Search
Account
Help

Ashburn, VA Change Location

Forest River R-Pod RV Reviews by Owners

Average Review Rating

Have you owned one of these? Write a review! Search Forest River R-Pod RVs For Sale

Voted Most Helpful Review 2017 Forest River R-Pod RP-180

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This trailer provides great livability with its floor plan and slide out! With its lightweight makes it easy to tow and maneuver and is definitely an eye catcher that gets lots of interest at the campgrounds. Forest River quality can be seen and felt throughout the trailer both in and out! Overall a great trailer with lots of room and amenities that lawmakers camping both easy and enjoyable.
- , South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

Voted Most Helpful Review 2017 Forest River R-Pod RP-179

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Pros: Cute, good design, easily towed.
Cons: Cheapest quality, flimsiest materials, crudest workmanship imaginable!! Silicone caulk looks as if it were applied with a spatula by someone who was interested only in getting the work done as quickly as possible. Smudgy handprints everywhere. Perhaps I just got a lemon, but parts were broken, pieces missing, and poor alignment of everything.
There was evidence of water leakage around the windows which might explain the slathering of silicone all over the exterior in a futile effort to fix the problem. I do not know if it is standard practice for R-Pod dealerships, but when I called to request replacement (warranty) parts, I was required to hand over the defective part before it would be replaced. The most frustrating part was that only the individual who sold it to me at the dealership could order parts or make a correction. It will take two to three weeks to be delivered to the dealership.
- , Washington

Did you find this useful?

May 07, 2017 2017 Forest River R-Pod RP-178

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
After much research, we decided to purchase a 2017 Rpod 179 from a dealer in Mesquite, Texas. Although the dealer is approximately 300 miles from our home in San Antonio, we felt confident that the combined quality of the traler and the assurance that we "could take it to any Forrest River dealer for service"', we would be safe. (There is no Rpod dealer within a 100 miles of where we live). The first time we had a problem with the electric tongue lift not working, we found that "any Forrest River dealer" for repairs was true. In fact, even with with Forrest River's help, we were left with called Ngo numerous dealers only to say no and offer no assistance. Fortunately, I did find an area Forrest River dealer has worked very hard to help us. They were the only dealer of 6 which I called that was willing to help us. Although they are not an RPod dealer, they have done much to help us.
There has been a series of issues with the RPod which have greatly undermined my confidence in my camper. So far, our 6 month old camper has had considerable problems . Beginning with a defective tongue lift, we found ourselves with a heather that was so loud, we stopped using it and plugged in a stand alone. (Reported to be a piece of packing plastic inside the unit). We have experienced a water leak which flooded the rear storage compartment.(Break at the city water inlet). An A/C unit with a part missing that makes too much noise to use until the part comes in. (2 weeks in the shop so far). Blue caulk scattered on numerous portions of the black framing. Decals beginning peel in some places. This unit sold for $22 k before discount. The most a dealer will allow on trade is $9k. We are trapped in a camper that we have no faith in manufactured by a company we have no faith in and sold by a dealer we have no faith in. If I had a do over, I would have purchased something from a local dealer and it would not have been a Forrest River product.
- , Texas

Did you find this useful?

Jul 10, 2017 2017 Forest River R-Pod RP-178

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We bought our rpod new from Bretz in Missoula, MT. The rpods are cute looking travel trailers from the outside, but the inside is very cheaply put together. We have camped in it only twice and have had to fix the bed and the seating area. And we are very small people. The seating area was only put together with 3 staples on the top end so easily came apart once being used. There is goo on the bathroom wall that we are working to try to get off and everytime we pull it there ends up with lots of wood shavings on the floor that obviously whomever tried to put it together didn't clean up. The water under the sink leaked initially but hopefully that is fixed. There is one outside storage area door that is very hard to open and then get closed. I do like the lay out of the rpod and the towability is good. With all the campers to choose from out there I would not buy an rpod again or recommend buying one to any of my friends or family. Look around. There will be campers out there that are built well on the inside and the outside. The rpod is not one of them.
- , Montana

Did you find this useful?

Aug 05, 2017 2017 Forest River R-Pod RP-177

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I was traveling around 55 on interstate 5 in the trucking lane just outside of Roseburg, Or. I had been driving for over 100 miles with no problem when all of a sudden the trailer fishtailed, threw my Subaru backward and against the guard rail. The rPod tipped over totaling my car. I don't think they are safe.
- , Oregon

Did you find this useful?

Mar 06, 2017 2016 Forest River R-Pod RP-179

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I love this trailer. Just going to stop rving Has everything my 32 ft 5th wheel had.
Comfortable and easy to tow. Well made and has microwave convection oven never used. Tires are excellent.
- , Kansas

Did you find this useful?

Sep 02, 2015 2016 Forest River R-Pod 179

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
The R-pod 179 has a lot of storage for the size of RV that it is. The floor plan, in my opinion, is the best of all the R-pods. It feels more open and not as confining. It is a basic trailer, but this one has a pantry and wardrobe area the others don't have. Its very easy to pull. Our towing vehicle is a Toyota Tundra. Looking forward to getting up in the mountains with our little camper.
- , Colorado

Did you find this useful?

Oct 18, 2015 2016 Forest River R-Pod 171

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Easy to tow,very easy to maintain Trailer.Aluminum framed,bonded fiberglass skin.
- , North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

Oct 16, 2016 2015 Forest River R-Pod RP-180

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
2015 RPOD 180
This was is our first travel trailer and what a great decision. We looked for campers for years but, were discouraged by the local dealer that since went out of business. We saw this RPOD at a local recreational outing and were so impressed we bought one. This is truly a great camper and have had nothing but great fun camping since we bought it. It is a well built camper with an excellent layout. Having an 18 footer with a bathroom that had a separate toilet from the shower was great and the pop out/roll out was a great feature. Buying this lightweight camper allowed my v-6 Toyota to pull easily with the addition of Air Lift suspension instead of the bulky weight distribution system that the dealer wanted to charge for. The camper had virtually zero problems other than a reversed hot water in the shower which I fixed in 30 minutes. Comparing this to other RV's this unit stands alone and we are very happy. There were a few items we added to the RPOD was thermostatic/ rain sensor fan, electric jack, Kohler kitchen faucet.


Happy Campers
- , Florida

Did you find this useful?

May 24, 2017 2015 Forest River R-Pod RP-179

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We love our RPOD we took it out first time and drove the Blue Ridge Parkway and Skyline Drive, it was so easy to pull in and out of the pull offs along the way. Easy to park at campgrounds. So far everything works good except refrigerator and it beeps all the blessed time when we are out. We just use an ice chest now. Dealer told us we weren't level is why it did that but even level it still beeps. Took it out twice to the lake in October and miraculously it didn't beep. Next trip beeping away camped in exact spot all three times. But all in all I love the RPOD mostly because we can take it all the places we couldn't take the big fifth wheel. And it's fairly comfy, got rid of seating back cushion right away and added my own cushions. Took out table and opted for fold up TV trays. More room that way. Love it!
- , Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

Apr 22, 2017 2015 Forest River R-Pod RP-179

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
The RPod is a dream to pull. You hardly notice it is behind you. The interior is roomy and the storage for a small camper is enormous. The U shaped kitchen and dinette make it very efficient and homey. You can watch TV from the dinette or turn it and watch from the comfort of the bed. A very nice camper.
- , New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

Feb 15, 2017 2014 Forest River R-Pod RP-172

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This is an outstanding RV. The floorplan is excellent and the size of the trailer makes it easy to pull. If you camp in tight places, this is an excellent choice. Pulling this trailer with an medium SUV is a breeze. Quality overall is average or above. The factory could do a better job of cleaning up saw dust, loose screws, etc. I am 6'2" and weigh about 275 lbs. and I have ample room for sleeping on the large bunks. The wet bath is usable but, a little tight. We pull this trailer several hundred miles at a time. Any negative comments on this trailer is more than likely a one off.
- , Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

Jul 26, 2016 2014 Forest River R-Pod 178

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Great trailer with good quality craftsmanship. Easy to tow and lightweight with all the amenities of a big motor home! Just an awesome all around camper that will fit anywhere with its small footprint
- , Virginia

Did you find this useful?

Aug 06, 2016 2014 Forest River R-Pod RP-178

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
The r-pod 179 is an outstanding travel trailer. Best floor plan, all you need is included, construction is great. Needed a small window latch part, factory provided it immediately and free. A great company!
- , Florida

Did you find this useful?

Feb 21, 2017 2013 Forest River R-Pod RP-177T

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Works perfectly for my weekend needs mountain biking a half dozen times a year. I simply need a toy hauler now for more stuff, so I need to upsize.

One warranty problem when new was rectified through he selling dealership and Forest River.
- , Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

May 03, 2017 2011 Forest River R-Pod RP-171

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
The 2011 Forest River RPod is a great RV, as it is with all RPods. Easy to tow, compact, well built, simple to use and set up. Has everything you need in a compact trailer. Great for short or long trips. Can tow with a 6-cylinder vehicle too, which makes your trips economical.
- , Maryland

Did you find this useful?