Search
Account

Ashburn, VA Change Location

Fleetwood Discovery RV Reviews by Owners

Average Review Rating

Have you owned one of these? Write a review! Search Fleetwood Discovery RVs

May 01, 2016 Voted Most Helpful Review 2015 Fleetwood Discovery 37R

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
HORRIBLE! DONT BUY ONE. I bought a brand new 37r from my local dealer. From day one I have had nothing but problems with it. Sure it had some little quirks with it like every Motorhome will. I know you are rolling down the road shaking the pieces out of these things, but this went way deeper than that. We had a smell coming inside the coach that smelled like engine burning, or exhaust or something from the engine compartment. When we drove it, it would give us bad headaches and make us a little nauseous. I took it in to the dealer and they could not find anything. I took another trip and same things happened. So back to the dealer. ( mind you it has now been in the shop about 15 times) they found about 30 cracks, holes, areas where the wood was not tight or where things did not align up properly so they foamed it all with expanding spray foam. They went overboard. I removed the wood cover over my water heater. All the water lines were now encased in foam. Half of my water heater was covered in foam. That's what the manufacture told the dealer to do. Guess what, it did not solve the problem. Back and forth to the dealer countless times. Finally fleetwood said we will bring it back to the manufacture and work on it. So they did. Put another 3000 miles on the coach and spent three weeks back there. I now have 11,000 miles on the coach and have only taken 5 trips in it.
They said they tore out the whole master bedroom and replaced the floor. They drove it back out to me and said it was all fixed.... (Wrong). Still did the very same thing. I was pissed. Let me point out at this point, this is just one items I have been dealing with. There are countless other things going wrong with the coach simultaneously. Just to name a few. First trip out it started raining, the wipers would not work. But when it quit raining they would work again. I finally fiqured out that water from the road was coming up over the wheel well and into the electrical panel compartment behind the wheel well and shorting out the wipers. Many hours later and countless tubes of caulking that one was fixed.
I had door frames falling apart from the ceiling so doors would not close, I had no heat out of the front dashboard. I had no heat in the master bedroom or bathroom (found out they smashed the duct work when installed. ) I had outlets pulling out of the walls. I had very low hot water pressure and they could not tell me why. They just said that is normal. (So normal I could not shower because the water would just trickle down the shower faucet, right. ) Again after many trips and many hours they found it had a bad water mixing valve. (Can you say LEMON). Oh no don't say it yet. It gets worse...... On top of about 20 other things going wrong with the inside of the coach. I decide to go to Vegas. I get two hours down the road, the whole time I could smell a very strong smell and it continued getting worse. I finally considered turning around because my wife was now on the couch sick as a dog, massive headache and I myself was nauseous and also had a headache when I had someone signal to me to pull over. When I did I went outside to the engine compartment and I had diesel fuel pouring out on the ground and had been spraying my tow vehicle for the last two hours. Everything was covered. I called the manufacture and they told me to tow it to the nearest dealer and have it fixed. End of vacation again. It spent yet another week in the shop to find out that the fuel injector on cylinder number 1 had broken off. And of coarse it was a recalled part but they don't feel it is important to warn people about it. They will just fix it as they break. Amazing... Anyway. Back to the next and final trip in this Motorhome for me. I went up to see our daughter in Another state, and spent the first night there and on the second night at 1:30 am the carbon monoxide detector goes off. It scares the living crap out of me. I get up and feel sick and a little dizzy. I open up the windows and door to air it out. Finally after about ten minutes the alarm quits chirping. I was so mad at this point I knew I was done. The next day I went in to a dealership where I was at and found a new coach that I really liked. It is a tiffin 40 qbh. Have heard nothing but fabulous things about the quality of tiffin and the support you get. I traded in my old Fleetwood and drove home in the new coach. What a difference to finally be in a unit that is quality built.
I would like you to note that all through this process I was in contact with the manufacture and not once did they say, hey I am real sorry, I think you might of got a lemon, let's replace it with another coach. Not once did they offer to help out with expenses incurred from all the mishaps. I spent 200,000 on the coach and have made payments of 2000.00 a month for a year now. That's 24,000 dollars plus the loss of the trade in because fleetwood would drag their feet and not do anything for me I lost another 40,000 in the trade. So I have lost over 64,000 dollars on a coach I have not been able to take out once without some major problems that ruined each trip. I finally called fleetwood and told them that I traded in the old 37r and bought a different brand and they seemed to care less. I know I am just one person to many millions of buyers for them. And I am sure they are happy to have me gone. But with the use of media like it is today. My one review will hopefully affect thousands as they consider what to buy when it comes to a new rv. Fleetwood should be excluded from your list. There is no customer service!!! I fully expected fleetwood to stand up for what they sell, I had a very bad unit, I expected fleetwood to buy it back from me and let me chose another coach. At the time I would have been happy to just swap it out with another new coach. But they chose not to go that route. Instead they would just keep blowing me off until I would go away. Well they got part of it right. I went away but I am not gone. I will forever more tell people at every rally I go to and every person I see and talk to about rv's the experiences that I had with fleetwood. I am not a vindictive person but if that is the way they are going to treat their customers then I want people to know about it. It's never to late to make this right Fleetwood........just saying


P.s. I keep thinking of things that were wrong with the unit. There were so many things that I start to forget them over time...I wished I could add pictures to this review. Pictures are worth a thousand words and they would speak volumes for this coach. Some of each of these things contributed to a ruined vacation every single time we went out. And mind you at a cost of many thousands of dollars with time off work, time in shops getting things fixed, non refundable helicopter trips to the bottom of the Grand Canyon that you missed because your Motorhome is sitting on the side of the freeway broken down again....it's not worth it.

No hot water could not shower whole trip (several trips. Kept saying it was fixed when it was not)
Water mixing valve inop
Outlets falling out of place
No heat on dashboard
Water into electrical panel compartment
Electric cord reel broken. Would not stop winding up.
Front rock guard peeling off
Fuel injector broken off ( engine about to catch fire)
Wipers not working
Outside compartment doors flying open during travel on freeway (scary)
Kinked power steering hose ( from the manufacture)
Squeaky brakes since ownership
Delaminated windshield
Faulty water heater fuel valve
Leaky pipes at water heater
Smell from engine compartment
Cracks, holes, openings for smell to come through
Sun bleached led lighting on front of coach
Smokey generator
Air leak in man door and one window (air whistling while driving)
Steering wheel cover latch broken
Microwave squeaking so loud. Had fixed at factory. Came back worse
No heat into bedroom and bathroom (smashed duct work )
No heat under dash on drivers side
Bathroom window seal came apart. Would not seal. Forgot to fix at factory
I know there are more things I just can not remember them at this moment.

Do yourself a favor and take it from someone who has learned the hard way. Don't do it. Save yourself the pain and agony and your hard earned dollars and do some research. You will come up with a better solution. My question is why do companies act this way.....it used to be because they can.. But not anymore. I have seen social media close companies down. That's not my intent here but I would like to see something done. And if word continues to spread it will reach the majority of the Masses and things will change for the better or they will have to close down. Had that carbon monoxide detector not gone off. I would not be here writing this letter to you. I would be dead and not one thing would change.
- Shane, Utah

Did you find this useful?

Jan 05, 2015 Voted Most Helpful Review 2014 Fleetwood Discovery 40G

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Very Good unit, big space inside and very good quality appliances . . I am happy with that . . .
- Fernando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

Dec 15, 2014 2013 Fleetwood Discovery 40G

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Plenty of power, handles well, could use independent front suspension. Very comfortable inside, good floor plan for a larger family - this is a bunk model.

- 6Wheels, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

May 12, 2016 2012 Fleetwood Discovery 42M

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
We have owned 4 Discovery coaches over the years and this is the BEST one with regard to: Floorpan, engine, drivability, handling, and overall quality.

The floorpan is convenient and provides ample space for entertaining and collapses conveniently for travel.

The kitchen is nicely laid out and organized for the cook. Food preparation is convenient. The full residential fridge is a luxury.

The residential washer and dryer are very handy and desirable.
- Ivan Manley, Washington

Did you find this useful?

Dec 30, 2014 2012 Fleetwood Discovery 40G

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
This motorhome has one of the best floor plans for BOTH driving time and camping time. Most campers are either great on the road on at the campground. This does both. The main TV is viewable while driving and all the space is accessible.

This machine is easy to drive, simple to park and quick to set up. With the large slide out, you nearly double the living space.

Under storage is immense. In coach is plentiful.
- TYandow, Vermont

Did you find this useful?

Dec 29, 2014 2011 Fleetwood Discovery 40G

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
The 40g with bunks is simply the best floorplan for families with children. You can close off the bunkroom and still access the master through the bathroom and not disturb sleeping children. I've owned several class A motorhomes and the build quality is higher than normal. There are some nice touches like all wires are labeled on both ends and wiring diagrams are available online. This applies to AV wires and cables as well. The residential refer is the best ever, there's no question if its going to decide to work that weekend or not like the propane/electric ammonia refers. We dry camp in the Texas summer 75% of the time and the genny has no problem running the 3 A/C's with the load shedding system. I would recommend this RV to anyone with children. Its more expensive than a lot of bunk models, but you get what you pay for. I've owned other bunk models and there is no comparison.
- Shannon, Texas

Did you find this useful?

Apr 08, 2016 2010 Fleetwood Discovery 40X

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
This has been a good one. I am not mechanically inclined and did not have to be with this RV. If I needed to call for things like extra manuals, charts, tracking a water line to residential refrigerator. they were extremely helpful.
- Lloyd J Guillot, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

Apr 24, 2015 2010 Fleetwood Discovery 40G

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Excellent floor plan. A great amount of storage for two people whether full timing or just staying the winter. Typical issues that have been dealt with evenly by the OEM's.
- Tom C., Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

Nov 14, 2016 2010 Fleetwood Discovery 40G

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This 2010 Fleetwood is in amazing condition! Clean, well cared for! Awesome for tailgate or camping getaway! Great for family or couple on the go!!! A/C, generator, king air bed, washer/dryer, generous shower - all the amenities of home!
- Dean, Texas

Did you find this useful?

Nov 17, 2016 2010 Fleetwood Discovery 40G

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Beautiful RV. Many good times tailgating and enjoying spending time with friends and family! Perfect condition. Nice big bathroom, large residential refrigerator and comfortable seating. Smooth driving ride.
- Jane, Texas

Did you find this useful?

Oct 29, 2014 2010 Fleetwood Discovery 35M

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
We thoroughly enjoyed our RV for the last few years. We bought it from the original owner who kept it immaculate. It has been a very dependable motorhome and we love that can use it in most State Parks (many have size restrictions, but with 35 feet we fit into most spots).
We updated the interior of the motorhome and it looks great! Also, the electronics (TV's and stereo) were updated as well.
The dual fuel tank is very convenient when traveling - it gives you options at the fueling stations.
This is truly a quality motorhome and very well maintained.
- Barbara Boyd, Florida

Did you find this useful?

Oct 29, 2014 2009 Fleetwood Discovery 40G

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Great for fulltiming. Very roomy, comfortable, and easy to drive.
- Ed Ripper, Florida

Did you find this useful?

Nov 21, 2014 2009 Fleetwood Discovery 40G

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
This is a very comfortable, roomy motor home and ideally suited for full time living. It handles well and is a joy to drive.
- Ed, Florida

Did you find this useful?

Oct 06, 2016 2008 Fleetwood Discovery 40X

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Love the floor plan of this unit. We purchased it used and the previous owners did not take good care of it. We have put about $ 30,000 into it and now it is in wonderful condition. We drive to Arizona every fall and live in it for 5 months with no problems.
- Jim Baird, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

Feb 08, 2015 2008 Fleetwood Discovery 40X

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Traded our previous 2003 Discovery 39C in for this 40X and couldn't be happier. Love the floor plan and driving the unit. We live in it for 4 months in the winter in Arizona and feel like we are at home. With two of us and two cats we have plenty of room. Lots of storage and great design. Had some mechanical problems when we bought the unit from La Mesa RV, including having to replace the fridge, but everything seems to be working fine now.
- Jim Baird, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

Sep 05, 2016 2008 Fleetwood Discovery 40X

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
I love my 40X. There is plenty of room to live in for extended periods of time. We live in ours for 4 months each year during the winter months. There is plenty of storage and it is easy to keep clean. We tow our vehicle with no problems.
- Laurie, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

Aug 29, 2015 2008 Fleetwood Discovery 40X

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
The Discovery 40x is nearly a perfect RV. It has a floor plan to that is perfect for entertaining or living in - not to mention for the casual user. I know everyone talks about the floor plan - but seriously, all the other models have people bumping into each other. The interior has elegant colors and upscale finishes (e.g. solid wood everything with crown molding and toe kicks). Lots and lots of counter top spaces, large convection microwave, paneled 4 door fridge, whole coach filtration, low shower threshold (rare these days on the newer vehicles). Everything has been built to last - the only thing I have had to do is to change the soap out, or a burnt out light bulb. And now that I have 2 AC units, I'll never go back to a measly one unit. Speaking of never going back - I'm never going back to a class C either. The big expansive window is perfect for sightseeing while you are still in your vehicle. The things I wish were different are: 3 step entry instead of 2, wood or tile vs laminate and carpet (though I have not had any issues with either), allow the passenger seat to recline fully into something like a bed. Wish there wasn't a step up on one side of the walk around bed. I'm used to it now though. I got lucky with this RV :)
- Janet McConnell, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

Oct 29, 2014 2007 Fleetwood Discovery 40X

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
The floor plan of this coach is like being in your living room back home, 40" flat screen TV in the main living area with our Lazy boy recliners is very relaxing after a long day on the highway. Driving this RV. is a breeze with the air ride suspension the Diesel motor performs for cross country and week end family vacations.
- Denver Brown, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

Jul 14, 2015 2005 Fleetwood Discovery 39S

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Drives and handles very well. Gets lots of looks and thumbs up. No issues and no problems with it.
- Jim Todd, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

Oct 14, 2015 2003 Fleetwood Discovery 35 M

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
My wife and I have owned several RV's -- the last two were Class A motorhomes. This RV was far and away the best RV we have ever owned. The almost 4000 pounds of rated Cargo Carrying Capacity (CCC) provides a large margin for bringing along our personal goods without worrying about overloading the tires or chassis. We have had virtually no problems with this motor home while driving it for 65,000 miles and 12 years.
- John Beroset, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

Jan 16, 2015 2000 Fleetwood Discovery 37V

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
I have had great experiences with this RV. Other than repaired hail damage and regular maintenance, I have had no problems.
- SE Longcor, Texas

Did you find this useful?

Jul 30, 2015 1999 Fleetwood Discovery 36T

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
I owned big rigs and repaired them including in-frame engine jobs. You can't beat the Freighter commercial grade chassis, Cummins engines, Allison transmission. This configuration was is used for 30 passenger buses. If you give any diesel clean oil, air an fuel you will get a million miles. The Allison is the same used in city buses. I put synthetic in I'm good to 500,000 for 1 more synthetic change im good to a million miles. I've been in junk boxes everything Fleetwood did was first class where you can't see. It still, when polished up, looks showroom. Minor carpet wear. Now I did everything myself I know what I'm doing, used top shelf everything. The work I see done by pros makes me puke, truckin big rigs same half a**ed work. You guys who depend on pros, I feel for ya with the big bills. I ran all my rigs million miles pullin 80,000 lbs, not one road breakdown except tires. I feel confident the equipment under me will serve me flawlessly with proper maintenance.
- Ted Rabens, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

May 01, 2015 1997 Fleetwood Discovery 37U

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
My husband & I take turns driving our RV on many trips. We love the layout and we made a few changes this year to it. I have been told that our unit is one of the last really well made motorhomes. Of course because of it's age, we have some repairs as needed, but overall, we have lived comfortably in it for weeks at a time. We belong to Good Sam's and have traveled our whole region two times and attended over 20 RV Rally's. Of course, we have traveled to East Coast, Florida and as far west as Colorado, WY.,& NY across Canada down thru Mich. Let's say it does not sit idle in our yard under the carport!
- Marsha Wells, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

Dec 13, 2015 1997 Fleetwood Discovery 36R

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
We have owned our RV for 11 years. I have driven it as much as my husband. We have traveled as far north as CO, East to MD South to FL & West to WY. It is a very dependable unit & tow's well. Mtn's are mo problem, driving & handling is good. We like the lay-out & have stayed in the unit for almost a month at a time without feeling closed in because we have a super slide. What we did not like was a small couch which we removed and built a window seat with storage. The bench seat with table was too tight, so removed it & put in two chairs. I would recommend it to anyone as a good starter unit or rent it out. It is too old for warranty.
- Marsha Wells, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

Dec 29, 2014 1992 Fleetwood Discovery 37V

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
We purchased this unit used with some anxiety about the age, but it appeared to be in excellent shape and was within our budget. We have been pleased with the sturdy construction, the quality overall, and the use of space. We have taken it on short trips as well as longer trips and it has performed well. We had normal servicing on it when we first purchased and the only repair we have had so far was a broken belt.

It drives well. We tow a Jeep, and had the AirForce one braking system installed. Have taken it over mountains with no problems at all...don't even now the Jeep is behind us!

The interior furnishings are all original and have held up well. We only replaced the mattress for personal reasons.

We have had pull behinds and fifth wheels in the past, manufactured by other brands. We would buy another Fleetwood without hesitation based on our experience with the Discovery.
- B Odom, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?