Search
Account

Ashburn, VA Change Location

Forest River FR3 RV Reviews by Owners

Average Review Rating

Have you owned one of these? Write a review! Search Forest River FR3 RVs

Aug 20, 2016 Voted Most Helpful Review 2017 Forest River FR3 32DS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Horrible,in the first 10 weeks of a brand new coach...
AC leaks in coach, fresh water tank leaks, rubber roof is coming off and is torn. Oven does not work, gen does not work, AC does not work right, numerous electrical issues, don't buy this Rv, company is horrible to work with as is the dealer, I am hiring a lawyer. This is our 4th Rv, should have bought another Winnebago.
- Marq prince, California

Did you find this useful?

Jan 01, 2017 Voted Most Helpful Review 2017 Forest River FR3 30DS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We are first time buyers and have had a great experience so far. Everything has worked as advertised.
Purchase - Received amazing support from Bankston Motorhomes who bent over backwards for us and answered all of our questions prior to the purchase. Believe we received a fair price. They are all heavily discounted which I guess is supposed to make you feel like you got a great deal. We understand it is an entry level model and have read all of the horror stories but we have been pleasantly surprised.
Drivability - Installed a steering stabilizer before taking delivery after reading all of the reviews. I probably could have installed it myself after watching Safe T Plus's You Tube video. There are adjustments to be made after it is installed so keep that in mind otherwise you will have tracking issues. Without ever driving an RV before we loaded up our RAV4 on the car dolly and drove it home. We had no issues and I was surprised at how easy it was to maneuver. The engine was relatively quiet and only got loud when going up the mountain to get to the house. You will not be autocrossing this beast, but overall it handles well.
Livability - We like the floor plan although we wanted the bunks, but decided against it because the RV that had them only had one air conditioner and we live in the deep south. We sacrificed that for the fact that we wanted 2 air conditioners, a 5500 Onan Generator and 2 refrigerators. Our only complaint for the living space is storage and cup holders which in the big scheme of things is not a big deal. I can fix the cup holders with after market stuff. As far as storage....can you really ever have enough? The storage underneath the RV seems to be more than adequate.
Maiden Voyage - We took the FR3 to an RV park a few miles down the road and just decided to figure it out as best we could knowing if we forgot anything we were only 10 minutes from the house. I will have to say the park manager gave me a funny look when I told him I will need to fill up my grey and black water tanks......realizing 10 minutes later that when you hook up city water that those tanks fill up themselves through use... newby probs :). The pull out sofa bed was deemed not comfortable by our 13 year old so more than likely we will purchase a memory foam mattress which should work. The king bed slept great and the overhead bed was deemed satisfactory by the 10 year old. The furnace worked as advertised but it did smoke for about 30 minutes due to the oil on the components. After the smoke cleared the RV stayed comfortable that night with outside temperatures dropping to around 30 degrees. Upon a quick search of Google I discovered that the smoke was common with new furnances.
So far we really love our FR3 and wanted to post a positive review so folks will know that things can go right as well. Stay safe!!
- Jody Hicks, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

Jul 02, 2016 2015 Forest River FR3 30DS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
You just can\'t beat this RV for the price. I bought this new as a leftover for 82,000. I have about 15,000 miles on without a problem. (Except for the magnets on the bunkbed that everyone complains about and the manufacturer denies)
I am really surprised on how well it handles. It stays flat in the corners and accelerates far better than other motorhomes I owned. You have to remember that this is sold as a crossover. The class a body with a class C interior. While the layout and overall look is sharp the materials are definitely on the lower end of quality.

It about has the lowest engine cover that you\'ll find. Swiveling the seats around is probably the closest you get to a diesel pusher.

Overall for the price it has a lot to offer.
- Chuck Zander, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

Jul 13, 2016 2015 Forest River FR3 30DS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
We purchased our FR3 new and have put 6,500 miles on it, so far we are happy with the unit and have not had any major issues, I had the rear camera fail, but it was a minor electronic repair, the two only complaints I have are 1) it wasn\'t wired for satellite and they should have installed a queen bed instead of a king, very little room to move around
- Carl Thomas, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

Dec 17, 2014 2015 Forest River FR3 30DS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
We only 8000 Kilometers on it and so far so good. Hydraulic jack problem at time of delivery (jacks would not go down) and they found the problem (some kind of electric heat sensor in the wiring) and fixed it, since then all is well and no mechanical problems. I am disappointed to see that the wheels are not well equipped to check air pressure. There is a flexible valve extension on the inside rear wheels and it just hangs loosely in the outer rim, not a good idea.There is a kit at "Always Shiny Wheels and RV" that can be purchased to solve this problem.
The finishing is not of great quality, some moldings came off but all was fixed by our dealer (who did a great job and gave us good service so far,VR Prestige).

Keep in mind that is a low end Class A RV and with that in mind, I must say that as far as quality and price are concerned, I believe we got a fair deal.
The machine does have good qualities, back and side cameras,electric shade in front and electric awning, self leveling system and a floor plan that we really appreciate.

All in all we like this machine and would recommend it to others. However, beware for you must make your own shelving because the cupboards are bare.
- Johnny Sirois, Quebec

Did you find this useful?

Jun 20, 2016 2015 Forest River FR3 30DS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Horrible Service by Forest River, Ford and dealership. Bought it 2015 June, right out of the shop..Leaking Lippert stabilizers, cracked water line, glue marks in the ceiling, fwd bed misaligned, Water tank drains on the road. 3 weeks in line for reair, vacation aborted. 2016 vacation, loose bolts in right wheel assembly, needed new hub, Ford sends snail mail, stuck in Holbrook, Arizona. Also have, bed falling off the magnets, window plast coming off, outlet by stove melted, stove fan motor broke,oven door don\'t shut,aircondition very weak,cargo door warped. Bad service from Ford and Forest River. Don\'t buy this one, theydont care about their customers, period.
- Erik Nordahl, Washington

Did you find this useful?

Jun 13, 2016 2015 Forest River FR3 25DS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Terribly disappointed. in the first year the roof leaked, metal screw type plug rusted through making it impossible to use water, the molding around the dinette seat fell off....I\'ve owned 5 RVs, 4 were Winnebago. This thing doesn\'t even come close to Winnebago standards. I will be taking a $ hit but I\'m going back to a Winnie.
- susan, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

Jun 15, 2016 2015 Forest River FR3 25DS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Horrible. We\'re in Florida and the Ac feels like a fan. not good. Muliple other problems. I wouldn\'t recommend this rv to my worse enemy. Unhappy in Fla. This will cause me to go to a Hilton on my next trip.
- John,

Did you find this useful?

Dec 15, 2014 2014 Forest River FR3 30DS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
For an entry level Class A not bad. There would appear to be little or no quality control at the point of manufacture. Like the layout very much however.

Traded up fron a Forest River Sunseeker 31ss and had hoped for the same quality but te Sunseeker was much better made.
- Clark Louer, New York

Did you find this useful?