Search
Account

Ashburn, VA Change Location

Fleetwood Southwind RV Reviews by Owners

Average Review Rating

Have you owned one of these? Write a review! Search Fleetwood Southwind RVs

Oct 29, 2014 Voted Most Helpful Review 2013 Fleetwood Southwind 36D

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Roof leaked causing curtains to stain, wet carpeting and wet dashboard. Kitchen plumbing leaked in cabinets and drawers. Heater vent panels on bottom of cabinets coming off because of stripped screws. Air conditioning vents in ceiling coming away from ceiling due to stripped screws. Sliding privacy doors between kitchen and bedroom were jammed and unable to use. Fiberglass shower walls and flooring were all coming apart and causing water to flood flooring. Gas tank filler neck was not supported properly and was unable to get fuel pump nozzle in to gas tank opening. Outside bay doors not properly latching. Etc, Etc, Etc. Most all items have been repaired under warranty but dealership had our RV for 8 months out of the first 12 months that we had it. Tried to hire a lawyer to get Fleetwood/Camping World to repurchase the RV but the big corporations out did us. I still have it today but haven't used it due to health reasons. Kind of afraid to take it out because each time something else goes wrong. Won't be getting anymore Fleetwood products. What an expensive lesson.
- Robert J. Whaley, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

Dec 29, 2014 Voted Most Helpful Review 2005 Fleetwood Southwind 37C

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
We bought this motorhome used as a trade in at an RV Show, and it was thoroughly gone over before delivery by La Mesa RV so that was in great shape when we picked it up. We lived aboard for 4 months as we travelled across the country to Florida, having sold our house in California.We do pull a CRV toad and it pulled that over the Sierras with no problem. We now have a home in North Carolina and use it for long trips, e.g. to Canada in September, Florida in February etc.

We love the livability of the floorplan with the separate bathroom and washer drier.
Positives: The space of the double slide out at the front is remarkable and it does make an excellent home for long term use. The storage below the floor and in the wardrobes is also really generous. The strong 8.1L V8 just romps up hills, not as well as a big diesel, but the best gas engine there is. The drivability is also excellent as you can pull a toad through a suburban mall parking lot without a worry.
Negatives, the dual paned windows are misting up and we are about to replace them.
- Peter Wilding, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

Jan 16, 2015 2014 Fleetwood Southwind 36L

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
I had a walk through this RV in Tennessee it had everything, it was a luxury motor home I loved it. I am looking for another one. 5 stars or higher!!
- Betty Kelly, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

Dec 30, 2014 2012 Fleetwood Southwind 36D

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
- John, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

Nov 16, 2015 2012 Fleetwood Southwind 32VS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Lemon, Lemon can you say LEMON. Troubles to neumorous to list. Motor home has been back to the factory 3 times, every time electrical was one of the issues, last time back had to boost the flat batteries and had a fire in the control box. Have had a lawyer trying to get Fleetwood to buy back but they say to bad use the insurance money and get it fixed.
- Mr. French, Maine

Did you find this useful?

Jan 05, 2015 2011 Fleetwood Southwind 36D

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
We got a lemon!! We have had to many problems to list. We had to take it back to the factor in ID. Very disappointed in this motorhome.
- Sandra, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

Jan 11, 2016 2011 Fleetwood Southwind 32VS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Awesome RV with so many extras! Great gas burner and the size is good for tight places.
- Joe Sibley, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

Jan 04, 2015 2011 Fleetwood Southwind 32VS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Of the 7 RV's I have owned with over 500,000 miles of RV travel, the Fleetwood Southwind 32VS is the best. Easy to dry camp for days with oversized water and waste tanks, thermo double pane windows, inverter, solar panel, generator, strong chassis, 22.5 inch wheels. Looks like the $400,000 RV's we park next to at the race tracks. The 32VS we have is fully loaded with every conceivable option. Quality and layout good enough to go full time.
- Frank DelVecchio, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

Nov 19, 2014 2011 Fleetwood Southwind 32VS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
I've owned seven RV's and have over half million miles driving and usually towing race cars to tracks across the country. There is no better RV anywhere near the price of the Southwind 32VS. It looks and feels like the big expensive rigs. I especially like the extra large tank capacities for long weekends without hookups. Ford V-10 is unmatched for a gas motor. Storage is excellent. We have had essentially no problems with this RV. Quality is tops.
- Frank DelVecchio, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

Oct 28, 2016 2008 Fleetwood Southwind 35A

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I drove at least 50 RV's before this one... I have never driven anything as solid, stable, and powerful as this one....it is very, very, comfortable, with a private bedroom with door that shuts, and a private room for going to the bathroom, with shower and sink outside of bathroom area it is ideal for living in...
- Tammy Ziegler, California

Did you find this useful?

Feb 06, 2015 2008 Fleetwood Southwind 34G

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Fleetwood made the best all around in my opinion. the layout works perfectly, the styling is not outdated like most, tows our vehicle or our boat with ease (has the FordV10). I would definately purchase another Fleetwood and recommend them to all my friends!
- Rob Constance, California

Did you find this useful?

Feb 26, 2015 2008 Fleetwood Southwind 34G

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Love this RV
- Melissa, California

Did you find this useful?

Jan 21, 2016 2007 Fleetwood Southwind 32V

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
This Fleetwood Southwind is a well equipped and handling RV. Very comfortable and easy to drive.
- hogan, California

Did you find this useful?

Dec 31, 2014 2006 Fleetwood Southwind 32V

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Excellent had a great time.
- Roger Goodman, California

Did you find this useful?

Jul 28, 2016 2006 Fleetwood Southwind 32V

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Great motorhome staring with the floor plan. In excellent shape and has been well taken car of including covered storage. The only reason I am wanting to sell this motor home is so I can go back to 29\' 5ht wheel.
- Bill Coulter , Arizona

Did you find this useful?

Jan 16, 2016 2005 Fleetwood Southwind 32V

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
We love this rv it has plenty of room. Two TVs, I love the Corian countertops so easy to clean, I also like that we only have to push a button for the awening before we even go out the door. the electric levelers to balance the rv . It's so nice to have a. Camera for backing up . Due to unexpected illness We have to sell the motor home. Just take over payment. Or a new loan,
- Ed burr, California

Did you find this useful?

May 19, 2015 2004 Fleetwood Southwind 37C

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
This has been the best motorhome I've owned. We travel with folks who have diesels. We out perform them all. With the Banks PowerPac it has more than enough power.
- Michael, California

Did you find this useful?

Dec 19, 2014 2004 Fleetwood Southwind 37C

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Terrific
- Mike, California

Did you find this useful?

May 07, 2015 2004 Fleetwood Southwind 36B

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Great floor plan with 3 slides, much cheaper to operate than diesel 8 - 10 mpg @ 65 mph.
2 slides in living area open up wide to give very roomy feeling.
- Austin RV, Texas

Did you find this useful?

Oct 29, 2014 2004 Fleetwood Southwind 32VS

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Very clean with comfortable furniture and soothing colors. Lots of room for storage, inside and out. Drives like a dream, easy to maneuver into the RV space. Easy setup and everything operates perfectly! Like a home-away-from-home on wheels!
- VH, California

Did you find this useful?

Oct 23, 2014 2003 Fleetwood Southwind 32V

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
The longest trip we took with this rig was Oct 2012 when we went to Yellowstone, The Tetons, Jackson Hole, Brice canyon, and Zion. Three weeks and 2700 miles with no problems. We did towed our 2008 Tacoma so that we had wheels to visit areas that we visited. We had a great time, only thing that it went by fast. This is a great first time rig to get into. Its 32ft 11 inches long and very comfortable to drive. Well maintenance and all warranties completed. The reason we are selling is that we are in the process to upgrade to a newer and larger rig.
Call me to view our rig and see for yourself how well maintain we keep it.
- Ed , California

Did you find this useful?

Dec 30, 2014 2003 Fleetwood Southwind 32V

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
I experienced problems because the dealer, McMahons RV in Colton, CA did not properly prepare the motorhome for the road. The front end was almost 1 inch out of alignment, wore out two new tires on the trip home to Alabama, the black water had not been emptied, the clear coat pealed with a few months. I called the deler and was assured some would get back with me. But since I live in Alabama, out of sight out of mind. I really like the motorhome.
- Robert Bashor, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

Dec 28, 2015 2002 Fleetwood Southwind 35R

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
We've had a Fleetwood Southwind for many years, and have loved the rig. Little to no problems, other than normal wear and tear. Excellent floorplan -- wish it was still made. We replaced the carpet with vinyl tile in the main area, and that's worked well for us. LOVE how it's easy to drive, although I don't personally drive when we're towing -- my husband does the towing. But I drive it by myself all the time. If we upgraded, would likely try to find an used Southwind again -- newer model.
- Lee, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

Jun 22, 2015 2002 Fleetwood Southwind 32V

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
I am the second owner and purchased the coach with 15,600 miles on the odometer. It is the smallest Southwind made with 19.5' wheels and one 12 ft LR slide. Workhorse W20 chassis with Chevy 8.1 Vortec V8 and Allison 5spd. tranny. Good power for this size rig even with flat towing
a Corolla 4spd.manual toad with a Demco tow bar and Roadmaster easy brake unit. Average 8 mpg on I-5 trips to California. Adequate room for
two adults to live in unit over the winter months. Queen island bed has lots of storage underneath which comes in handy. I am impressed with the quality of build for the Power Platform system. This motorhome gives me the impression of being a solid well engineered unit. Only issue is overhead cabinets across the front where the weight of the analog TV has caused sagging.
- P. A., British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

Nov 07, 2014 2001 Fleetwood Southwind 35R

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
This is a GREAT RV to live in for any length of time. Very very roomy and comfortable. Way more storage than others. Everything in good working order. Both oven and microwave/convection. Double slide with extra room in bedroom area.

Double shades inside.... Awnings Outside sun covering for windshield.

Health is the reason for the sale.

A pleasure to drive....LOTS of extras
- Louie Rogerson, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

Jul 15, 2015 2000 Fleetwood Southwind 36B

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
It's been a good rv with lots of storage and nice fridge!
- Eva Jorgensen, Florida

Did you find this useful?

Dec 15, 2014 1999 Fleetwood Southwind 36Z

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
50,000 miles and well maintained.
- Arthur Moreno, California

Did you find this useful?

May 16, 2015 1994 Fleetwood Southwind 37y

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Perfect for camping or living spacious not gloomy and best in price.
- Sandra, California

Did you find this useful?

Jun 22, 2015 1994 Fleetwood Southwind 37Y

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
great and ready to go easy maintanance
- Sandra, California

Did you find this useful?

Feb 10, 2015 1994 Fleetwood Southwind 34A

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
- Rick Nunes, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

May 13, 2015 1994 Fleetwood Southwind 20th Anniversary Edition

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
The roomiest and most comfortable Motorhome without slides. lots of extras.
- Sandra, California

Did you find this useful?

Dec 15, 2014 1988 Fleetwood Southwind 24

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
I bought it used in 2004. It was in rough shape nothing serious just a host of little things needed attention. I didn't pay much for it. Through the years I have enjoyed playing with it. Because I bought it cheap, I was able to afford to "make it mine". I removed the stove and installed an all in one washer-dryer combo. I love being able to start the wash and have the clothes dry when I get back to camp. I rebuilt all the drawers so they were fully the depth of the hole. I lined the closet in ceder. I changed out the old overhead A/C to a much newer high efficiency A/C. Installed a Banks air intake and exhaust system. Added a constant voltage transformer. And innumerable little system upgrades to the engine fuel and ignition systems. I now have 247,000 miles on it. I still get 12 MPG highway at 55 mph.
- T Lee Horne III, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?