to the Surveyor. Luxury outdoor living. I was impressed with the amount of space it had with a half slide. There is plenty of room for extra guests. I have taken it all over New York and it is easy to tow. I found I do not have to spend a fortune on gas. The outdoor shower is great for washing off muddy feet. So much storage! The toy door makes things like the grill and outdoor toys very accessible. I would not own anything but a Forest River!
- , New York

Did you find this useful?