Search
Account
Help

Ashburn, VA Change Location

Forest River FR3 RV Reviews by Owners

Average Review Rating

Have you owned one of these? Write a review! Search Forest River FR3 RVs

Voted Most Helpful Review 2017 Forest River FR3 32DS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Horrible,in the first 10 weeks of a brand new coach...
AC leaks in coach, fresh water tank leaks, rubber roof is coming off and is torn. Oven does not work, gen does not work, AC does not work right, numerous electrical issues, don't buy this Rv, company is horrible to work with as is the dealer, I am hiring a lawyer. This is our 4th Rv, should have bought another Winnebago.
- , California

Did you find this useful?

Voted Most Helpful Review 2017 Forest River FR3 30DS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We are first time buyers and have had a great experience so far. Everything has worked as advertised.
Purchase - Received amazing support from Bankston Motorhomes who bent over backwards for us and answered all of our questions prior to the purchase. Believe we received a fair price. They are all heavily discounted which I guess is supposed to make you feel like you got a great deal. We understand it is an entry level model and have read all of the horror stories but we have been pleasantly surprised.
Drivability - Installed a steering stabilizer before taking delivery after reading all of the reviews. I probably could have installed it myself after watching Safe T Plus's You Tube video. There are adjustments to be made after it is installed so keep that in mind otherwise you will have tracking issues. Without ever driving an RV before we loaded up our RAV4 on the car dolly and drove it home. We had no issues and I was surprised at how easy it was to maneuver. The engine was relatively quiet and only got loud when going up the mountain to get to the house. You will not be autocrossing this beast, but overall it handles well.
Livability - We like the floor plan although we wanted the bunks, but decided against it because the RV that had them only had one air conditioner and we live in the deep south. We sacrificed that for the fact that we wanted 2 air conditioners, a 5500 Onan Generator and 2 refrigerators. Our only complaint for the living space is storage and cup holders which in the big scheme of things is not a big deal. I can fix the cup holders with after market stuff. As far as storage....can you really ever have enough? The storage underneath the RV seems to be more than adequate.
Maiden Voyage - We took the FR3 to an RV park a few miles down the road and just decided to figure it out as best we could knowing if we forgot anything we were only 10 minutes from the house. I will have to say the park manager gave me a funny look when I told him I will need to fill up my grey and black water tanks......realizing 10 minutes later that when you hook up city water that those tanks fill up themselves through use... newby probs :). The pull out sofa bed was deemed not comfortable by our 13 year old so more than likely we will purchase a memory foam mattress which should work. The king bed slept great and the overhead bed was deemed satisfactory by the 10 year old. The furnace worked as advertised but it did smoke for about 30 minutes due to the oil on the components. After the smoke cleared the RV stayed comfortable that night with outside temperatures dropping to around 30 degrees. Upon a quick search of Google I discovered that the smoke was common with new furnances.
So far we really love our FR3 and wanted to post a positive review so folks will know that things can go right as well. Stay safe!!
- , Alabama

Did you find this useful?

Jun 20, 2017 2017 Forest River FR3 32DS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Brand new. 1140 miles. Before leaving the show room , had to use the battery boost to start. Thought it was because someone left the lights on. 10 miles down the road and experience a loss of power. This went on for most of my trip home from the dealer, climbing the mountains of Colorado.Ended up on the side of the road calling roadside assistance. I did make it home. Had to replace the battery and reprogram the engine control module. seems better now.
- , Colorado

Did you find this useful?

Jun 23, 2017 2017 Forest River FR3 30DS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Numerous electrical issues. Microwave,cab lights,privacy shade, radio speakers. One plumbing issue where I could not get the gray water tank to drain no matter how many times I opened up and closed the valve ended up using a leaf blower to blow into the drain pipe
We have nicknamed it the wallowing pig for the way it drives
- , Texas

Did you find this useful?

Jun 23, 2017 2017 Forest River FR3 30DS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Numerous electrical issues. Microwave,cab lights,privacy shade, radio speakers. One plumbing issue where I could not get the gray water tank to drain no matter how many times I opened up and closed the valve ended up using a leaf blower to blow into the drain pipe
We have nicknamed it the wallowing pig for the way it drives
- , Texas

Did you find this useful?

May 01, 2017 2016 Forest River FR3 F3A30DS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Workmanship is very good. Equipped with amenities that make it very comfortable. However, I found the handling when driving on interstate highways to be very harrowing when passed by large semi trucks. The wind force created when being passed caused me to be pushed into the emergency lane on one occasion. The remedy was to install a Blue Ox True Trac which connected the differenial to the frame, thus significantly reducing the sway effect.
- , Florida

Did you find this useful?

May 16, 2017 2016 Forest River FR3 28DS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support

I never thought I could get in a motorhome for $80K walkout price. This does not include the $2-3K Motorized and retractable DTV-capable Satellite nor the 84 month Good Sam Silver Extended warranty (about $4-5K)

Pros:

General: I'm overall happy with just about everything except my list of Cons, which could be better with a little effort by the manufacturer (Forest River) and the seller (Camping World).

- Auto Stablizing Jacks
- Radio
- 3 TVs although the ability to get a DVR behind the TVs located inside the FR3 is a chore.
- Flooring is laminate, but pretty nice.
- Chairs, seating all nice. If they're not leather, they sure feel like it. One of the dining table chair-backs wasn't stapled properly and becomes unattached. One of the Quality Control issues, but not indicative of the overall chair comfort.
- King size bed is very nice. Bedding that comes with it is very nice.
- Appliances are nice. They're not top of the line by any means.
- Outside storage is very good.
- Great generator
- Interior Panel with all your buttons.

Cons:

- Service, service, service. My FR3 28DS was in the shop for over 15 weeks for small stuff imo. Mostly QC stuff. One year later, I still have warranty work to be completed. You better ask around about the service that your seller has.

- Quality is of lower grade. You can see this in the trim, appliances, fixtures, ect. That said, for $80K I still believe I got a good deal despite a few warts. A motorhome is kinda like a cheap trailer that many people live in. The higher-end quality yoy desire, the more you will pay. My countertops are solid, none of my appliances are stainless, and my kitchen, bathroom, and shower fixtures are really low-end. So if you want granite, stainless, etc., then shop a higher-end motorhome. In hindsight, I would probably shop much higher quality in any future trade-purchase. It's not the end of the world though.

- Interior Craftsmanship. Pretty bad and I blame the managers who supervise the workers and the QC inspectors who check the motorhome before it leaves factory.
- I saw the upper bed magnet problem listed. It was and is a problem, but I'm told the parts are in to fix the issue where the bed falls from the stored position (being held by these magnets), down about 6" or so, before you use the motorized lowering. I can tell you that this is a very poor design and a huge safety issue when the bed drops while you're driving. Very bad engineering.

- My automatic steps failed to retract and got scraped up. Electrical problem and the steps were replaced. I will say this; slam that door shut; otherwise you may find yourself in a similar situation.

- I guess the final con is stability while driving. It is scary to drive this because it sways a lot. Forget smoking and joking while driving. One of the other reviews said he installed something to the rear differential or axel to the frame and it helped manage his sway problem. I'm gonna check that out.


- , Alabama

Did you find this useful?

Jul 02, 2016 2015 Forest River FR3 30DS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
You just can\'t beat this RV for the price. I bought this new as a leftover for 82,000. I have about 15,000 miles on without a problem. (Except for the magnets on the bunkbed that everyone complains about and the manufacturer denies)
I am really surprised on how well it handles. It stays flat in the corners and accelerates far better than other motorhomes I owned. You have to remember that this is sold as a crossover. The class a body with a class C interior. While the layout and overall look is sharp the materials are definitely on the lower end of quality.

It about has the lowest engine cover that you\'ll find. Swiveling the seats around is probably the closest you get to a diesel pusher.

Overall for the price it has a lot to offer.
- , Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

Jul 13, 2016 2015 Forest River FR3 30DS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
We purchased our FR3 new and have put 6,500 miles on it, so far we are happy with the unit and have not had any major issues, I had the rear camera fail, but it was a minor electronic repair, the two only complaints I have are 1) it wasn\'t wired for satellite and they should have installed a queen bed instead of a king, very little room to move around
- , Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

Dec 17, 2014 2015 Forest River FR3 30DS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
We only 8000 Kilometers on it and so far so good. Hydraulic jack problem at time of delivery (jacks would not go down) and they found the problem (some kind of electric heat sensor in the wiring) and fixed it, since then all is well and no mechanical problems. I am disappointed to see that the wheels are not well equipped to check air pressure. There is a flexible valve extension on the inside rear wheels and it just hangs loosely in the outer rim, not a good idea.There is a kit at "Always Shiny Wheels and RV" that can be purchased to solve this problem.
The finishing is not of great quality, some moldings came off but all was fixed by our dealer (who did a great job and gave us good service so far,VR Prestige).

Keep in mind that is a low end Class A RV and with that in mind, I must say that as far as quality and price are concerned, I believe we got a fair deal.
The machine does have good qualities, back and side cameras,electric shade in front and electric awning, self leveling system and a floor plan that we really appreciate.

All in all we like this machine and would recommend it to others. However, beware for you must make your own shelving because the cupboards are bare.
- , Quebec

Did you find this useful?

Jun 20, 2016 2015 Forest River FR3 30DS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Horrible Service by Forest River, Ford and dealership. Bought it 2015 June, right out of the shop..Leaking Lippert stabilizers, cracked water line, glue marks in the ceiling, fwd bed misaligned, Water tank drains on the road. 3 weeks in line for reair, vacation aborted. 2016 vacation, loose bolts in right wheel assembly, needed new hub, Ford sends snail mail, stuck in Holbrook, Arizona. Also have, bed falling off the magnets, window plast coming off, outlet by stove melted, stove fan motor broke,oven door don\'t shut,aircondition very weak,cargo door warped. Bad service from Ford and Forest River. Don\'t buy this one, theydont care about their customers, period.
- , Washington

Did you find this useful?

Jun 13, 2016 2015 Forest River FR3 25DS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Terribly disappointed. in the first year the roof leaked, metal screw type plug rusted through making it impossible to use water, the molding around the dinette seat fell off....I\'ve owned 5 RVs, 4 were Winnebago. This thing doesn\'t even come close to Winnebago standards. I will be taking a $ hit but I\'m going back to a Winnie.
- , Georgia

Did you find this useful?

Jun 15, 2016 2015 Forest River FR3 25DS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Horrible. We\'re in Florida and the Ac feels like a fan. not good. Muliple other problems. I wouldn\'t recommend this rv to my worse enemy. Unhappy in Fla. This will cause me to go to a Hilton on my next trip.
- ,

Did you find this useful?

Dec 15, 2014 2014 Forest River FR3 30DS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
For an entry level Class A not bad. There would appear to be little or no quality control at the point of manufacture. Like the layout very much however.

Traded up fron a Forest River Sunseeker 31ss and had hoped for the same quality but te Sunseeker was much better made.
- , New York

Did you find this useful?