Search
Account

Ashburn, VA Change Location

Forest River Salem RV Reviews by Owners

Average Review Rating

Have you owned one of these? Write a review! Search Forest River Salem RVs

Jul 26, 2016 Voted Most Helpful Review 2017 Forest River Salem 27RKSS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Well I\'m not going to say I dislike it, I love the floor plan it has excellent space ergonomics are pretty good for the most part.
However the standard of quality and craftsmanship ..... Well now that leaves something to be desired.
I understand that this isn\'t a house but for what I paid for this unit I expected some quality. First of all let me start by telling you this is a brand new 2017 Salem 27RKSS we have used it 3 times. It does not tow well, this is not my towing ability I have been pulling trailers of all shapes and sizes for 30 years.
By far this is the worst RV I have ever pulled. I have seen forums that other people are having the same issue and I have seen one other being pulled and he himself was having the same problem. Every time a car or truck would pass you it made the coach swerve all over the road. Mind you I don\'t tow mine over 60 miles per hour.
The other issues I have are quality issues, my seam tape falling off the bathroom wall not to mention they never ever ran it all the way to the ceiling. My draperies falling off the wall from towing it down the highway, and they are hung crooked. I have sawdust and dirt smeared down in the caulking in my shower, the hook for the bedroom door has been knocked off twice because of poor location of mounting. I would move it except I want my warranty to cover it and don\'t misunderstand I\'m not saying they won\'t or have denied any claims but as I said we have only used it 3 times. There was staples I had to pound in on the booth so it wouldn\'t rip the fabric on the cushions , our chairs had scratches in them the table top had a big scratch and the one they replaced it with is warped, the blinds won\'t stay up not to mention when you try to push them up they don\'t fold right so they\'re all wrinkled and creased now.
I\'m sure I have missed a few things but you get the picture.
Would I recommend this camper to anyone? Not even a stranger.
- Mike, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

Dec 15, 2014 Voted Most Helpful Review 2013 Forest River Salem 27RLSS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
- Johnny Bowers, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

Jan 26, 2017 2016 Forest River Salem 402QBQ

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I purchased a new 2016 Forest River Salem Villa 402QBQ. Since my purchase a number of issues arose with the trailer. They all seemed to be from a quality control point from the manufacturer. All in all, the dealer Brooks Camper Sales and Forest River stood behind their product. The dealer came out to my camp site and performed the repairs, when additional repairs were needed Forest River actually came and picked up my trailer and returned it to the plant in Indiana to perform the remaining repairs and quality check the trailer again. I would like to say Thank You to Eric at Brooks Camper Sales in Connelsville Pa. and Mr. Bigler at Forest River for going above and beyond to stand by your product. My wife and I purchased the trailer because of the sleeping accommodations, since my kids all moved to other parts of the country the 2nd bedroom wasn't used much therefore we traded it in on another Forest River product a 2017 395RET opting for the bigger living area. IN all I'm very satisfied with Forest River and the way they stood behind their product, thus my reason for continuing camping with Forest River.
- Bob B, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

May 15, 2016 2016 Forest River Salem 27TDSS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Love the trailer. Great for families with little kids. Love that the bunk beds are on a system that you can raise and lower allowing more room for the kids to play and to load items on the side when commuting to location.
- Brianne, California

Did you find this useful?

Aug 04, 2016 2016 Forest River Salem 27RKSS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
We purchased our camper in march 2015. After 3 times out, on the way home from our last trip, the bedroom ceiling fell down and pulled all of the staples out. Most of the shades have broken and we ALWAYS tow with them down. The Stabilizer jack exterior switches have both quit and been replaced twice, I had to buy them the last time, warranty would not. My shower doors have leaked form day one, I just recently had to remove them and seal the track, no sealer to be found from the factory.
I carried my trailer o the Dealer I bought it from to have some repairs made, they informed me it would be 6 to 12 weeks. When I asked why they said the had to get \"permission\" from the MFG to do the repairs??? REALLY?
The over ALL quality of my camper is very poor, I would not recommend this Brand to ANYONE..........
- Gary Duncan, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

May 15, 2016 2015 Forest River Salem 32BHDS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Floorplan=love it
Microwave height= really,really hate it! (extremely to high for 5'6" person) Electrical=issues since day 1(works sometimes n both batteries have drained upon sitting for 1 wk.
Towing=love it
Led lighting under awning=some lights went out after 6 months.
Shell under tv is not deep enough.to hold cable box(direct tv) & wires.
Tv swivels, but a headache if you have.a box on the other side because you cannot change the channels and have to move the cable box constantly.
Kids love the bunks in back and the separate mini dinette table-who doesn't want to eat in their room at that age!
Rv is beautiful and has tons of storage space-under u shaped dinette, bed, over sofa area,pantry,and under seats in bunk area. I love the pull down shades and color scheme. The main bedroom has a shelf above the bed that could make it a bad morning if you put you head at the top of bed n rise up to soon, but still lovely.
Swing out door in kitchen has storage and is nice.
Air conditioning unit is up front and when on and blowing hard makes it hard to hear television. Have to divert vents to back.
The electrical issues are driving us nuts. Power outlets on one side of trailer works but not other side, just started happening. Air would not come on nor lights but one side of outlets worked. Last month it was the battery draining for no apparent reason. Bought a second and portable battery tender. I don't like that the bathroom door is right at the u dinette where we sit to eat, converse, or watch tv. Easy towing. I do love this unit and the small issues I hope are "Small". I would recommend this unit.
- Andrea Northern, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

May 13, 2016 2015 Forest River Salem 30QBSS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Many upgrades that makes the interior livable. Ample storage space for everything needed. Spacious and comfortable for our family of 7. Would have loved to have a back window in the bunk room and an outdoor faucet for kids to clean off their feet.
- Michelle Craddock, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

Oct 12, 2016 2015 Forest River Salem 27DBUD

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Purchased new. We have not had any problems with the RV, it's our first and we really love it.
We chose this model because of the layout, our room at one end and bunk-beds with a privacy curtain for our girls at the other end. Separate sink from the restroom and has a roomy horseshoe dining table. Toilet is a little cramped but how much time do you really spend sitting there?
Lots of storage and most of it is accessible from inside.
Craftsmanship is as good as you can get for the price. Keep in mind not real high quality material but it is working out fine just treat it as you would anything you work hard to buy.
I would buy this same RV again.
I pull with a F150 V8 4.6 with a harbor freight sway stabilizer bar and weight distribution hitch, also using electronic brake controller.
It pulls smooth and straight the hitch is a must with an F150 not sure the sway bar does much but I feel more comfortable when 18 wheeler are passing me doing 75-80.
- Eloy G, Texas

Did you find this useful?

Jun 11, 2016 2014 Forest River Salem 27DBUD

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
We loved this trailer, which was our first. From the minute of hooking it up and towing it home the first time (with a 1/2 SUV), it towed straight and followed through turns as you would expect. The use of a brake controller helps with the braking such that there didn\'t seem to be any extra surging or pushing on the vehicle by the trailer when stopping. The layout is great and we spent several weeks living in ours while having some home remodeling done (3 kids and 2 adults). The sink outside of the bathroom is great so that people can use the bathroom while someone else is either washing up or brushing their teeth. I highly recommend the U-shaped dinette over the \"booth\" style; you have more room with the U-shaped seating arrangement and it does not feel overly crowded. There is plenty of storage in the 27DBUD, so that was never an issue. It is a great trailer that I would strongly recommend.
- Jim, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

Jan 05, 2015 2012 Forest River Salem 26TBUD

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
- Justin Johnson, North Dakota

Did you find this useful?

Dec 18, 2014 2011 Forest River Salem 27RKSS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Great couples unit at a good value price. Plenty of room for my wife and I.
- David Cornelison, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

Sep 30, 2015 2009 Forest River Salem 25RLSS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Very nice trailer, little tough to make bed, could use a little more storage space
- Dan lewis, California

Did you find this useful?